We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“SCW on tour 2” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Milan Speranza Au Lac

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Milan Speranza Au Lac
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Stresa
Certificate of Excellence
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“SCW on tour 2”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Excellently Located overlooking the Lake Maggiore the rooms varied in size and quality, found the staff to be most helpful, the food even though on a tour, was very good baring in mind that this is a largish hotel with lots of covers to cater for at dinner. My only comment would be that the plumbing in my room was very noisy and intrusive to say the least.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    212
    95
    22
    17
See reviews for
131
240
24
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
89 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

The hotel is right by the lake. I took Alibus from MXP to Stresa ( the ride was about an hour, 12 Euro, good value), the bus dropped me off right acroos the street from the hotel. The location is very convenient for bus riders. From the hotel it's an easy walk to the plazas and restaurants. It's approximately 15 mins walk to Stresa train station.

I had a single room and it's really just designed for one person only. The size of the room, the way it's laid out and the way the bathroom is designed ( just as big as what you would see on a cruise) almost made me feel it was a regular size room cut in half to have two single rooms. Despite the small size, the room is adequate for a night sleep. The room rate was under 100 USD a night at last minute booking included breakfast and internet ( unstable and on the slow side). I consider it's a good bargin.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WEBinHarmony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Canada
Level Contributor
262 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

We stayed as part of a group excursion and found the hotel very accomodating. Service was excellent and the food was very good. Staff were helpful and friendly. The level of English spoken was quite high.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Daleb0422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Very central, next to the lake, excellent service.
We were very impressed by the high organization of breakfast. With the large number of people at the hotel in August, the waiters managed to attend everyone within seconds and it didn't feel crowded.
the reception available for advice on sightseeing and tickets booking.
overall good impression.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rumpleteazer495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

I stayed at Speranza in June 2013 and It was a home away from home. The staff was very welcoming and helpful. THe food was delicious and special mention must be made of the head waiter and one of the waiters, Massimo.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eve O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights at the end of a Cosmos Italian Lakes tour.
The Hotel is old, lovely, with great views of Lake Maggiore. Strangely, we ate in the Hotel next door. However, the Speranza was really nice, clean, good size room and blessed with absolutely lovely staff. Nothing was a trouble to them and they made the stay even better. Plenty of restaurants around the rear of the Hotel, which is a little village. Absolutely lovely.
I would rate this Hotel 7.5 out of 10 and would not hesitate to stay there again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kersan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Probably one of the best possible locations in Stresa, on the border of the lake, close to small squares deeper in town, next to the boat departure point.
Room is large and comfortable, I have to say though that the floor was quite squeaky, I was always thinking of poor neighbors below :-) might be they didn't hear anything.
A positive critique would be the breakfast though, quite limited, no hot option and more importantly, there was no fresh vegetables at all, not even tomatoes. Fruits only dried and the juices were all sugared.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tibor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stresa hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol
Grand Hotel Bristol
#8 of 36 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 stars 858 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Palma Hotel
La Palma Hotel
#2 of 36 in Stresa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Regina Palace
Regina Palace
#6 of 36 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 stars 1,122 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Parc
Hotel du Parc
#12 of 36 in Stresa
4.5 of 5 stars 285 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milan Speranza Au Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milan Speranza Au Lac

Property: Milan Speranza Au Lac
Address: Piazza Guglielmo Marconi 6/9, 28838, Stresa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Stresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Milan Speranza Au Lac 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Milan Speranza Au Lac is composed by two side by side buildings on the lakeside in the centre of Stresa. Both the buildings are equipped by reception, lifts, free WI-FI connection and a free PC corner. There a relax and reading zone, at our customers disposal. The hotel central position is ideal to easily walk to all the places of the most tourist interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Milan Speranza Au Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milan Speranza Au Lac Hotel Stresa
Milan Speranza Au Lac Stresa, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing