We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a very good visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotel Bristol
Ranked #11 of 35 Hotels in Stresa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 27, 2014

A lovely hotel, welcoming us late on a Saturday night. A good breakfast selection but toaster very slow for 5 of the 7 breakfasts! Not a good start to the day! The evening meal selection and quality of food was good, although we weren't expecting a buffet on 2 of the nights ( I dislike having to go to find my food!) but they were ok.
Rooms were supposedly all recently refurbished. Very hard bed. No shower except over the bath which is not acceptable in a 4 star hotel. The metal soap dish fell off and hit my foot, but was not replaced all week. Towels rather thin and frayed, and the face and hand towels were plain cotton not towelling. No hair conditioner or body lotion provided but they did provide shoe shine! Perhaps it is more conference led rather than holiday makers? Having said that I would not find it easy to 'working my room as no desk area or internet socket etc. Quality of TV poor. No place for using an electric plug for recharging unless I took out the lamp plug but then only ONE available. A real nuisance when recharging 2 x phones, cameras, tablets and hair curling tongs! The internet connection was difficult to understand but I suppose at least if careful was free for 120 mins. Lovely grounds which were well maintained. The balcony flowers which were so noticeably missing were finally positioned on 19th June!
A large TV screen was arranged for guests to watch world cup football, although the quality of picture was poor. Easy to walk less than 10 mins into town centre, ferry pier or chair lift. Good views of islands.
Don't forget a 'small' tax when leaving. Apparently all hotels in Italy but was unexpected for us, 21 euros for 2 people for 7 days

Room Tip: we had a room with a view of islands, but any would probably do
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizzy9960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,069)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

285 - 291 of 1,070 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2014

We stayed at this hotel last week for seven nights having booked via Riviera Travel. We were undecided which of the three hotels on offer to choose (Bristol, Regina Palace or Astoria) but, given the negative comments from some members of our group about their hotels we definitely made the right choice.
Our room in the Bristol was fine, at the back but quiet, well equipped and more than adequate, given that we were out every day, all day. The staff were superb; every one of them from reception to cleaning to restaurant were friendly and helpful. I certainly didn't recognise the issues that some of the reviews here mentioned.
The restaurant was outstanding. Given that the hotel was completely full the whole time we were there with conferences, holiday groups and individuals, the variety of choice and quality of the food served was exceptional. Plenty of choice and variety - we couldn't fault it.
I would certainly stay there again without any misgivings whatsoever.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank D T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Wonderful view of the lake , excellent location. The staff are first class and at tentative . The food and service in the dining room is very good. The room we stayed in was clean and well appointed . Well worth a visit

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a lake view it's well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

I stayed here May 15-17 2014 and it was most enjoyable. The hotel is in a great location across the street from the water. Lovely area to take walks and not far from shopping and good places to eat. The breakfasts at the hotel were well stocked and supplies replenished frequently. The staff were pleasant and helpful. The hotel and the room were kept very clean. Enjoyed the bar very much. Lovely sitting areas off the reception.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

We stayed 7 nights as part of a tour group. Everyone was allocated a room at the back and ours was small and cramped, but clean. It was quiet for sleeping. Beds were comfy and the room service good, but the towels had seen better days and the shower hose kept falling off the taps. The air-con was not very effective. The food was "so-so" and we got the impression that non tour groups had better fare. That may be down to the tour provider - you get what you pay for! Starters were always a choice of 2 pasta dishes or hot soup, despite temperatures of 30*+. Melon anyone? The main courses (choice of 3) had little veg. (but that's the Italian style) and they seemed to have trouble catering for vegetarians. Wine was expensive. Breakfast was a very good spread, however, and the waiters friendly and helpful. No gluten free tho'. The bar was large and drab but with a bright and attractive conservatory area. Drinks were expensive and charging for wi-fi meant that people simply went elsewhere along the promenade after dinner for coffee, drinks and email. Counterproductive? The grounds and pool area were lovely, and location good, being a 10 minute walk to Stresa and the ferries etc.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank franoutoftown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Stayed here july 2013, promised myself i would make the effort to write a review a little late, but feel i must? The hotel is very clean, the rooms are clean, the shower in the room left a lot to be desired and only a matter of time before a major injury, instead of directing lengthways in the bath it directed to the middle against the shower door, anybody mature in years and we are getting there would be in big trouble. This hotel is not suitable for holidaymakers staying longer than a couple of days in my opinion, and as we were there 2 weeks blimey? the hotel was catering for the corporate side and weddings, therefore if you went in the bar at night for a drink a constant supply of catering trolleys going by, So although the hotel was spotlessly clean and looking the part, well in our opinion a hotel needs more? it needs a heart that beats, it needs staff that are happy in there work, and it needs a PERSONAL! touch to make guests feel welcome and valued, it means so much more? Sorry but people need to know, we spend a lot of time in italy and this is the worst experience for many years. Oh don't let review put you of visiting the lake it is probably the prettiest of them all.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wayne57Nottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Stayed here for a week from 31st May.. Beautiful hotel and right on Lake side with views over Isola Bella... Our room was on the side but views were great looking over the lake and pool/gardens.
Meals very good plenty of choice.. Staff very helpful and friendly. Lovely to sit on veranda and eat breakfast looking at the views. Easy walk along promenade to boat terminal..plenty of boats going around lake..
Recommend visit to Villa Taranto gardens...Lake Maggiore express round trip train and boat...and we visited the Islands 3 times...
The hotel has a large outdoor pool ..water very cold but nice once you were in.. And a warm indoor pool..
Very opulent decor.. But not stuffy... It is a busy hotel ..weddings and business conferences happening daily but still felt staff had time for us too.
Bedroom was comfortable but bed very hard. And shower was basic over the bath style...
Would recommend this hotel and resort and will stay again....

Room Tip: Ask for a room 2nd floor or above..side rooms are ok if near the front to get lake view.. Front roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deniserawlings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stresa hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel des Iles Borromees & SPA
0.3 mi away
Regina Palace
Regina Palace
#6 of 35 in Stresa
1,412 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Palma Hotel
La Palma Hotel
#4 of 35 in Stresa
1,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta
0.5 mi away
Hotel Milan Speranza Au Lac
0.3 mi away
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#12 of 35 in Stresa
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Bristol

Address: Via Umberto Primo 1/73, 28838, Stresa, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Stresa
#6 Luxury Hotel in Stresa
Price Range: $122 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The strikingly elegant Grand Hotel Bristol is set amidst beautifully tended gardens and has a wonderful view over the lake and Borromean Island at the foot of the Alps. Conveniently situated across the road from the lake, and only 300 metres from the centre of Stresa, the hotel’s large swimming pool is set in the immaculate grounds and shares the panoramic view of the lake and mountains. There is also an indoor pool at your disposal with two hot tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grand Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Stresa
Grand Hotel Bristol Stresa, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing