We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Milan Speranza Au Lac
Nearby Hotels
$149
$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$188
$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel La Palma(Stresa)
$241
$171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Royal(Stresa)
$140
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$383
$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$428
$415
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$222
$214
HotelQuickly
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (737)
Filter reviews
738 results
Traveler rating
266
304
119
28
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
266
304
119
28
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrail discoverieslake maggioreopposite the ferry terminaldining roomsweet trolleyhotel reginatop floordessert trolleyextra pillowssmall balconybalcony facing the lakechanged every daybus stopair conditioningrestaurants and shopsreception staffhalf board
Filter
Updating list...
261 - 266 of 738 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

We had four in one room and it was plenty big enough. Location is perfect as right in the centre so close to all the restaurants and the ferry terminal for boat trips. Breakfast simple and standard Italian hotel breakfast but tasty, fresh and good service. Staff very friendly. Will come back as also good value!

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Bruceritchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlo_Padulazzi, Direttore at Hotel Milan Speranza Au Lac, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Dear Guest, thanks for sharing your experience in our hotel. It is good to know that the room was comfortable and fit your family needs at a good value!
Location is undoubtedly one of the hotel greatest strengths. As you noticed, it is easy to move around Stresa by foot and reach the other lake locations by boat.
We are glad you appreciated our breakfast and the friendliness of our staff.
We hope you will come back to Stresa to enjoy again our services and the charm of Lake Maggiore.
Carlo Alberto Padulazzi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014

The Milan Speranza Au Lac was a nice enough hotel, okay rooms. However, thanks to the close proximity of the Regina Palace and other opulent luxury hotels in the area, we remained permanently jealous that we weren't staying in one of those places (as the price wasn't that much more). The best thing about the Milan was the fantastic breakfast buffets, complete with waiters who serve tea and coffee in silver pots. The lake is literally across the road, and the town 20m away, you couldn't ask for a better location.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlo_Padulazzi, Direttore at Hotel Milan Speranza Au Lac, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2014

Dear Guest, we sympathize with your jealousy! Yes, we are not one of the opulent and luxury Grand Hotels that you can see in Stresa! We are a classic and traditional Italian hotel. As you specified very clearly, there is also a big difference on the price of the rooms, so our hotel is a good value choice to stay in Stresa in a very central location, near to the Grand Hotels that you can visit without problem! Thank you for the compliments for the very rich breakfast buffet and for our friendly staff. We hope to see you back in Stresa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014

We were a family of 4 and were given 2 lake view rooms on the 4th Floor and the view couldn't have been better. Rooms were a good size & bathrooms well equipped with good quality towels, shower gel etc. Comfortable beds.
The hotel had a great feel to it and all the staff we met could not have been more helpful or accommodating. Special mention must be made of the Maitre D' who went out of his way to find us an outside table at breakfast, even when very busy ! Breakfast was good and plentiful with different cakes/flans appearing on the buffet each day. Internet facility on the mezzanine worked well - a lot better than many other hotels we've stayed at.
Location was really fantastic - less than 5 minutes walk to the main jetty and the centre of Stresa.
Finally, the free parking arrangements at the Regina Palace together with use of the swimming pool is a huge bonus.
Should we visit Stresa again (hopefully we will !) we would have no hesitation in staying again.

Room Tip: Lake View rooms are a "must" to benefit from the amazing location.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlo_Padulazzi, Direttore at Hotel Milan Speranza Au Lac, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Dear George, thanks for writing this review! It is gratifying to read that you had a delightful stay in our hotel and that you appreciated all our services and facilities.
We agree with you regarding the fact that a room facing the lake is a good chance to enjoy the landscape of Lake Maggiore.
A big thanks for your lovely words concerning all our staff.
We hope you will come back to Stresa again. We will be more than pleased to welcome you and your family in our hotel again.
Carlo Alberto Padulazzi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

The location is great just across the road from the landing stage for the boats and bus from Malpensa stops outside. A excellent hotel worthy of 4 stars. We had a room on the first floor with balcony and nice views. Nice size room and good size bathroom, towels changed every day. Excellent breakfasts plenty of everything.We would stay again. Staff all exceptional, nothing was too much trouble.Plenty of seats in hotel foyer.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Helpsmember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlo_Padulazzi, Direttore at Hotel Milan Speranza Au Lac, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Dear Guest, many thanks for your review full of compliments. We are truly glad to know that you had a wonderful stay with us!
We read with pleasure that more and more guests appreciate our hotel not only for the central location but also for the commitment of all our staff and for the services we offer, like our Italian-style restaurant for breakfast and dinner, the free garage as well as the swimming pool of the nearby Hotel Regina Palace.
Thanks and we hope to see you again in Stresa.
Carlo Alberto Padulazzi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

- the location of milan speranza and milan au lac is hard to top, just at the very lake front where all boats leave and where the old town with its gorgeous little shops stretches out behind the building.

- the rooms are below expectation, max 3 star standard --> carpets are old and not surely clean
- double building of two hotels under one label: confusing assignment to one or the other, without communication or choice
- web booking could be brought to standards of a good hotel
- food was ok, but nothing to write home about.

- staff are friendly
- there is a carpark just across the street

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaCenterentola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlo_Padulazzi, Direttore at Hotel Milan Speranza Au Lac, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2014

Dear Guest, first of all thank you for your feedback! You’re right, a value of our hotel is its location: at the lake front, with the center of the town and all the nice little shops on the premises. It is true that our hotel is an “old fashioned style”. This is our identity and we are proud to keep it because we think this is our charm. It’s also true that our hotel is composed by two buildings. Our reception staff is professional and well organized, being the two buildings of the same standard we do not make any difference in rooms’ assignment unless expressly requested by our clients. The reception is friendly and warm and our team gives all the information needed to enjoy the stay and concerning the parking facility. Anyhow, we hope that you had a positive experience in Stresa and we are hoping you’ll come back on Lake Maggiore in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews