We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good with some reservations”
Review of La Palma Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Palma Hotel
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Stresa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good with some reservations”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Let me begin by saying the location is perfect with great views across to the Islands of Isola Bella and Prescadore from the sky bar. We booked a room with a balcony with these views.

I’m a bit confused by the Hotel as the Sky Bar/Spa is a lovely addition to any hotel with views like this but I found the rest of the hotel to be very dated. I guess when I was researching where to stay I was memorized by the photos of the sky bar and the front of the hotel but didn’t pick up on the other photographs of the dated interior.

The hotel caters a lot for tour groups and everybody holidaying seemed very pleasant. I’m not sure all the staff was happy in their work though.

Our holiday in May was, I guess, were still early in the season for the Hotel but trying to get anyone to serve drinks became a bit tedious. Often at the Sky bar we had to phone down to reception to get service up on the roof. Plus it was unacceptable to have the bar open downstairs and after a long wait each time have to enquire at reception if there was anybody serving, they would then have to phone up to the Sky bar to get the barperson to come downstairs.

We didn’t have dinner at the hotel but sat in the same room for the continental breakfast, which had limited choice of anything.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank pompeyminime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    719
    434
    108
    23
    13
See reviews for
228
727
23
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the La Palma hotel in Stresa for three nights while on our tour of Northern Italy. This is beautiful lakeside hotel.
The rooms wewe very nice. The hotel also has a very nice roof top bar and swimming pool.
It is and eady 4 or 5 block walk into downtown Stresa.where you will find stores banks with ATM machines and alot of good restaurants.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank FloridaZowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Quality 4 star hotel with good facilities and excellent waiters and bar staff. Super jacuzzi on the roof with great seating and the best views over the lake and islands you could wish for. Evening meals were excellent.

A couple of criticisms though, it is a noisy hotel. The room doors all bang open and shut and are not designed to open quietly. The noise of water running can be heard every time someone takes a shower or flushes a toilet. also most annoyingly the room maid started work crashing around from 7am every morning and talked loudly outside our door (until I had a word). additionally for the last 2 nights our evening meal table was surrounded by very noisy group tables. Even the head waiter disapproved.

However if you take some earplugs I can recommend as it is a lovely hotelin a great location for boats, buses and trains.

Room Tip: We had a side room that overlooked isola Bella with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melvyno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

The hotel La Palma was great in every way except for the shower. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The location was perfect. The room was HUGE with a king size bed. The wrap around balcony gave us an AMAZING view of the town, the coastline, the islands and the lake with the mountains in the background!!!!! The bathroom was huge with double sink marble vanity, a large jacuzzi tub and the worst shower known to man. It was a cheap, plastic, wrap around enclosure with no room to move in it. If you turned around without paying attention your elbow would hit the shower control valve and the water temp would change on you. Your elbows would hit the curved doors when you washed your hair. My wife gave up on the shower after the second day and used the tub with its hand held shower. They really blew it with the shower. Other than that the Hotel La Palma was amazing. Also worth mentioning are the spa and rooftop pool & bar. There is a marble infinity edge pool with a view of Stresa and the islands that is to die for. Truly first class. How they dropped the ball on the shower is beyond me.

Room Tip: They give you robes and slippers. Shower in the spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LDV2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palos Heights, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Recently stayed at La Palma hotel in Stresa, in the Lake District of Italy. Our room looked out over lake maggiore and we could see the small islands of Isola Bella and Pescadore in the distance. Stresa is a wonderful small town, easy to get around on foot with lots of good, small restaurants. Many of them have al fresco dining and several are at least 4 or 5 * establishments. You can get to the beautiful islands on a quick boat ride and Switzerland is accessible by bus or train. Frankly tho, I would skip Locarno and stay in Italy. Lake Como is also not far away and a boat ride around the lake to Bellagio, seeing all the beautiful villas, is a great excursion.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking Lake Maggiore
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LatteLover1644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Stayed here for a conference its a very good hotel with amenities to satisfy both the business and tourist traveller. The service from the very friendly and helpful staff added to an excellent stay. Located next to the lake and close to the town centre, the ferry and boat staion are loctaed within 400 metres. The rooftop bar provides wonderful views of the lake islands and the mountains.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valentine66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

The pro's: We had a fourth floor "deluxe" room with a sea view. The view from the balcony, when standing, was wonderful. There's a small table for two and my husband and I enjoyed a nice bottle of wine before dinner. The hotel room was quite clean. I requested additional pillows and they appeared in minutes. The staff are all very helpful, and very friendly. The SkyBar was magnificent! Though you either had to stake your claim to a particular chair, or join another group of people. For the most part, we had no trouble finding a spot to sit. The location of the hotel to the town was great. It was a nice and manageable walk. Breakfast in the morning was the usual stuff, but plenty of it and plenty choice. Found a great self-service laundry place in town with instructions in English as well as Italian. It was affordable as well. The room was fairly priced. Front desk personnel were very helpful with every question we had.

The con's: We could not control the temperature in the room. During the day, it was fine, but at night it got warm. We could not get the room below 24 degree's celsius (75 degrees Fahrenheit). That's warm for good night time sleeping. When I inquired, they said there was nothing they could do, that that is how their system was programmed. The housekeeping woman, while very nice, started her set-up and cleaning around 7:45 am making quite a bit of noise. I'm on vacation!! I want to sleep at least until 9:00! The servers at the SkyBar were almost non-existent. It took forever to get noticed and even when you did, it took a good 10-15 minutes to get a drink. The room decor was really dated....circa 1988. Blond woods, pink toned, flowery bedspreads and only two flat pillows (though I requested more and were given them promptly). No clock except a very tiny one on the TV that no one could read. The room was cramped...and we had a "Deluxe" room. We made the mistake of eating in the restaurant the first night because we were tired. Because we didn't have the dinner as part of our room reservation (full board), this seemed to confuse the head Captain for a bit. Nonetheless we got dinner and it was very Eh, however, it was VERY expensive for what we had. I would NEVER get the dinner plan/full board included in my reservation. (There are plenty of good, affordable restaurants in the town!). While we had a lovely view from our balcony, part of it was obscured by the two large flower boxes hanging. While they look lovely from the outside, they really do take up a lot of your view - especially if you're sitting down. I'd recommend removing them altogether, or hanging them lower somehow. Because I have a bad leg, we took a taxi to the train station. No meter on the taxi, and he charged us about 14 Euros. He was nice and chatty, but he ripped-us off.

Room Tip: As everyone has said, a sea view room is lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liz22902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stresa hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees
0.1 mi away
Regina Palace
Regina Palace
#6 of 35 in Stresa
1,320 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol
Grand Hotel Bristol
#9 of 35 in Stresa
994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milan Speranza Au Lac
1.0 mi away
Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta
0.0 mi away
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#10 of 35 in Stresa
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Palma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Palma Hotel

Property: La Palma Hotel
Address: Via Umberto Primo 33, 28838, Stresa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Stresa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stresa
#3 Spa Hotel in Stresa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Stresa
#3 Family Hotel in Stresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Palma Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, HRS, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Palma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Palma Stresa
La Palma Hotel Stresa, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing