We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dining Experience”
Review of La Palma Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Palma Hotel
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Stresa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Before I booked the holiday in Stresa, I looked at all the reviews on trip advisor and found that the La Palma had excellent ratings. We booked a double room with balcony and sea view. the room was spotlessly clean my only gripe was that. the shower head sprayed everywhere and the hand rail for getting in and out of the Jacuzzi bath was in the wrong place.(room 216). The view from our balcony and the Sky bar was beautiful looking over the Borromeo Islands, well worth a visit boats go back and forth every 20mins. Desk staff not that wecoming. The staff in the dining room catered more to looking after the coach parties and outsiders dining Al la Carte a couple of times we waited nearly an hour for our main course, the waiter came and apologised and stated the delay was because the chef was preparing meals for a loud American party, my husband was not best pleased. Food was okay mostly self service, coffee excellent. A little tip go early for dinner. Lake Maggiore is a lovely relaxing holiday catering to an older generation like ourselves(60 plus). Hotel on a prime site, walking distance to shops, trains and the ferry. We travelled with Inghams and found the reps at the wecome meeting very nice and helpful. Trips well worth a visit, The 3 lakes Como,Locarno and Lugano, Milan, must visit the Cathedral and the Cementary amazing. Zermatt and the Matterhorn all very long days but worth it.

Room Tip: Sea view is amazing but if you go up to the Sky Bar on the 9th floor the view is even more spectacul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank disgruntled_couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,379)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

462 - 468 of 1,379 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Hotel recently for our Silver Wedding Anniversary.

The staff and service throughout were excellent. Our room, along with all the Hotel was very impressive and everything was immaculately clean.

The breakfast was very good and well organised at all times.

The Sky bar on the top of the Hotel was very luxurious and relaxing along with a fabulous view.

We would certainly recommend this Hotel and will return for our Pearl Anniversary.

Room Tip: Lake view is a must for a fabulous view from your balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandgrounder99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

The hotel is right across the street from Lake Maggiore and there are beautiful views from the nice SkyBar as well as rooms with balconies that are on the front side. Views from the side are not quite as nice, overlooking some well worn buildings with broken roofs and the hotel's parking lot. The shower spray is a bit on the weird side, spraying all over the bathroom which is nice and large. There was a constant drip from the pipes inside the wall behind the commode. There was also a burn hole in the window drape. The rooms are nice and large with free in-room WiFi and safe. The desk staff were very helpful and always had a smile for us.

Room Tip: Get one in the front with a view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChefDon10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Once again my wife and I stayed at the hotel for 5 nights and as usual the standard was excellent,staff all very pleasant no matter who you spoke to. Breakfast well presented and plenty of varied choice. Dinner was excellent with again plenty of choice. We had a lake view room and the view from there is great but the best view of the lake is from the Sky Bar on the 7th floor which is absolutely magnificient.
We would not stay anywhere else in Stresa. Cannot wait till our next visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view room superb view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MIWA_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

As others have indicated, this hotel is a little pretentious, but its location makes this easy to overlook. They certainly look after their guests and the rooms are large and comfortable. Breakfast has a huge choice of food, and overall it is good value. The view across the lake to the Boromee islands is stunning.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Pfsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We found this hotel to be a little pretentious. Before exploring that view further, let me acknowledge the positives. The location is perfect, overlooking Lake Maggiore with its impressive mountain range fringing the lake. The rooms have a great view and a balcony with table a chairs, that lets you take in the view in comfort.

The roof bar, with its Jacuzzi is to die for, both for the outstanding view and for the comfortable pool furniture.

Our room was advertised as a double, but that meant two single beds pushed together that were not the most comfortable beds we slept in during our stay in Italy.

The public areas in and around the hotel were really comfortable and very well designed.

So! Why pretentious? The hotel gave off an air of starchy formality, as if believing itself to be an elite hotel. Examples of this formality include dress standards imposed for the restaurant, formally dressed waiters, staff who, to begin with, rarely smiled and responded to enquiries with serious intensity.

And yet! In reality this is an hotel that caters for large tourist groups from Russia, America and other parts of Europe, who come here in their coach loads and descend on the hotel for a single night and like seagulls, consume all they can at the smorgasbord bar and then go off on their tours around Italy never to be seen again!

So my message to this hotel is; "Please relax"...we are all on holiday and we love it if you make us smile"

But if you like this kind of formality then maybe this is the place for you...it just didn't suit my small group.

One more thing. If you enjoy relaxed dining, then go somewhere else. The restaurant is large, caters for big groups as well as couples and families and the atmosphere is frenetic. Waiters who rush between tables and simply don't have time to be pleasant! Another area I would suggest needs to be lightened a little.

One thing though, let us not doubt their efficiency in the restaurant. Food was brought to the table with flair and efficiency.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dudley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This hotel is well located along the coast line of Lake Maggiore and walking distance to the town of Stresa. Rooms along both the front and side have lovely views of the lake and mountains. The hotel front balconies are filled with hanging baskets of flowers giving the hotel great charm. An added feature is the Skybar on top of the hotel with spectacular views of the lake. Make sure you visit it before sunset as we did to enjoy a cocktail sitting on large sofas looking over the lake. We had very nice recommendations for dinner from the concierge. Both restaurants were very good and different within walking distance. The rooms were well appointed and the lobby is nicely decorated. The breakfast buffet is nicely done with a wide selection of both European and American style dishes. There is also a sitting area on the front lawn with casual chairs and sofas that looked quite appealing.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marsha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stresa hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel des Iles Borromees & SPA
0.1 mi away
Regina Palace
Regina Palace
#5 of 35 in Stresa
1,429 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol
Grand Hotel Bristol
#11 of 35 in Stresa
1,080 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#1 of 35 in Stresa
399 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milan Speranza Au Lac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Palma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Palma Hotel

Address: Via Umberto Primo 33, 28838, Stresa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Stresa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Stresa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stresa
#3 Family Hotel in Stresa
#3 Spa Hotel in Stresa
Price Range: $158 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Palma Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cancelon, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Palma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Palma Stresa
La Palma Hotel Stresa, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing