We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms and food”
Review of Regina Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Regina Palace
Ranked #6 of 35 Hotels in Stresa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We have just returned from an seven night stay in this hotel.
The first impressions are that it is a very attractive building in a very good location.
The interior is very grand and the gardens are lovely with a very nice pool.
The staff were very friendly and helpful.
We were allocated room 522 on the fifth floor which is where the appeal ended.
The heat was unbearable and the air conditioning was noisy and we complained about this and were told that the maintenance would check it was working ok .
There was no marked difference when we returned and had to sleep with our head at the bottom of the bed to keep cool.
The shower was a joke as you could not bend down or get directly under the shower head.
We eventually asked for a transfer to another room and after some negotiation this was agreed.
The room we were allocated was obviously in need of some TLC as the bath was chipped and stained with cigarette burns and the sink was blocked.
There were only 50% of the ceiling lights working and only one bedside light working as well as bulbs in the bathroom not working.
The light switch in the bathroom was held on with one screw and very loose and the extractor fan in the bathroom did not function and as a result the mirror steamed up.
I made out a list of the electrical faults and the blocked sink which admittedly was put right very promptly although I omitted to mention the extractor fan.
The restaurant was very plush and well laid out and the staff were very smartly dressed.
Unfortunately the food was a big let down and the menu very restricted.
The salad bar had very few choices of vegetables and very poorly presented.
I had hoped to experience real Italian cuisine but was served up over-cooked and mushy vegetables and poor quality meat ( chicken, pork, veal, turkey and tasteless fish.)
The sweet trolley took for ever to come round.
The breakfast was just as bad with greasy bacon that looked more like pigskin and rubber like sausages and something called scrambled egg.
There was one small toaster to serve the whole restaurant and it was like watching paint dry waiting for the toast.
This holiday was booked through Riviera Travel .

Room Tip: Keep clear of rooms in roof level 5 as they are very small and very hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peachey282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,412)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

475 - 481 of 1,412 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2013

Saw this hotel in the Inghams brochure and was attracted to the claim that they cater for Coeliacs as my wife is one. On arrival we weren't disappointed. All the staff were friendly and helpful, the room was clean and comfortable. My only disappointment was with the dining. The waiting staff at Dinner seemed disorganised and you could easily find yourself being served after some other guests who came in after you. However, everything else was great, the hotel was only a stones throw from the lake. A short 10 minute walk would take you to the town where there were plenty of pavement restaurants where you could eat lunch or even dinner if you decided you didn't like the food. Highly recommended

Room Tip: Less noise with higher rooms toward the side. We were on the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidbrazierd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

This exclusive and wonderful Hotel is excellent. Located on the lake and very near to the deck.
The hotel is very exclusive. Like in a palace. The rooms are very comfortable and beautifully furnished. The endless choice of a comfortable seating, if on the bar, in the lounge or outside on the terrace or by the pool offer marvelous choice of a la carte.
Take a boat near by and go to the islands enjoying a small walk on the authentic italian landscape. The ride on the boat is an amazing trip.
It has a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Besbotzur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Arrival at Regina Palace after 10 days of traveling from Rome to Florence to Milan and finally Stresa was just what we needed....luxury! Our rooms were very spacious and beautifully appointed. Elevator was ridiculously small but we skipped it for the rest of our stay since rooms were on 1st floor. View was breathtaking. Staff was courteous, particularly the breakfast staff. Inclusive breakfast was adequate, better choices than our previous two hotels. We did not dine for dinner at the hotel as the menu did not appeal to us. Plenty of places to eat just a short walk from the hotel. Lack of free wifi is our only complaint but at least the parking was free.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed for a week in July 2013 - half board. The hotel public areas were fabulous and lake view impressive. Our room was small with little room for 2 suitcases and the 2 of us. Bathroom was far too small. We were told on arrival that the room was not ready for another hour when 5 minutes later another receptionist told us it was in fact ready.The breakfast was passable but the evening dinner was very disappointing with 4 courses comprising a boring salad first course, confused menu with weird choice of incompatible ingredients. Hardly a hint of authentic Italian cuisine or fresh vegetables. Very small portion sizes. Service was haphazard and clueless at times. Joke of the week was "matches potatoes" with the main course meat (again no other veg) which were simply a huge pile of warmed up Walkers French fries out of a bag! We spoke to a couple on their last night who had omelette and chips for their main course (4 Star restaurant ?). One night we had "marinated duck" ie. raw duck! We sent it back, as did several others (I am an EHO!) who did not want food poisoning. The best meal we had was in the bustling town centre, a super true Italian pasta.Yes, the place has some really good points and has a certain charm but we would not stay there again. Stresa itself was really nice ?with some super walks. The full day trip to Zermatt was fabulous. We did see some negative reviews before we booked but ignored them - silly really! I must also mention the lunatic park worker across the road at 0630 each morning with the petrol leaf blower on his back whose sole purpose in life seemed to be to blow the same few leaves around each morning and disturb hotel guests from their slumber and eventually cause himself noise induced hearing loss.

Room Tip: Get the lake view rooms at front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurence D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Excellent location on Lake Maggiore. Great proximity to the centre of the town. The public areas are very ornate and hark back to a by-gone era. The gardens and ponds are extremely well laid-out .
The spa is lovely and well equipped. The swimming pool is of a high standard, a great temperature, spotlessly clean and all guests are provided with a large bath sheet/towel for their sunbeds.
The food in the dining room is of a high quality but now and again the menu lets the place down. The choices are a bit limiting. That said, the staff in the restaurant are fantastic.
The room was very comfortable. Limited space in rooms and overly decorative given the size of the rooms. The rooms are kept very clean and well serviced by the housekeeping staff.
Not sure if hotels actually read these but if they do we would suggest that they open the garden/pool bar earlier in then morning for drinks and snacks. The garden bar opens from around 12pm and closes sharp at 6pm. The hotel should also employ staff to go around the garden and the pool area asking guests if they would like drinks or snacks. That said, the drinks are a little pricey - 5 euros for a small bottle of coke. The hotel is missing a trick in that we noticed many guests going out for lunch because of the very limited selection at the bar. If the menu was more extensive guests would more than likely stay put.
The hotel has a lovely terrace overlooking the lake and drinks are served here in the evening.
In short, a great stay. Very relaxing and excellent staff.
Would certainly return.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back of the hotel have fantastic view over the hillside overlooking the lake. Roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronnie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Hotel has no option "children" in hotel booking system.

Staff of booking office don't read a wish of clients according to room and provide room opposite to wishes.

The disgusting staff of reception desk.
Staff of reception desk incorrectly made the copy of passports during chek-in at the hotel, and then blocked to us room's keys and we were compelled to go down to reception desk and there learned that it is necessary to come again with passports for making the new copy! ! ! And only after that they unblocked room's keys. No apologies!

All rooms junior suite have a door to the next room and you live with neighbors as one big family! There is no information about it on a hotel's site and at room reservation!

Disgusting sound insulation of rooms: from the next rooms and corridors you perfectly hear all sounds!

During a breakfast it is difficult to get a free table. Never filled up fruit during a breakfast.

The boor of Rosalba who blocked to us an entrance to room and talked to me in boorish tone she has to be dismissed!
Hotel for pensioners from Germany and England having a rest for the social account!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Oxana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stresa hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel des Iles Borromees & SPA
0.1 mi away
La Palma Hotel
La Palma Hotel
#3 of 35 in Stresa
1,365 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol
Grand Hotel Bristol
#11 of 35 in Stresa
1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milan Speranza Au Lac
0.0 mi away
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#12 of 35 in Stresa
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regina Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regina Palace

Address: Corso Umberto I | Lago Maggiore, 28838, Stresa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Stresa
#5 Luxury Hotel in Stresa
Price Range: $169 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Regina Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinctive Turn-of-Century 6-story Hotel in garden setting on shores of Lake Maggiore, facing Borromean Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Regina Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regina Palace Hotel Stresa
Regina Palace Stresa, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing