We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Beautiful Stresa!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Palma Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Palma Hotel
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Stresa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful Stresa!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

This hotel is situated right on the lake and has the most magnificent views. The grounds and gardens are immaculately kept and very beautiful. You can sit on sunlounges on the grass out the front of the hotel drinking in the view or the very best place to be in this hotel is up on the rooftop. Here you have a massive spa, rooftop bar and also an area with tables and chairs where you can order meals. The view up here of Stresa, the lake and mountains is to absolutely die for. MAGNIFICENT! Also at night time they have beautiful great big balls of light on the roof terrace which make it look so cool. We could not get enough of this rooftop skybar in the day or night! IT IS THE HIGHLIGHT OF THIS HOTEL AND WORTH STAYING AT IF ONLY TO MAKE USE OF THAT!
Now on to the rest: The rooms are clean, spacious and a very generous size and the bathroom was huge with double sinks, spa bath, plus shower with jets in it as well. We had a partial view lake room with a balcony to sit on and I definitely recommend this one over just the standard room. Of course if you would like the full frontal lake view then pay the extra again, but we were very happy with our partial view.
Breakfast was included in the price and was a continental with a good variety but one thing I must comment on was that they often ran out of particular foods and it took so long to replenish. Too long most times so we gave up in the end! It is a nice big dining room overlooking the front garden and lake and the staff were pleasant enough.
Reception and lobby staff were helpful and good at their job.
Overall I would recommend staying at this hotel because of the good location, clean and tidy, lovely grounds and of course you would stay alone just because of the beautiful rooftop skybar,and huge spa! We are in our sixties and we enjoyed it immensely so I can just imagine younger people would get even more out of it than we did! It is also just a short walk into the town which is so lovely with all the cobblestone street, great restaurants and shopping.
Last but not least, if you don't do anything else, you must take the ferry ride out to the island, Isola Bella, it takes only about 10-15 minutes and it is truly mindblowing! The gardens there are the most wonderful, stunning, awesome esperience ever. There is also a palace to look through which we passed on and went straight out to the gardens. There are restaurants and all the usual souvenir shops of course. Don't miss this experience and of course Stresa and the wonderful Italian Lake Maggiore. Bellissimo!

Room Tip: Pay the little bit extra and at least choose a partial view lake room with a nice balcony and table...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank vinmaz44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    670
    380
    93
    21
    10
See reviews for
210
652
19
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

This place is great for R&R. Rooftop spa is as big as some hotel swimming pools and you have a great view across this beautiful lake while enjoying the water.
Stroll to town which is very "Old european" in its' layout.
Rooms are very well appointed and modern. Lobby is very welcoming with friendly efficient staff mostly bilingual so no checkin/checkout stress.
Breakfasts are well appointed with a delightfully delicious buffet.

Room Tip: Head for any upper floor with lake views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Fantastic views from the front or North side upper floors.
Great bar up on the roof.
Excellent location, walking distance to all the great restaurants, ferries, and sights.
Great service.
Very good Breakfast spread
What else can I say, other than you can't go wrong here!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LenGadaleta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

fabulous hotel, lovely comfortable room, fantastic & friendly staff, wonderful views - especially from the sky bar, excellent food. From the hotel is an easy stroll to the town, ferry terminal and railway station - couldn't ask for anything more.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Linzee2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

We spent a wonderful night in this lovely hotel which is located right on Lake Maggiore. Our room looked out over the lake with its gorgeous small islands and surrounding beautiful countryside. Our car was safely parked and we were able to enjoy this beautiful part of the world by having a drink on the wonderful roof top area. Breakfast was also excellent. I would love to return there one day.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Fairsyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

I had traveled to ride the local mountains on bicycle (with a previously arranged local bike enthusiast/guide). It was obvious that I needed to store overnight my precious bike in a safe site. Front desk staff was always pleasant & assisted me to the garage to get my cycle.

Food in the morning was plentiful & of good quality.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gfonseca98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzlia, Israel
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Stresa is a very good location and the hotel is perfect in every way - There is a lovely warm and friendly atmosphere in the hotel run by a very nice Italian family.
The manager /owner Stefano went out of his way to make sure our stay was memorable and was very caring and attentive- we had a lovely room high up and with an amazing lake view and lovely balcony - The bed was specially comfortable ,the room stylish ,spotlessly clean and the bathroom with a double basin and Jacuzzi bath and good shower was excellent , nice and spacious.
Luigi the head waiter in the dining room made sure we were well looked after as did Bruno a hardworking waiter who seemed to be there at every meal -
Sara at the reception was so sweet as were all the staff and a friendly and smiling cleaning lady who somehow managed to slip into the room while we were at breakfast and leave it spic and span quickly and efficiently. All the staff were pleasant ,friendly and willing to please.
The roof top bar is smashing and very stylish -
We were there off season and the hotel was particularly quiet and with a very relaxing atmosphere .The autumn colours were outstanding in the whole area of Stresa and its surroundings -the hotel garden beautiful and well kept as were the Municipal promenade and countryside
The hotels position is perfect for local strolls, visiting the islands ( very close to the ferry) and five minutes walk to the station which enabled us to go to Zermatt in Switzerland for a very enjoyable day tour.
Close to the Mattarone Cable Car - a memorable experience and half way up is Alpino which has a beautiful Botanical Garden and at the top Alpyland with a nice chair lift ride and spectacular view and a fun ride for children.
Well Worth a visit to Isola Bella on the ferry ,the gardens there are amazingly beautiful and to Isola Pescatori where there are some good restaurants ..Also close to the hotel are the Zoological gardens (Parco Della Villa Pallavicino )
we walked there and there is a little train there from the ferry area Because of our good experience we will definitely return here in the summer for a family holiday with our children and grandchildren.
We were on half board and the breakfast was good as was the evening meal - lots of very good restaurants in Stresa too..

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Rusty052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stresa hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees
0.1 mi away
Regina Palace
Regina Palace
#7 of 36 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol
Grand Hotel Bristol
#8 of 36 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
0.2 mi away
Milan Speranza Au Lac
Milan Speranza Au Lac
#6 of 36 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
0.0 mi away
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#10 of 36 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Palma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Palma Hotel

Property: La Palma Hotel
Address: Via Umberto Primo 33, 28838, Stresa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Stresa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stresa
#2 Spa Hotel in Stresa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stresa
#3 Family Hotel in Stresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Palma Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your La Palma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Palma Stresa
La Palma Hotel Stresa, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing