We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The California Tour Group”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Palma Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Palma Hotel
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Stresa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The California Tour Group”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

This was my second time staying at La Palma Hotel and it was even better than the first time. They've added the most amazing roof top lounge, bar and zero edge spa with 360 degree views of the mountains, Lago Maggiore, The Borromeo Islands, the castle with it's beautiful gardens and of course the breath taking sunsets over the Italian Alps. The location is perfect close to town, the boat lauch, the train station and the islands. You can walk pretty much everywhere and for other towns, you can take the water taxi, the trains or the buses.

The hotel has a wonderful dinning room with doors that open up to the patio with lake views. The food is delicious and the breakfast spread has everything you could image. It was one of the best hotels I've ever stayed at. The silk wall paper is dated, but it's still lovely, the bathrooms are great and have all been renovated and very contemporary in design. We stayed on the top floor in a room with a balcony that overlooked the lake and the islands.

Room Tip: Pick one of the rooms on the top floors for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie92008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    685
    398
    97
    22
    10
See reviews for
217
674
20
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

I stayed at La Palma for 2 nights in July. I have stayed there several times before.
I drove there from the Channel Islands in my car. Easy to find, but not a POI on my car GPS.
First, the car park is free and underground, so the car doesn't get like an oven. It was 40 deg when I got there.
The room is good, with air con. BBC1 on the TV which surprisingly the CI regional version. Great !
Room is big and comfortable. I had ordered a mid floor. The reception area hasn't changed one little bit since I started going there. It's fine however, maybe getting a bit dated now though.
There is a new bar up on the roof with infinity pool. Very good.
I was on B&B terms. The kitchen was slow in getting the food out in the morning, even at 730am ( breakfast starts at 7am) they were still bringing food out. I like it how they open the side of the room when it's warm.

Overall a great place, good views of the lake, helpful staff. It is used by package tourists a lot, not that it matters to an independent traveller.

Would definitely stay again next time in Stresa.

Room Tip: Lake facing high room is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank radiosutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

One has to go to the rooftop bar of the hotel to watch the sunset and enjoy the spectacular view while sipping a saint Germain. The place is lovely, the loung chairs vert comfortable and the staff very friendly.
Best rooftop bar experience

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Koshka1606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

I have been to Stresa many times and this is by far the best hotel. The location is fab, the food very good and the lake view rooms well worth the extra money. Staff are very welcoming and attentive too. The addition of the rooftop pool and bar area is amazing sipping a Mimosa with the view of the Borromeo islands was just idyllic.

Room Tip: Choose a lake view room they are just lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niney85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

I booked two rooms for two nights through Opodo. I got a confirmation from Opodo but on arrival at the hotel was told they had my booking but had no rooms. Difficult to know whether the hotel or Opodo are to blame but given they had the reservation, I expect it was the hotel. The hotel looked great - from the brief stay in the lobby and the location on the promenade. The front desk apologised - thanks for that - and said they would cover the cost of a 5 star hotel down the road. They were true their word BUT the rooms did not have lake view, the hotel was out of the way and not walking distance to the promenade or anything else for that matter - which may explain the red Ferrari and several Porsches parked in the lot. So lovely replacement hotel but didn't serve the purpose of why we came to the lake in the first place. Not good enough La Palma and Opodo. I hope whomever had my rooms enjoyed it enough for both of us.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MyBloodRunsGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed at the La Palma in August 2013 and were so impressed with this hotel. We were upgraded to a junior suite at no charge that had a view of the lake and it was absolutely beautiful. You can choose from the roof top pool or go down the one right above Lake Maggiore. The room was absolutely breath taking and huge, with a balcony to sit on and watch the sun set. We went to dinner there one night and were very impressed with the quality and elegance of the meal. EVERYTHING WAS PERFECT! I would give this hotel a 5 star rating not a four and we have stayed in hundreds of hotels on our various vacations.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner view junior suite 502. Amazing!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susannah99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

This is my second time back to the hotel.... and it didn't disappoint. Very friendly staff, amazing breakfast and the BEST roof top pool/bar and views anywhere. Its also right in the heart of Stresa- the perfect location.
Our room was upgraded on arrival to an amazing front lake view room. Towels and bedding changed daily – amazing free appetisers with any drink at the roof top bar. The hotel was spotlessly clean, I will be coming back.
Thank you for another great stay.

Room Tip: The front lake view rooms are amaizng!! However for a cheaper option the side lake view rooms are ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyDiana1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stresa hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees
0.1 mi away
Regina Palace
Regina Palace
#5 of 35 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milan Speranza Au Lac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta
0.0 mi away
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#10 of 35 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol
Grand Hotel Bristol
#8 of 35 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Palma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Palma Hotel

Property: La Palma Hotel
Address: Via Umberto Primo 33, 28838, Stresa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Stresa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stresa
#2 Spa Hotel in Stresa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stresa
#3 Family Hotel in Stresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Palma Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, TravelUp and getaroom.com so you can book your La Palma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Palma Stresa
La Palma Hotel Stresa, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing