We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Idyllic refuge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Residence La Luna Nel Porto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Residence La Luna Nel Porto
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Stresa
Certificate of Excellence
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Idyllic refuge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

This hotel does not disappoint. It lives up to and beyond the reviews. It's location at the southern end of Stresa ensures a quiet, relaxing stay with stunning views, and the most comfortable and spacious accommodation. Delightful staff top off a stay not to be forgotten. Would highly recommend it.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RJH1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    38
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
61
193
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Our last 5 days in Italy were spent at La Luna nel Porto, so after the bustle of Rome, Florence and Milan we were ready to breathe out. La Luna is a blissful package - warm, gracious staff; elegant suites with terraces, balconies and views of the lake; well-kept gardens and a superb location with a very short stroll to the ferry terminal. Views across the lake stretch across the Alps to Switzerland. The Borromean Islands and their spectacular gardens are only minutes away by ferry. The La Luna staff are able to recommend restaurants and tour experiences nearby. We particularly enjoyed the regional cuisine at 'Piemontese' and the lake seafood at 'Casabella' on the Lago Superiore e Pescatore. Thanks to La Luna and the staff for making our stay so enjoyable. Bob B

Room Tip: The rooms with a view of Lago Maggiore are wonderful - morning sun, afternoon shade, terraces and ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed for one week and can't speak highly enough of the hotel. The owners and staff were so helpful and friendly without being intrusive. Our suite had a very large terrace on the 2nd floor which overlooked Lake Maggiore and the islands with snow capped mountains in the background. The location is a few minutes walk to the centre of town and the ferry terminal. Stresa is such a relaxing and beautiful place to be and we can thoroughly recommend this hotel which is right on the front but very quiet with pretty gardens and wonderful vantage points to admire the views. Order a drink from the bar and be fed with yummy snacks and chocolates.

Room Tip: Choose a one bedroom suite with a large terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MonsClaude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Arnoult, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We have been staying  in hotels on the Lago Maggiore for more than 10 years. Last year we visit the Luna nel lago where we decided to sojourn this year. Among the reason of our choice was the location of the residence, close to restaurants, bars, shops and embarkment.
We enjoy the "suite 101" for a five-nights stay, in early June this year. We appreciate the terrace with the raising sun in the morning and the afternoon the changing view on the lake, the armchairs before dinner and the whole modern large space. 
The staff was very friendly and the assistance they provide to guest is highly professional. 
We did not use the kitchen since for dinner, the pizzeria Papagallo was welcoming us each night and at lunch we were either outside Stresa or in the restaurant Vicoletto which we recommend. It was a pleasure to have breakfast (a coffee and viennoiserie) at the Bar, a few doors away or a drink in the afternoon for watching people.
We shall come back next year to visit again the gardens and the museum and palaces of the Borromees islands,  to walk along the lake or to climb the Mottarone. It is not far from Milano and Switzerland (Hundred valley railway from Locarno to Domodossola).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paolo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed here 13th - 20th July in suite 312 which has two bedrooms and a front room with a pull out double sofa bed. The views from each of the balconies was straight out on to the lake and waking up each morning and opening the windows was an amazing feeling. The hotel is not a big hotel but our suite was very large with plenty of room for us all to move around easily. It is situated at the pier end of Stresa which in my opinion is ideal as you are minutes away from all the main areas but still very quiet.
Marrisa, Sonia and Denise helped us all the time with lots of advise and brochures, making reservations and when my wife became ill, Denise arranged for a doctor to visit and acted as translator which we would not of been able to do ourselves.
You could visit Stresa for anyhting between 3 days to a week, but we went out and did a lot of excursions. We did the Centro valley railway tour which takes you from Stresa to Domodossola then on the centro valley railway into Switzerland to Locarno then the Ferry back to Stresa. Its very easy to sort out at the ticket office on the pier (all speak good english).
We had a meal on the island of pescatori on the wednesday evening and again the hotel arranged it and the restaurant send a boat to collect you from outside the Hotel Parma, the restaurant we ate at was called Pescheria although Casa Bella is also supposed to be very good they are next door to each other (you must book).
The main piazza in Stresa was great for a drink and people watching as well as what must be 20 gelatera out of them all the K2 near ill Vicoletto was the best with so many flavours you would be lucky to get through them all in a week. ill Vicoletto we ate at twice and was very good, the restaurant a few doors away which grows its own veg outside was also very good and resonable cost, the Pizza were huge.
Stresa has some really big hotels that look great but if you want a warm friendly hotel at a good price you won't go wrong wiht La Luna Nel Porto.
Thanks again to all the staff who made us feel very welcome we hope to return again soon.

Room Tip: If you can get a lake facing view pay the extra it was worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Fraser66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballincollig, Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed here last week with my youngest two kids. Was a bit worried when I saw some of the hotels along the lake front but this place is a very laid back and relaxing place. The owners and staff were great, the advice on where to eat and what to do was spot on. Only thing that didn't go our way was the weather but I can recommend this place for anyone wanting to experience the lake and the surrounding area

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jboland77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our second time in June. We were joined by friends of ours this time, who were also blown away by this amazing hotel. The location on the lake promenade cannot be beat. This time we took two junior suites with a side view of the lake. The rooms are spacious, very clean, and very welcoming. Each room was decorated with a different color scheme. There were biscuits and cookies welcoming us when we entered our rooms, and the view of the lake from the balcony was amazing. The hotel owners and staff are extremely helpful in every way possible. They truly made us feel at home. We plan to return to this hotel during our next trip to Stresa because when you've found something this nice, why look for something else?

Room Tip: We stayed in both the superior suites and the junior suites. The superior suites are more like and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhonab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stresa hotels
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees
0.4 mi away
La Palma Hotel
La Palma Hotel
#2 of 36 in Stresa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,092 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol
Grand Hotel Bristol
#8 of 36 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 stars 860 reviews
0.2 mi away
Milan Speranza Au Lac
Milan Speranza Au Lac
#6 of 36 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 stars 510 reviews
0.3 mi away
Regina Palace
Regina Palace
#7 of 36 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 stars 1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residence La Luna Nel Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence La Luna Nel Porto

Property: Hotel Residence La Luna Nel Porto
Address: Corso Italia 60, 28838, Stresa, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Stresa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new hotel residence LA LUNA NEL PORTO is situated in the centre of Stresa, on the lakeside promenade. Studios and two room apartments with panoramic terraces,private gardens, fully equipped kitchen corner, air conditioned, safe, tv sat, free internet connection. Each apartment has its peculiarity in colours and furniture: you can stay in the apartment with sunset orange colours or in that with lake and sky colours. The hotel has flourishing panoramic garden, solarium, bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Residence La Luna Nel Porto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Residence La Luna Nel Porto Stresa, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing