We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Hotel Bristol
Ranked #11 of 35 Hotels in Stresa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2013

A really nice stay had a two day stay in the summer which we enjoyed and would go back again.
on a tour around the Lakes and just checked in at the end of the day.
do not take up the offer of eating at the suggested restaurant by the lobby staff as it was very poor.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nitesh9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,070)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

382 - 388 of 1,070 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2013

Confession to start with - we like the Italian Lakes and as this hotel overlooks Largo Maggiore it had a head start. However it turned out to be ideal. Situated in Stresa, a lovely town catering for visitors, it is one of several hotels along the promenade. We did a quick recce into most of the others and decided we had chosen well.
The hotel decor is more classically regal than contemporary modern and this suited us fine.
It was clean and well decorated. Plenty of staff in all areas who were well versed in English and were pleasant and helpful. Restaurant staff quick to serve and helpful in advising on the various dishes, giving individual attention if required. The food was delicious although naturally in an Italian style.
The indoor pool and spa were in a beautifully furnished area.
The bedroom was well fitted out but could have benefitted from just a little more space.
We had a room facing the lake, beautiful view, and although the road was between the lake and our room we didn't get any noise at night.
You'll gather from this we liked the Bristol and we did. Will certainly try to return.
Well maintained grounds, outdoor pool and plenty of sun beds / umbrella's

Room Tip: Try to get a front of hotel room. These overlook the lake. side rooms do as well but not as well
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank JennyStockport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Stayed here last year for a conference.. Beautiful location, beautiful hotel... Had a amazing view from the room. A/C weren't working at that time so had to keep the windows open. Didn't had a very good sleep though.. Room was comfortable.

Stresa is a beautiful place to discover in Italy..

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yasanthi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Having booked our holiday with Holidaysbooked.com (via Travel Zoo offer) we arrived at Milan Bergamo Airport at 10pm on Saturday 29th September - Supposedly to be met by our transfer company, who failed to arrive.
After making calls to Travel Company there was a recorded message saying they would get back in touch - they never did.

Also calls to Transfer Company resulted in "This line is no longer in use" and Mobile number "unobtainable".
As we had waited for some time for the transfer we were approached by a lady Taxi organiser who wanted to charge 300 Euro’s to take us to our hotel. That price dropped to 220 Euro when we started to move away.

When telephoning our Hotel (Grand Hotel Bristol, Stresa) we were told there was no room booked and the hotel was full.
The night was spent at a hotel across the motorway from Airport - at further cost of 167 Euro.

The following day we made our own way to Stresa. A shuttle coach left every hour from outside
Bergamo Airport direct to Milan Central station. Journey 48 kilometres took nearly an hour and cost 5 Euro each.

At the station we booked 2nd class tickets to Stresa. The cost was 16 Euro each. (beware that the tickets have to be validated by putting in a yellow machine at platform entrance or you might be fined).

Also we never booked our seats, which was another complication, as the seats are not shown as booked when you get on the train. Like others sat nearby we had to move out close to the departure for travellers who had booked those seats (never sit in first 3 rows of seats nearest any carraige door if you haven't booked the seats).
The journey took an hour to Stresa and then a taxi from station to Grand Hotel Bristol (9 euro plus 1 for tip) -but Hotel is only a short distance down the hill from station and turn left at bottom along lake front. You could easily walk it within 10 minutes.

Upon arrival the Hotel looked the business and perfect location for a daily stroll along the Lake front and a fair few shops and bars in the town. Unfortunately we didn't stay there - despite the fact that we had the Hotel Voucher.
I spoke to the Zacchary Hotel Group office by telephone from hotel who informed me that Holidaysbooked.com had not confirmed the booking. Clearly they had also not informed the Transfer Company of our arrival (and departure).
Zacchary Hotels Group eventually arranged a transfer to another of their hotels in Baveno a few miles further up the Lake.
We stayed at Simplon Hotel (which has a separate review).

Speaking to an owner of a harbour bar it is not uncommon for travellers to Stresa to be shipped up to Baveno for their hotel stay. Baveno is not as large as Stresa ,and the roads are not all paved for walking outside the town area.

Don't forget that Milan has two airports, Malpensa Airport and Bergamo which is much further away from Milan centre (and Lake Maggoire). Also there are two main railway stations in Milan. Booking rail tickets by platform machine from small stations like Baveno is complicated, and best to go local Tobacconist who sell rail tickets. The Express trains all stop at Stresa (first stop after Milan) but not at Baveno.

Bus to Stresa costs 2.40 euro and stops at station.

All in all if I were to go again to the Lakes I would probably go with a Coach Group. If not I would make my own transfers from airport - if landing at reasonable time (which Ryanair don't).

And beware of holidaysnotbooked.com
The company promoted a 4 day Hotel Grand Bristol stay via Groupon and Travel Zoo which probably meant
they couldn’t cope with demand, resulting in mistakes and lack of liaison with their Italian counterparts.

After a letter was sent to Holiday company upon return a cheque for our extra incurred expenses was received after a 6 week delay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rayvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We loved this hotel! The rooms are spacious, beautiful and large enough to include a sitting area. It was almost like being in a museum with nice paintings and furniture. Every room has a balcony with a view of Lake Maggiore. The pool is beautiful. The lobby is spacious and decorated with antiques and art work. Make sure you note the large dining table with a huge green boat (either jade or murano glass) placed on top.

The hotel is in a great location, within walking distance of the town and of the cable car to Montorrone. There is a very unusual elevator near the back of the hotel that goes sideways instead of up and down. If you don’t know that, the ride can be both fun and scary. This takes you to the indoor pool and fitness center. You can walk back to the lobby through a long hall that's like an exhibition of interesting items.

Food is pretty good for hotel food. Very nice breakfast buffet. The staff is friendly and helpful. Wi-fi is 5 euros for a cumulative hour.

If we had the opportunity, we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Want2travelallaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

by far the nicest hotel we stayed at during our 10 day tour of italy. Not perfect by northe american standards but a nice change from some of the hotels we stayed at on our Alba Tours through-out Italy

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aaaaaaaaah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

My two friends and I stayed for a week at the end of September, and can't understand the odd poor reviews about the food, as we ate so much! Lovely buffet breakfast and set dinner menu, all with plenty of choice. Service with a smile, and so many lovely desserts that my plate overflowed every evening.
The rooms were beautiful, clean and comfortable, and the picturesque outside of the hotel was heart-lifting to come back to.
Thank you to those who posted about HolidaysBooked.com. This enabled me to call them a few days before our holiday. Dawn gave me all the reassurance I needed about things which had previously been problems now being resolved. She forwarded me the hotel's own confirmation of our reservation, so that I could see we had the appropriate upgrades we had paid for. To her credit rather than 'fob me off', she agreed she couldn't give me full reassurance about the transfer system but sought approval for a refund so that we could book our own taxi. The refund came through within two days. Booking through them meant we had flights, upgrades, and half board all for less than the price of booking the room direct with the hotel. Can't complain at that!
Would love to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 3HolidayGirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stresa hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel des Iles Borromees & SPA
0.3 mi away
Regina Palace
Regina Palace
#6 of 35 in Stresa
1,412 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Palma Hotel
La Palma Hotel
#4 of 35 in Stresa
1,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta
0.5 mi away
Hotel Milan Speranza Au Lac
0.3 mi away
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#12 of 35 in Stresa
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Bristol

Address: Via Umberto Primo 1/73, 28838, Stresa, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Stresa
#6 Luxury Hotel in Stresa
Price Range: $122 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The strikingly elegant Grand Hotel Bristol is set amidst beautifully tended gardens and has a wonderful view over the lake and Borromean Island at the foot of the Alps. Conveniently situated across the road from the lake, and only 300 metres from the centre of Stresa, the hotel’s large swimming pool is set in the immaculate grounds and shares the panoramic view of the lake and mountains. There is also an indoor pool at your disposal with two hot tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Stresa
Grand Hotel Bristol Stresa, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing