We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Views are amazing”
Review of La Palma Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Palma Hotel
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Stresa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Views are amazing”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed in a lakeview room which was easily the biggest room we had in our two week stay in Italy - and it was the cheapest. The bed was delightful, the shower/bathroom was enormous and the roof bar was amazingly good. We ate in the restaurant and although it was busy the service was efficient and the food was good. We also ordered wine on the rooftop and watched the sun go down. Magic.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussiesmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    705
    412
    101
    23
    12
See reviews for
219
703
20
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nyc
Level Contributor
115 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

spent 2 nites here last week- had reserved a lake front king- they upgraded us to a lakeview junior suite- full double terrace on the 6th floor -full frontal view of lake and snow covered alps. WOW.

bed was very comfy, shower presssure was good, room was quite spacious with a sitting area. free parking. terrace was great- 2 chairs, a table and plenty of room.

internet for one device was free- my only complaint was that they charged 8 euro a day for a second device.

bartender at hotel bar was very nice as was the rest of the staff. breakfast was good not great-limited selection. not a big deal .

Stresa is a cute tiny town- a few minute walk from the hotel- we were there out of season- so it was very quiet.

it was hard to want to leave the room with those views.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank z235e49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmshorn, Germany
Level Contributor
219 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

we stayed for 4 days, breakfast was very good, large selection of cereals, marmalade, bread etc.etc., WIFI is free, Parking is opposite the Hotel, Parking could need a bit more light during nighttime, rooms comfortable and fairly large, basically nothing to complain about, nice location to the old town of Stresa, and 5-7 Minutes away from the FS Stresa station

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blane, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We booked a room in May of 2012, we read about the beautiful views of the Lake, great service ect. We arrived in Sept and were told they were OVERBOOKED. You have a reservation 4 months ahead. They had a room for us next door at the Grand Hotel Des Iles, 5 star hotel. We were put in a top floor room that was sooooo small we could hardly move around. I don't care how many stars it had, the room was1 star.
So be advised CALL before you get there.
We have travel around Europe alot and this was truely the biggest letdown.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
12 Thank TheHawkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paonia, Colorado
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We just returned from a two week trip to Italy and stayed at La Palma before flying from Milan. This hotel was our favorite of any hotel we visited during our vacation. The setting right on the lake is heavenly. Our room with a a majestic view of the lake was clean, large, well equipped, quiet, and the bed was heavenly.

We ate dinner once at the restaurant and it was very good, as was the breakfast (though we didn't get the full breakfast due to an early departure to the airport - however the hotel is to be praised for making exceptions and providing for us).

The bar is very nice with a good bartender.

As someone else has said, the internet charge is the only negative.

If ever back in the area I would want to stay here again!

Room Tip: Spring for the balcony rooms....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russell_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Location OK with a nice swimming pool just next to the lake, which our children really enjoyed. Parking place available for free. Size of rooms can be very variable. Ours was very big, the second for our 2 elder children was a bit small.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laumene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Visited with my partner in 2012 for a week's summer holiday. The rooms were comfortable and clean, but we didn't spend much time there. The hotel has manicured lawns with sun loungers and a pleasant swimming pool across the road, although being high summer you could if you wanted just jump in the lake for a swim.

Lake Maggiore is very beautiful, but it is a fairly quiet resort, so we were very glad of the rooftop bar at the hotel. Fantastic loungers, comfortable seating and cocktails with a jacuzzi & stunning views across the lake. Fantastic for a cocktail at night or a lazy late afternoon with a book. It's not cheap by local prices but the setting is absolutely stunning & cocktails excellent.

My only complaints were breakfast was a bit hectic - lots of coach parties, shouting and chasing around for hot drinks. Our room also had a balcony, but it might as well not have because it was barely big enough for two and overlooked what appeared to be the staff drying area! Still used it on occasion (while waiting for partner etc.) but retreating there with a bottle didn't appeal! These were minor points and overall the hotel was a good base for exploring the area.

I feel like I've 'done' Stresa to a certain extent, so if I was going back it'd only be for a few days, but I'd definitely consider this hotel. The location & rooftop are fantastic. If I was spending more time in the hotel, I'd consider splashing out on a lake view balcony.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stresa hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees
0.1 mi away
Regina Palace
Regina Palace
#5 of 35 in Stresa
1,282 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milan Speranza Au Lac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol
Grand Hotel Bristol
#8 of 35 in Stresa
966 reviews
0.0 mi away
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#9 of 35 in Stresa
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Palma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Palma Hotel

Property: La Palma Hotel
Address: Via Umberto Primo 33, 28838, Stresa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Stresa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stresa
#2 Spa Hotel in Stresa
#3 Family Hotel in Stresa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Palma Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your La Palma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Palma Stresa
La Palma Hotel Stresa, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing