We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Hotel Bristol
Ranked #8 of 35 Hotels in Stresa
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in stresa at this wonderful hotel for a week in early June. This hotel exceeded my expectations as I was a little concerned about service having read some previous reviews. The service , in my opinion, was excellent particularly in the dining room. Well done to the waiters who were very friendly and efficient . The food was first class particularly the salad buffet which was a meal in itself. Our lake view room was comfortable with wonderful views over the garden and pool up towards the mountains. Having stayed at the Regina palace last year I expected the Bristol to be similar but the service and overall experience was much better. Well done grand hotel Bristol you've got my vote!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Jessie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

966 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    388
    158
    51
    31
See reviews for
199
471
23
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Arendal
Level Contributor
104 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stresa is a beautifulk place to spend a few days. I was there for a business conference, and the hotel was convenient for that purpose. Negatives would be that it is a bit old and needs brushing up a bit. I also wa snot happy with airconditioning ins ome meeting rooms.

Other than that the food was good, however not to varied. Fascilities are what you need. I recomend s stroll down to the centre of Stresa to taste the local cuisine.

All in all a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Get a room wioth balcony facing the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StigBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
159 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

As part of a tour group we arrived at this hotel to find the reception and lounge area very beautiful. We were at the very back of the hotel which was quite a long walk from reception...okay for some but not for many of the elderly who were part of our group. There was a sideways elevator to transport people but most of the time it wasn't working or took so long to arrive it wasn't worth the wait. As we entered our room we found it to be small but decorated in an elegant fashion which we like. The bathroom was small. On using the shower, water went EVERYWHERE due to the ridiculous placement of the shower head. I was going to talk to reception about it but when I found out all our group were having the same problem I didn't bother especially as I knew that the staff weren't really helpful. On our second day we found a trolley loaded with clean towels so we took about six of those to lay on the bathroom floor to soak up the water. On one occasion one of the men in our group used the bathroom in the reception area and all the water from the urinal splashed back onto his trousers. When he made the staff aware of the problem he was basically laughed at. We were pleased with the location of the hotel being a very easy walk to the local square and being opposite the Lake was very relaxing. The grounds were very nice. I did enjoy our cocktail "The Bristol" in the lounge area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheeky34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We have stayed in this hotel for 3 nights for my birthday. The hotel is really beautiful and perfectly located.
We've book a standart room with mountains view, which was half on the mountains, half on internal hotel yard. If you go for the same room, ask for a higher floor, we were on the 2d and its too low for a view. It was also was too close from hotel garage exit and when the window is open you can hear cars crossing somekind of metal grating on the road with a very loud sound...

Breakfasts are very good, with wide choise of food. Can't say anything about lunches or dinners, as we had these in Stresa.
What we really enjoyed was an outdoor swimming pool! Great view, perfect service at the pool bar!

Stresa is a very nice village where you can find a lot of restaurants and shops... Try Cashmere and Co for high quality cashmere and linen stuff, David shoe store for wonderful foot wear.

My only dissapointment about the hotel was that we have not received a single gesture of compliment on my birthday, not even a complimentary glass of prosseco....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zenkinaoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rostrevor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We spent a week at this hotel. When we arrived we found the room small and very warm . the food for a four star hotel was really poor. Our group had a choice of two courses fish or a meat course neither appealed. We were separated from the main dinning room even though the dinning room was half empty by a mirror divider. On the Friday night we were told by our tour guide because of a wedding they requested that we were to eat in the main dinning room hooray off we went on the Saturday night as requested the meal was an improvement . Unfortunately our tour guide did not tell us that the venue was changed again we were charged 40 euros for the meal the reception staff were very rude and arrogant and We certainly won't be back

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cait777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I can only imagine that when the coach tours dry up that this hotel will disappear off the map. Why? The staff are miserable, the hotel lacks investment and believes that customer service is best served by charging guests for anything they possibly can? Is it because they believe that their location will always ensure business? If that is the case then "helloooo" the real world will catch up with you and you will deserve it. If you dont care about your business why will anyone else?
I read other reviews and think one of us has got it wrong? Cleanliness should be a given not applauded, If staff would rather chat to each other at reception rather than handle customers then they should look for another job, who pays your wages ladies and gentlemen? I stayed here two nights with my daughter and used the swimming pool which could be a great facility but then why bother looking after it you have ticked the box for your star rating no one then cares if the walls and ceiling are growing green mould and the paint is flaking off!
Oh and then there is the wifi, why offer it free to guests, why not charge them 20 euros a day? Lets really upset them because they are here now and we wont likely see them again, too right! I could not help but smile when I went up in the lift only to see a "post it note" above the floor guide that said "good hotels dont charge for wifi" Exactly! Lets send your guests to the local patisserie to have a coffee and surf until their hearts are content and all for free!
Dark ages!
PS Star ratings should be linked to recent investment. How often have we read the "blurb" about a hotel and its facilities only to find that they were installed twenty years ago, when that happens star ratings loose their credibility in my opinion.

Room Tip: Choose somewhere else. the rooms at the back are not quiet because the tour coaches arrive about 5.3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maseratiman2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We spent a week at this hotel and enjoyed it. The hotel is very good indeed. Staff really helpful.
The setting is wonderfully scenic and just a short walk to the ferry and into the centre of Stresa with its shops, wine-bars etc. We found the food was outstanding and dining room staff very attentive.
The outdoor pool area looked great but it was a little chilly when we were there. Would not hesitate to stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the lake are larger though our smaller side room was quite adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank farmwifeCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stresa hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees
0.3 mi away
Regina Palace
Regina Palace
#5 of 35 in Stresa
1,281 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Milan Speranza Au Lac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Palma Hotel
La Palma Hotel
#2 of 35 in Stresa
1,253 reviews
0.3 mi away
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#9 of 35 in Stresa
448 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Bristol

Property: Grand Hotel Bristol
Address: Via Umberto Primo 1/73, 28838, Stresa, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Stresa
#6 Luxury Hotel in Stresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The strikingly elegant Grand Hotel Bristol is set amidst beautifully tended gardens and has a wonderful view over the lake and Borromean Island at the foot of the Alps. Conveniently situated across the road from the lake, and only 300 metres from the centre of Stresa, the hotel’s large swimming pool is set in the immaculate grounds and shares the panoramic view of the lake and mountains. There is also an indoor pool at your disposal with two hot tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Grand Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Stresa
Grand Hotel Bristol Stresa, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing