We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,518)
Filter reviews
1,518 results
Traveler rating
854
487
130
27
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
854
487
130
27
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssky barlakeside poollake maggioresalt roomdining roomisola bellafront lawnlovely hotelscrambled eggs and baconhotel guestsroom was spaciousfantastic viewsroof terracelake view roomsun loungershead waiterreception staff
Filter
Updating list...
788 - 793 of 1,518 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2011

A very great pleasure and joy to stay here again.
The very high standards are maintained throughout.
The new roof terrace and bar is a wonderful addition to the facitities.
A family run friendly hotel which provides good facilities in a lovely setting.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cangan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

We recently stayed 3 nights at the La Palma hotel in Stresa for a family vacation. The hotel is in a perfect location right on the lake. We had a standard room that they accomodated to sleep 4. We did not have a lakefront room and once we arrived wished we did as the view is amazing. Our room did have a balcony thought and was quite nice.

The breakfast buffet was wonderful! Many of options to choose from and wonderful coffee in a beautiful room.

What we enjoyed most though was the roof top terrace! This is the best place to enjoy the beautiful view of the lake and mountains. Comfortable sofa areas, lounge chairs and roof top pool that my girls loved. The pool by the lake was beautiful but quite cold so we tended to spend more time on the rooftop.

I would definitely recommend the La Palma hotel as well as the town of Stresa! Great place for a relaxing vacation!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank divindaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Good hotel but our stay was spoiled by the hotel's attitude to a problem of their own creating.

We arrived for a three day break on Friday 5 August. We'd booked a superior side lake view room. On arrival we were told that due to the works on the roof terrace there were some 'problems with the pipes' such that the whole side wing had to be closed (although we are not convinced about this explanation are there appeared to be people booked in to the side lake view rooms).

They went to explain that as the hotel was fully booked all they could offer was a room on the 5th floor with a mountain view. My wife couldn't hide her disappointment at not getting a room with a view, and on seeing this the manager then offered us a bottle of wine.

Since we really had not choice we accepted the room and the bottle of wine. That was obviously our mistake because on discovering that the room should have cost us 70 euros or so less we took the matter up with our travel agent Thomas Cook (who by the way were completely ineffectual). The response from the hotel was simply that we had accepted their proposed change to our room, and the 'compensation' in the form of a bottle of wine.

I have to say I would have expected a four star hotel to have offered to refund the difference in price without being asked to do so. They didn't, and when we did raise it they refused to budge.

It's difficult not to let a disappointing experience like that colour our view of the hotel. However others will no doubt have a more pleasant stay. So, trying to be objective about it, and putting aside our own experience here are the good points:-

The location is excellent, right on the lake, with fantastic views of what is quite stunning scenery. You can walk in to the centre of Stresa in about five minutes, where there are plenty of bars, restaurants and shops. Prices in Stresa are very reasonable indeed.

The roof terrace (brand new) is also very good. Plenty of loungers, a seating area and bar, and a pool witth hydromassage. The views are fantastic.

The bar has a certain charm - we did feel like we had stepped back in to the 70's a bit but the service in the bar was good, it was comfortable, and the drinks were not over priced.

The breakfast was reasonable.

Poor points:-

The internet connection is charged at either 10 euros if you connect with your phone or 12 euros if you use your laptop. It cannot be shared between devices so if you plan to connect using your phone and your laptop, you'll have to pay for two passwords. Nice. Also the hotel seems to have a problem with the number of connections it can accept. .When the weather's not good (as it was when we stayed) if too many people try to access you can't get a connection. Again not the quality you'd expect from a four star hotel. And finally, it's extremely slow.

There's a lack of toiletries in the room, and those that were provided were not replaced in the three days we were there.

In summary the hotel has the potential to be better - and it has a great location and fantastic terrace. However on this occasion their service let us down and really took the shine off our stay. We expected a bit more from a four star hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FraserG77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

After last year's lovely holiday we decided to go again. This time we went to the wrong airport, so it took ages to get to Stresa, then we had no view from our room it was facing the back of the other hotels. The gym was shut due to work and we couldn't go on the roof. There was thunder and lightning and hailstones that were like pebbles. No where near as good as last year but we love Lake Maggoire and everything that goes with it. On the last day we managed to get onto the roof and the work that had been done to make a bar overlooking Lake Maggoire - it was fantastic. We just picked the wrong time. The staff were lovely as usual and the food excellent. Hope this helps, we'd certainly go again!!.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

We only stayed one night, but it was really wonderful!

We had two rooms. One with the lake view and one side lake view. Both rooms were lovely.

The room with the lake view was a bit noisy because of the road running past the front, but thanks to good windows & doors, and an automatic shutter it was plenty quiet for a good nights sleep. The room was spacious and the bathroom was too. However, we don't like the practice of only getting half a door for the shower enclosure.

Had dinner in the dining room. Excellent. Choice of "house menu" or a la carte, which was perfect for our family. We also had breakfast in the dining room. Excellent again.

Loved the furniture on the front lawn. Don't miss the roof top bar and jacuzzi. Pleasant and professional front desk staff.

It's an easy walk to the ferry launch to visit the islands and/or other towns around the lake. There's a very nice pedestrian walk along the lake just across the street which was nice both during the day and night. Lot's of families walking around....

Thank you La Palma for a wonderful experience!

Room Tip: Don't hesitate to upgrade to the lakeview. It's worth it!
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HamHamster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews