We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Living in luxury” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Regina Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Regina Palace
Ranked #5 of 35 Hotels in Stresa
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
91 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Living in luxury”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

This is a grand, grand hotel in a picture-perfect position opposite the lake. There are walking tracks along the lake and the local township is compact and picturesque. There is a lovely big outdoor pool area and gardens and also a pleasant indoor pool.

We were part of a group tour and, unfortunately, were given room 533 which is postage stamp size, with nowhere to put suitcases, and no view. We were able to obtain a suitcase stand but this meant putting a chair in the hall outside as there was simply no room to move. However, our room had a fridge and a reliable room safe. there was a quick, large lift to our floor.

Dinner was lovely, with free wine, and breakfast was excellent.

WiFi was horrifically expensive so we didn't use that.

Other parts of the hotel are, no doubt, better with larger rooms. We were just unlucky and there were no spare rooms.

Room Tip: Not room 533.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank juneabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    498
    423
    190
    69
    41
See reviews for
164
634
26
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

We spent one night in this hotel and were greeted upon our arrival by the receptionist demanding quite aggressively, our credit card details before we would be allowed to book in. What a welcome! As we had already paid for our room and had no intention of using the minibar, we said we would pay in cash if we ran up any bills, which did not please the reception staff who seemed very keen to get guests' credit card details. Room itself was OK, fairly small but with a view over the lake, right at the top of the building. The two lifts were tiny - only took two people at a time and were very slow. Dinner and breakfast were quite good. Pretty gardens and great location. Sadly didn't get any time to explore the spa but it looked nice on the brochure and website. Would we stay there again? Maybe, but wouldn't rush to go back.

Room Tip: Try to get a lake view room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank historybuff666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, Essex
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

As our heading says, this was our 13th visit to the Regina Palace since 2002. We had intended to submit a Review after our 10th visit (real life with not enough time takes over as soon as you return from a holiday!) but, having read some of the negative Reviews since our return a few days ago, we do not recognise such descriptions as being of the same Hotel and feel obliged to comment. Other Reviews have dealt with the fantastic scenery, location etc. in detail, so we will restrict our replies to just some of the adverse comments which we have read.

Room sizes do vary – the main building dates from 1908 and in all Hotels built in the early 1900s this is the case. The new wing dates from the last 6 years or so – and the fact that no Reviewer has apparently noticed that it is a new wing just confirms how excellently the extension has been done – and we assume that the rooms are probably more uniform. There are two lifts in the original building plus another one in the new wing. The table d'hote dinner consists of four courses: a salad buffet (considered in Italy as a separate course, not a side dish – and admittedly sometimes a bit disappointing as regards the selection), a 'starter' with a choice of 4 dishes, a main course with a choice of 4 dishes followed by dessert or cheese.

It is true that there can sometimes be queues at Reception etc. and, as often as not, this can indeed be due to groups or business conventions – as one Reviewer has so correctly pointed out, such business is essential to any hotel in these difficult times (unfortunately,
from the point of view of the independent traveller). In fact, quite a few of the negative Reviews seem to come from these same Groups, rather than from independent travellers. Frankly, we feel that these group guests should come into the real world. Business groups should not be complaining about the Hotel – they should complain to their Organiser who (as a businessman) has no doubt told the Hotel the maximum price which he is prepared to pay, doing his utmost to get the cheapest deal (the delegates should realise this – they too are in business). As regards wi-fi, the internet is expensive in Italy (compare internet cafe prices in Italy and Germany) and the system at this Hotel is a separate installation operated by Hiport.it for hotels etc. The Organiser can always ask for this to be included in his price. Similarly, Travel Group Organisers want to show the lowest possible headline price possible in their Brochures. As regards such Brochures in the UK, potential holiday-makers should look more carefully at them and note the very different prices of the various operators for the same holiday – and ask themselves why this is so. After all, these same guests do not expect business class treatment when they are flying by budget airline.

In our opinion, potential guests should not let the negative reviews affect their decision (over 88.50% of the reviews are average and higher). After all, if we had such a negative experience in 2002, we would not have returned once, let alone a further 12 times.

If you are considering the Regina Palace, do try it. If you have been before, go back – you will find out how much they appreciate loyalty.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Europhilecouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

We arrived at Regina Palace at the end of our trip. We were very pleased with our accommodations which were in the "new" wing. We had a terrace and a balcony facing the mountain view,not water. It was calm, low- key and relaxing just like Stresa itself. The new spa is outstanding ! The indoor pool looks like a cave, the lights are low and "spa music" is softly playing. You feel very tranquil after a swim.
The hotel food, is hotel food... The waiters were very good and wanted you to have what you needed. A quick walk to the town center has other offerings as well.
If you want a great place to unwind you will not go wrong here.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMGJune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
549 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We booked through hotels.com and the hotel staff didn't seem to be happy about that. They first of all gave us the wrong type of room until we asked for a change to the proper room. Lovely place and location but you feel like you are not in a welcoming atmosphere. The clientele are predominantly German and they seem to cater for that market and for convention goers. Perhaps I am being a bit too critical as we had just arrived from a fantastic stay at the Excelsior Palace Hotel in Rapallo near Portofino which was fabulous. However if you get the feeling you are not welcome you usually aren't.

Room Tip: Lake views are spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights during a meeting. Hotel and rooms are very nicely decorated in a very old "victorian style" and were well kept and maintained. Beautifull grounds, terraces, garden and pool and a perfect location in front of the magnificent Laggio Maggiore.
Internet access has to be paid extra.
Breakfast was a standard good buffet, and indeed, the croissants are too delicious.
The service at the front desk was OK but average. Some waiters in the restaurant were extremely kind and helpful, therefore a 4 is quoted on "service".
Meeting rooms were well equipped.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank christine123Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

As all the reviews lately have said this is an old fashion hotel with lots of over the top oppulent details. My room - number 314 - was covered in frescos with large draped curtains across 2 sets of bay windows. My room faced the lake and had a tiny balcony with a chair and table. The view across the lake is spectaular and definately worth the extra Euros to have. Even with a day or so overcast weather the view was still wonderful. The size of the room was good and the bathroom more than ample. Only negative was the shower in the bath which involved stepping into. Possibly a hazard for some. Close to the ferry and the town. Like others have said internet access price is ridiculous and very patchy. Friends bought access and spent half their time trying to get onto sites. Very, very slow and drops out constantly. Hotel can do nothing about as they "subcontract" it. High price probably due to the number of conferences they have there and no doubt assume the companies will pay for it. I found an internet cafe in town and used that for emails etc. Good value of only a few Euro.
Staff were good. I made a local call from the room and it only cost me 1 Euro.
Only had breakfast there but it was nice. Good selection of foods. Coffee was ok.
Drinks on the terrace late afternoon is just lovely.
Overall a good stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank baysidegirl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stresa hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees
0.1 mi away
La Palma Hotel
La Palma Hotel
#2 of 35 in Stresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
0.0 mi away
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#10 of 35 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol
Grand Hotel Bristol
#8 of 35 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
0.1 mi away
Milan Speranza Au Lac
Milan Speranza Au Lac
#4 of 35 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regina Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regina Palace

Property: Regina Palace
Address: Corso Umberto I | Lago Maggiore, 28838, Stresa, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Stresa
#5 Luxury Hotel in Stresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Regina Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinctive Turn-of-Century 6-story Hotel in garden setting on shores of Lake Maggiore, facing Borromean Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Regina Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regina Palace Hotel Stresa
Regina Palace Stresa, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing