We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a room with a view!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Milan Speranza Au Lac
Ranked #6 of 35 Hotels in Stresa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2012

lake side hotel, 500 yards from station downhill arriving uphill leaving. Main raod runs outside hotel but is not as busy as most italian roads and very little traffic at night. Staff helpfull, quick and happy!! Rooms smallish but not a problem, clean, plumbing works. Food to die for. We were threre for 5 nights and never had a dud meal. Bus stop outside hotel ferry and boat trips 50 yards away.

Room Tip: front rooms cost more but are worth it, 3 rd floor and above for best lake views.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paul_Gillingham_Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (705)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Milan Speranza Au Lac
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

320 - 326 of 705 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2012

Regardless of the rather negative on-line reviews of this hotel, we arrived with a combination of trepidation and excitement. Fortunately, we were delighted. Staff were friendly, rooms clean and welcoming, breakfast great, and the best location one could wish for.
I cannot recommend the hotel highly enough and certainly will book again should I return to Stresa. Next time though, I'll ask for a lake view....

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view. You won't be in the room much, but nonetheless, the view is spectacular.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jo-mandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of a Cosmos Tour and stayed an extra night on my own. Small rooms but lots of old-world personality. My room was on the top floor affording me French doors that opened onto a huge deck. The deck was shared by 2 other rooms but the size made it not a problem. Stepping out onto the deck, I had a gorgeous view of Lago Maggiore. Bathroom nice with a window but no mini-bar or fridge. Location is dynamite for anyone wanting to use the public bus from and back to Milan's Malpensa Airport. The bus stop is literally outside the hotel just a little to the left directly in front of the Church. The cost is 12 euros each way. It takes about 1 hour depending on time of day. Breakfast was so so. There was fruit salad but little fresh fruit available. Italian cold cuts, cheese and breads were offered along with yogurt and coffee. One nice touch was the one glass of freshly squeezed blood orange juice greeting you at the table. The hotel is also well-located for taking a boat over to Isola Bella to view the magnificent gardens and palazzo (don't miss the white peacocks!) and to Isola Pescadore to enjoy seaside fish restaurants. The boat launches are across the road. Also, the area directly behind the hotel is a cute little medieval-like maze of small streets and piazzas containing lots of great restaurants and shops. If you're up for a little hike, walk about a mile to the left of the hotel and find the ticket office for the cable car ride up the Mt. Mottarone for a magnificent view of the lake, the islands and the Alps. Cost was about 15 euros. There's a little outside restaurant when you reach the top where you can enjoy a nice glass of wine with the view. One last thing about the hotel...there's a church directly behind it and the bells can be loud, depending on your room location.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank serpentine215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

As part of an Archers Cosmos international tour group Hotels are often a compromise dictated by price. We along with a number of others got a reasonably appointed room, but at the side, overlooking the alley on the side and the adjacent church wall/roof. This was above the kitchen accesss doors so noise level varied, and the route was also used by drunks and some traffic.
We were not allowed into the outer restaurant, for our very basic breakfast, or our our similar no choice dinner. A small cola was 4.50 Euro, almost as much as the similar amount of wine. The room had no visitor information regarding hotel facilities and the distant pool and tennis area? The TV had CNN and BBC world. As always staff varied in quality and some were pleasant and attentive. I have come acroos B and B in the UK that offered better overall experience at a low cost, and cannot see where the four stars came from. If you get the room very cheap, and don't spend much time there, the location is good for the pier and boat/ferry services. This was its only redeeming feature for me, and we rated this the poorest overall of our four hotels.

Room Tip: The rooms on the front can be very cramped, and suffer more traffic noise in exchange for the view.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Located directly on the shore the Hotel was easy to find ( important if driving ). Pull up unload and they provide parking in a garage one block down. Front desk was pleasant and helpful. My room, although no lake view, was spacious, comfortable and looked out the back of the Hotel over the town. Everything was a two too five minute walk. The Ferries depart from across the street right in front of the Hotel. Breakfast was all you could eat. I was able to check out early yet leave my luggage at the reception while I took the ferry over to Isola Bella.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dorkon22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

It was the worst hotel in my recent cosmos tour stayed on 27 and 28 april..reasons are as follows
1. very very tiny room without any view.
2.toilet tinest ever seen in my life you just can move standing ,without any good toiletaries.
3.aweful breakfast only come cold cuts .....never had such in any european hotel
4.internet highly charged....35 cents for minute...9 euro for one hour...incredible rates(here is a tip i am giving go to just near by hotels caffeteris i think name is expreeway and have a coffee and enjoy free wifi)
5. bad part on cosmos tooo......

Room Tip: lake facing room only
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank chirag d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Booked a 2 night stay in this hotel and were not able to stay longer than a couple hours. Checked in and were told nothing about the town, the breakfast, basically just given a key. Room was very very tiny, had no balcony and the one window looked at the side of another building. The carpet was at least 40 years old and disgustingling stained, the plaster on the walls was coming un done, there were ants in the tub, I took a 30 minute nap on the bed and my hip still hurts where the spring of the matress was pressing on it - awful bed (was the kicker for me to talk to the desk). I went to the desk and a witch of a women named Iria scowled at me and said she could do nothing as we booked through an online company. I called the online company, who called the hotel, the intial statement from the hotel was "They booked a standard room..what do they expect." When the online company heard this they understood what we were dealing with and canceled our stay even though Iria all of a sudden wanted to show me another room...too late. Oh yea, did I mention the Internet, you could buy "vouchers" for 20 minutes of internet use for 5 Euro per 20 minutes - that's it no other option with the internet.
We spent our 2 nights at the Hotel Royal down the street and what a difference....

Room Tip: Don't book a standard room
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Greg20DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stresa hotels
0.2 mi away
Regina Palace
Regina Palace
#5 of 35 in Stresa
1,382 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol
Grand Hotel Bristol
#11 of 35 in Stresa
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Palma Hotel
La Palma Hotel
#3 of 35 in Stresa
1,358 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta
0.2 mi away
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#12 of 35 in Stresa
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Milan Speranza Au Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Milan Speranza Au Lac

Address: Piazza G. Marconi 6/9, 28838, Stresa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Stresa
Price Range: $129 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Milan Speranza Au Lac 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Milan Speranza Au Lac is composed of two side by side buildings on the lakeside in the centre of Stresa. Both the buildings are equipped with reception, lifts, free WI-FI connection and a free PC corner. There is a relax and reading zone, at our customers disposal. The hotel's central position is ideal to easily walk to all the places of the most tourist interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Milan Speranza Au Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milan Speranza Au Lac Hotel Stresa
Milan Speranza Au Lac Stresa
Hotel Milan Speranza Au Lac Stresa, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing