We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but avoid the 5th floor”
Review of Astoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Astoria Hotel
Ranked #10 of 35 Hotels in Stresa
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good hotel but avoid the 5th floor”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Just spent three nights at The Astoria. This was our second visit (the first in 2011).

It's a very clean, smart hotel with a beautiful view over the lake and most of the staff are very helpful and friendly.

However, the problem was that we were given a room on the 5th floor (Room 501). The room (on the the back of the hotel overlooking the pool) was fairly small and had a very small balcony compared to many rooms. However, our main complaint was that on two out of the three mornings we had no water when we wanted to shower (it took some time before is started to run) and we also were underneath the roof terrace with a very noisy jacuzzi clattering away above us from 7.00am until late in the day.

Most of the staff are very helpful and friendly but our complaint was simply dismissed by the staff on reception and just not taken seriously. I suspect it's a complaint they get frequently and have been told to just ignore it. They might also consider employing a pool boy that vaguely looks interested in the guests and attemps to clean the pool when it fills with leaves after a couple of hours of windy weather.

At £168 per hight for a small double room, I'd have to think twice about booking it again.

Room Tip: Avoid the fifth floor!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HendonTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    195
    68
    31
    5
See reviews for
60
303
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

The Astoria is a well deserved 4 star hotel surrounded by much grander ones on the Stresa lakefront. It is a clean, friendly and efficiently run establishment where the staff really seem to care- this may be because they feel a little in the shadow of the bigger hotels, but whatever the reason the whole place was relaxing and very confortable. We had half board and are vegatarian, and they coped with that well, only forgetting once despite how busy they were. We would usually have a break from the hotel food when going half board by going somewhere else for one evening, but that was not necessary here.
Small gripes; beds are hard;water pressure on the 5th floor was a bit erratic and the pool is a little small. However, we had nine excellent days here and felt considerably better when we left than when we arrived

Room Tip: Not all balconies at the back are the same- some are merely Juliet ones. and some a much larger. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamesdhobson_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Have just spend 7 nights at this hotel, which we would recommend without hesitation. Our room faced the back, over the garden and swimming pool but was large and very well equipped. Our balcony, with table and chairs, was banked with star jasmine and the smell in the eveing was glorious. Food was good, not exceptional, but varied and imaginative. The staff were exceptional, always smiling, fun and helpful. The swimming pool is quite small but big enough for cooling off and having a float about, Loungers, plus tables and chairs are all around and a small bar / cafe. Only a 10 minute walk from Stresa town, shops and bars. A very good place to stay

Room Tip: Sun hits the lake view rooms at the front in the mornings, we had a rear view for less money and it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank evo_evans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed 11 nights and found the hotel very clean and well appointed. It was not as pretentious as some other hotels we visited nearby, but offered good value for money and all the necessities for a hotel of this class. Staff were exceptionally friendly and polite with excellent service at all times as well as speaking good English and other languages. The location and amenities were good and would certainly recommend Stresa as a relaxing and highly accessible location. Although tour parties used the hotel, they were catered for very discretely and did not in any way disrupt the enjoyment for longer-stay guests - certainly did not make other guests feel second class in any way. Breakfast was perfectly acceptable and food was plentiful - guests could request different types of cooked eggs. Toaster was very slow but hey you can't have it all! The evening meals were varied with many choices and, for 4 courses, absolutely excellent value for money. The Sunday evening buffet was really superb with an amazingly good choice of starters, main courses and desserts. My wife and I would unreservedly return to this hotel and loved the atmosphere and ambience of the place. Many other guests we spoke to were return visitors and gave good reports over periods of up to 15 years!

Room Tip: If you can, ask for a room overlooking lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maryg435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights at this rather dated hotel. Very friendly welcome when we arrived, but this is a resort hotel. This is a 4 star hotel, but only based on the services.
First the good:
Very helpful and friendly staff
Free car parking
Great position, opposite the lake, and 5 minutes from the town centre
TV in room shows BBC1 and BBC2 - very unusual.
The not-so-good:
Full of English and German tour parties
WiFi in the annex iffy
Decidedly average breakfast (bargain-basement cereals, tinned fruit, undercooked scrambled eggs), but served with a smile.
Almost the feeling of second-class citizens behind the tours.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigton, Cumbria
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Spent 5 nights here last week as part of a coach party.
The food was excellent, service good, staff very friendly. If we visit Stresa again we will most certainly stay at this hotel.
Talking to the rest of the coach party the impression was the same.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GaffofWigton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sirmione
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Well located, good rooms and a beautiful breakfast room. The lake view rooms look straight onto the lake, the public areas are welcoming, the breakfast is good but what makes the hotel special is the staff. They are welcoming, professional with high language skills and go out of their way to be helpful. One of the nicest hotels I have stayed in.

Room Tip: Lake view worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DFP_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stresa hotels
0.0 mi away
Regina Palace
Regina Palace
#5 of 35 in Stresa
1,314 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol
Grand Hotel Bristol
#9 of 35 in Stresa
988 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Palma Hotel
La Palma Hotel
#3 of 35 in Stresa
1,285 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milan Speranza Au Lac
0.6 mi away
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#8 of 35 in Stresa
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Hotel

Property: Astoria Hotel
Address: Via Umberto Primo 31, 28838, Stresa, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Stresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Astoria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Astoria is a modern hotel in Stresa on the lake Maggiore, centrally situated near the Congress Hall Palazzo dei Congressi Stresa. The Hotel enjoys a splendid view of the Borromeo Gulf, its islands and the Alps. Balcony rooms overlook the magnificent lake scenery or the lovely garden, with heated swimming pool and snack bar. The restaurant, lounge and bar are extremely pleasant, spacious and welcoming. All rooms are fully air-conditioned with bath or shower, hairdryer, mini-bar satellite TV, radio, telephone and free wi-fi. Suites with hydromassage bath are provided. Normal room charges also include unlimited use of gym, Turkish bath, car park and the panoramic roof-garden with its games area, solarium, table tennis and Whirl-pool conference facilities and garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel Stresa, Italy - Lake Maggiore
Hotel Astoria Stresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing