We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,515)
Filter reviews
1,515 results
Traveler rating
852
486
130
27
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
852
486
130
27
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssky barlakeside poollake maggioresalt roomdining roomisola bellafront lawnlovely hotelscrambled eggs and baconhotel guestsroom was spaciousfantastic viewsroof terracelake view roomsun loungershead waiterreception staff
Filter
Updating list...
536 - 541 of 1,515 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Once again my wife and I stayed at the hotel for 5 nights and as usual the standard was excellent,staff all very pleasant no matter who you spoke to. Breakfast well presented and plenty of varied choice. Dinner was excellent with again plenty of choice. We had a lake view room and the view from there is great but the best view of the lake is from the Sky Bar on the 7th floor which is absolutely magnificient.
We would not stay anywhere else in Stresa. Cannot wait till our next visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view room superb view.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MIWA_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

As others have indicated, this hotel is a little pretentious, but its location makes this easy to overlook. They certainly look after their guests and the rooms are large and comfortable. Breakfast has a huge choice of food, and overall it is good value. The view across the lake to the Boromee islands is stunning.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Pfsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We found this hotel to be a little pretentious. Before exploring that view further, let me acknowledge the positives. The location is perfect, overlooking Lake Maggiore with its impressive mountain range fringing the lake. The rooms have a great view and a balcony with table a chairs, that lets you take in the view in comfort.

The roof bar, with its Jacuzzi is to die for, both for the outstanding view and for the comfortable pool furniture.

Our room was advertised as a double, but that meant two single beds pushed together that were not the most comfortable beds we slept in during our stay in Italy.

The public areas in and around the hotel were really comfortable and very well designed.

So! Why pretentious? The hotel gave off an air of starchy formality, as if believing itself to be an elite hotel. Examples of this formality include dress standards imposed for the restaurant, formally dressed waiters, staff who, to begin with, rarely smiled and responded to enquiries with serious intensity.

And yet! In reality this is an hotel that caters for large tourist groups from Russia, America and other parts of Europe, who come here in their coach loads and descend on the hotel for a single night and like seagulls, consume all they can at the smorgasbord bar and then go off on their tours around Italy never to be seen again!

So my message to this hotel is; "Please relax"...we are all on holiday and we love it if you make us smile"

But if you like this kind of formality then maybe this is the place for you...it just didn't suit my small group.

One more thing. If you enjoy relaxed dining, then go somewhere else. The restaurant is large, caters for big groups as well as couples and families and the atmosphere is frenetic. Waiters who rush between tables and simply don't have time to be pleasant! Another area I would suggest needs to be lightened a little.

One thing though, let us not doubt their efficiency in the restaurant. Food was brought to the table with flair and efficiency.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get a lake view
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dudley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This hotel is well located along the coast line of Lake Maggiore and walking distance to the town of Stresa. Rooms along both the front and side have lovely views of the lake and mountains. The hotel front balconies are filled with hanging baskets of flowers giving the hotel great charm. An added feature is the Skybar on top of the hotel with spectacular views of the lake. Make sure you visit it before sunset as we did to enjoy a cocktail sitting on large sofas looking over the lake. We had very nice recommendations for dinner from the concierge. Both restaurants were very good and different within walking distance. The rooms were well appointed and the lobby is nicely decorated. The breakfast buffet is nicely done with a wide selection of both European and American style dishes. There is also a sitting area on the front lawn with casual chairs and sofas that looked quite appealing.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marsha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

My wife and I recently spent a special anniversary at la Palma with my sister and brother in law.
We all had a special time. The whole Hotel had a special ambience.Everthing was especially clean and tidy.The rooms were bigger than previous italian hotels we have stayed in. Staff were all pleasant and helpful. Food was magnificent. Views exceptional from most rooms.Sky bar lives up to all previous good reviews. A very special place.Only fault was the lake side pool was too cold.

Room Tip: Either a side lake view or better still a Lake view on a higher floor
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rfshort135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews