We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“BEWARE! Definitely misleading by website and owner!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Saini Meuble

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Saini Meuble
Ranked #17 of 36 Hotels in Stresa
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“BEWARE! Definitely misleading by website and owner!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

It is hard to condense & explain the issues, dishonesty and misleading advertising and odd interactions with owner in a short post! Websites states it is a 3 star hotel. Definitely not. I emailed hotel before booking asking if there is wi-fi in the rooms. Hotel responded "yes". No wi-fi in rooms, owner had excuse that someone in area had "high powered Internet" that kept the rooms from getting wi-fi. Not what he emailed in response to my inquiry! Only wi-fi was near check-in desk. He told us we would be out sightseeing all day so we wouldn't need wi-fi (rather presumptuous on his part!) but that at night we would get wi-fi when the person with the high powered Internet would be offline. That didn't happen either! The Internet just does not work in rooms! Website says mini-bar in room. Not so. Only an non operating mini frig. Owners' excuse was someone had gone through hotel and messed up the wiring! Website says satellite TV. Not so. An old TV with a few local channels. Website says hotel has arrangements with 3 restaurants for special guest menus. Not so! It was cold in the late evenings and mornings. When asked for heat, we were told government will not allow it is October. Not so. We moved to a nearby hotel and had guest controlled thermostat in our room. Breakfast was worst we have seen. Consisted of one croissant each, butter, jelly, coffee or cocoa and a basket of unappetizing dried crackers and toast. Husband asked for fruit and was given one peach. Instead of buffet, these minimal items were put on each table. It seemed they were afraid guests would ask for more so nothing was in view and nothing more offered! Owner's constant excuses were well rehearsed! Check around. Many true 3 star hotels all around Hotel Saini at same price or a bit more, which would be well worth it. Suggest you read the other reviews regarding the same issues we had and more.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Solesonearth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsaini, Proprietario at Hotel Saini Meuble, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
ATTENZIONE a questa recensione !!!!
"Hotel Saini takes all criticism very seriously and the reviewer's harsh assumptions and
strong language need a response.

Hotel Saini makes the following comments:

* Hotel Saini is proud of its 3 star rating and reputation, justified by the
Tripadvisor 2013 Certificate of Excellence and 87% positive reviews plus regular reviews by
the certifying authority and a 8.4 Booking.com rating.

* Hotel Saini provides two wifi facilities to ensure its guests enjoy excellent internet
access in all areas, including in the rooms. From time to time, there may be outside interference which is regretful, but
unfortunately outside the control of Hotel Saini.

* Hotel Saini is attending to the website to resolve any misunderstandings there may be.

* Hotel Saini is proud of its reputation of providing honest service and value for money
and any suggestion or assumption it wilfully witholds food or services is fanciful in the extreme.

* Should the reviewer still have the book "Rick Steves Itally 2013 " loaned for information, Hotel Saini requests it's return. "
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    55
    23
    8
    2
See reviews for
30
133
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Gianni and Mari of Hotel Saini went out of their way to make our stay in Stresa memorable. This is the second visit and we were not disappointed. The room was spotlessly clean and the hotel perfectly situated, a stone's throw from the ferry wharf with cafes, bars, restaurants and shops on the doorstep. Gianni knows everyone in Stresa and his suggestions for evening meals were value for money and good food. Mari even escorted us to the laundromat, bank and hairdresser (the hairdresser was as good as our usual hairdresser in Sydney). Mari is a lovely lady and very helpful.
Perhaps the only criticism is the breakfast but Gianni's coffee makes up for it.
If you want great personal service, value for money in a central location Hotel Saini is unbeatable.

Room Tip: If you want perfect peace and quiet, ask for a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MervCross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Once again we had a wonderful time in Stresa which we think is one of the most delightful of the Italian Lakes destinations. We stayed again at this hotel for, I think, the third time and it was really good, as before.
It's the perfect hotel if you want a small, private, accommodation which is very personal because the chap who owns is Mr Gianni, is really helpful and friendly - he even remembered us from last time! Don't go to this hotel if you want "large and formal".
There's some great restaurants in the vicinity of Hotel Saini and, one day, Mr Gianni suggested we went over to Isolo Pescatori for Dinner. He made the reservation at a great restaurant and arranged for a water taxi to collect us from near his hotel. We felt like Mr & Mrs Bond! Brilliant fun.
We'll definitely be going back to Stresa and Hotel Saini, hopefully next year (fingers crossed).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 290290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
125 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We liked Stresa but would probably stay elsewhere next time. Although very clean, our room was on the street side and fairly noisy. The owner was quite helpful in recommending activities for us, but having read reviews before we left, we didn't want to disappoint so we tried to do them all and we came away exhausted. His suggestions for restaurants were good, but the breakfast he offered was a disappointment. Each day we had one fresh croissant, never any variety, and then a basket of prepackaged breads, etc. from which to choose.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank becpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsaini, Proprietario at Hotel Saini Meuble, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
we would like to clarify one thing , that our rooms are all quiet as there are no roads with traffic around our Hotel . Unfortunately, the evening that the gentlemen slept in Stresa there was a party.
Many times the error of our guests is that they do not have much time and want to explore more things possible, so it is logical that in the evening they are tired!! .
We would also like to point out that the score of the ranking is wrong , as the average of the scores given by the clients is 4 and not 3 as you wrote. With cordial greetings.
Hotel Saini
Stresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I would highly recommend the Saini Meuble Hotel in Stresa. It is an incredible bargain compared to other hotels, and the owner, Mr. Saini is incredibly helpful and makes excellent recommendations. The rooms are spacious and very nice, and the breakfast quite adequate. The location is excellent - right in the heart of the pedestrianized old town.

We parked our car out on the street for the days we were there (free), and Mr. Saini advised us as to when to park to find a free place. We found great restaurants nearby, and it is very close to the ferry terminal.

Really highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank silky21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Hotel Saini was a wonderful stay for us. These days you can choose to stay in a large fairly impersonal lodging, or you can choose a smaller hotel with friendly, knowledgeable owners and staff who genuinely care about their guests. The latter describes Hotel Saini and is the perfect retreat in Stresa. Attributes also include great location about a block from the boat dock, walkable to the quaint shopping streets and promenade, and the zoological gardens; functional exceptionally clean rooms, filling simple breakfast, beautiful warm wood and 400 year old stone wall lobby with Da Vinci inspired elliptical stairway. If you're looking for an authentic experience beyond a clean and comfortable room, then choose Hotel Saini.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatPortland_OR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Saini Meuble is located in the heart of Stresa near the ferry and lots of good restaurants. The accomodations are immaculate, roomy and good value. The owner, Gianni, will help you plan your activities and he knows what is worth seeing. Make sure you visit the bar where Hemmingway recuperated after WW1,( a little pricey).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rosqui9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stresa hotels
0.1 mi away
Milan Speranza Au Lac
Milan Speranza Au Lac
#6 of 36 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 stars 537 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol
Grand Hotel Bristol
#8 of 36 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 stars 892 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Elena
Hotel Elena
#15 of 36 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 stars 217 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Parc
Hotel du Parc
#11 of 36 in Stresa
4.5 of 5 stars 297 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Palma Hotel
La Palma Hotel
#1 of 36 in Stresa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saini Meuble? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saini Meuble

Property: Hotel Saini Meuble
Address: Via Giuseppe Garibaldi 10, 28838, Stresa, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Stresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Saini Meuble 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Saini Meuble reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saini Meuble Hotel
Saini Meuble Stresa
Hotel Saini Meuble Stresa, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing