We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost Great Hotel La Palma in Stresa”
Review of La Palma Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Palma Hotel
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Stresa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Almost Great Hotel La Palma in Stresa”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

The hotel La Palma was great in every way except for the shower. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The location was perfect. The room was HUGE with a king size bed. The wrap around balcony gave us an AMAZING view of the town, the coastline, the islands and the lake with the mountains in the background!!!!! The bathroom was huge with double sink marble vanity, a large jacuzzi tub and the worst shower known to man. It was a cheap, plastic, wrap around enclosure with no room to move in it. If you turned around without paying attention your elbow would hit the shower control valve and the water temp would change on you. Your elbows would hit the curved doors when you washed your hair. My wife gave up on the shower after the second day and used the tub with its hand held shower. They really blew it with the shower. Other than that the Hotel La Palma was amazing. Also worth mentioning are the spa and rooftop pool & bar. There is a marble infinity edge pool with a view of Stresa and the islands that is to die for. Truly first class. How they dropped the ball on the shower is beyond me.

Room Tip: They give you robes and slippers. Shower in the spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LDV2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    705
    412
    101
    23
    12
See reviews for
219
703
20
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palos Heights, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Recently stayed at La Palma hotel in Stresa, in the Lake District of Italy. Our room looked out over lake maggiore and we could see the small islands of Isola Bella and Pescadore in the distance. Stresa is a wonderful small town, easy to get around on foot with lots of good, small restaurants. Many of them have al fresco dining and several are at least 4 or 5 * establishments. You can get to the beautiful islands on a quick boat ride and Switzerland is accessible by bus or train. Frankly tho, I would skip Locarno and stay in Italy. Lake Como is also not far away and a boat ride around the lake to Bellagio, seeing all the beautiful villas, is a great excursion.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking Lake Maggiore
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LatteLover1644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Stayed here for a conference its a very good hotel with amenities to satisfy both the business and tourist traveller. The service from the very friendly and helpful staff added to an excellent stay. Located next to the lake and close to the town centre, the ferry and boat staion are loctaed within 400 metres. The rooftop bar provides wonderful views of the lake islands and the mountains.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valentine66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

The pro's: We had a fourth floor "deluxe" room with a sea view. The view from the balcony, when standing, was wonderful. There's a small table for two and my husband and I enjoyed a nice bottle of wine before dinner. The hotel room was quite clean. I requested additional pillows and they appeared in minutes. The staff are all very helpful, and very friendly. The SkyBar was magnificent! Though you either had to stake your claim to a particular chair, or join another group of people. For the most part, we had no trouble finding a spot to sit. The location of the hotel to the town was great. It was a nice and manageable walk. Breakfast in the morning was the usual stuff, but plenty of it and plenty choice. Found a great self-service laundry place in town with instructions in English as well as Italian. It was affordable as well. The room was fairly priced. Front desk personnel were very helpful with every question we had.

The con's: We could not control the temperature in the room. During the day, it was fine, but at night it got warm. We could not get the room below 24 degree's celsius (75 degrees Fahrenheit). That's warm for good night time sleeping. When I inquired, they said there was nothing they could do, that that is how their system was programmed. The housekeeping woman, while very nice, started her set-up and cleaning around 7:45 am making quite a bit of noise. I'm on vacation!! I want to sleep at least until 9:00! The servers at the SkyBar were almost non-existent. It took forever to get noticed and even when you did, it took a good 10-15 minutes to get a drink. The room decor was really dated....circa 1988. Blond woods, pink toned, flowery bedspreads and only two flat pillows (though I requested more and were given them promptly). No clock except a very tiny one on the TV that no one could read. The room was cramped...and we had a "Deluxe" room. We made the mistake of eating in the restaurant the first night because we were tired. Because we didn't have the dinner as part of our room reservation (full board), this seemed to confuse the head Captain for a bit. Nonetheless we got dinner and it was very Eh, however, it was VERY expensive for what we had. I would NEVER get the dinner plan/full board included in my reservation. (There are plenty of good, affordable restaurants in the town!). While we had a lovely view from our balcony, part of it was obscured by the two large flower boxes hanging. While they look lovely from the outside, they really do take up a lot of your view - especially if you're sitting down. I'd recommend removing them altogether, or hanging them lower somehow. Because I have a bad leg, we took a taxi to the train station. No meter on the taxi, and he charged us about 14 Euros. He was nice and chatty, but he ripped-us off.

Room Tip: As everyone has said, a sea view room is lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liz22902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
256 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Our Junior Suite Lake View room at La Palma had a lovely view overlooking the Lake and the islands; it was roomy, nicely fitted, and was everything we had expected it to be. The front office staff are courteous and helpful. Our one minor disappointment was the Restaurant for dinner. We booked a table on arrival, but had not counted on tour groups and the bustle and noise that go with them. If you don’t mind tour groups, the restaurant is otherwise excellent, very good service and the best turbot I have had for a very long time. Breakfasts in the restaurant were also good. The bar on the top of the hotel is well worth a visit or two. The swimming pool opposite the hotel on the lakefront is also very good. The hotel is within walking distance of the railway station (about 5 minutes); if a taxi is preferred the cost is about ten euro. We would recommend La Palma, but if you dislike tour groups as much as we do, best to eat in Stresa, a short walk from the hotel, where there are a lot of restaurants. Our favourite by a long stretch was Piemontese.

Room Tip: Junior Suite Lake View
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FunTimes030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Basically a great hotel but for every plus there is a minus
Pro- the rooftop bar is fabulous. Con- it is so popular, with sections screened off in the evenings for private parties, paying guests like ourselves could not get a seat and we ended up in the garden, waited ages for service & got bitten by bugs. The hotel really needs to sort this out. I felt very uncomfortable with all the private groups, none of which seemed to be staying in the hotel. I did however love the San Germains
The food- apart from one evening I could find something to eat, but veal appeared too many times but the quality was as expected so overall I was pleased. Bread service was erratic- sometimes we were offered butter, sometimes we weren't. Breakfast was the usual Italian continental style, no fresh fruit salad so they made some for me on request, which I am very grateful for.
We had a sideview room, bigger than most of the others with a window in the bathroom. The downside was the bed was not very comfortable and although the sheets were changed daily, all but one day they had holes in.
Would I recommend this hotel? Yes but just be aware of the roof top bar situation, as it was very disappointing

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathygh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire,England
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Our room was lovely. The staff were friendly and helpful. The food was good. We dined one evening in the garden by candlelight, which we really enjoyed. The best part was the relaxing atmosphere and wonderful views from the sky bar. I wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Magenta56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stresa hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees
0.1 mi away
Regina Palace
Regina Palace
#5 of 35 in Stresa
1,282 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milan Speranza Au Lac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol
Grand Hotel Bristol
#8 of 35 in Stresa
966 reviews
0.0 mi away
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#9 of 35 in Stresa
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Palma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Palma Hotel

Property: La Palma Hotel
Address: Via Umberto Primo 33, 28838, Stresa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Stresa
#2 Spa Hotel in Stresa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stresa
#3 Family Hotel in Stresa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Palma Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotel.de and getaroom.com so you can book your La Palma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Palma Stresa
La Palma Hotel Stresa, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing