We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location and a hotel with the "old charm"”
Review of Regina Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Regina Palace
Ranked #5 of 35 Hotels in Stresa
Certificate of Excellence
France
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely location and a hotel with the "old charm"”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

The lake is gorgeous and views from the rooms are very nice. Like some of the other reviewers, it must be said that hotel probably needs some work as does look little it's been through some "wear and tear". Room size was fine but beds not great. Rooms are far from soundproof and so you do hear people coming and going throughout the day and night which is not great.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marsenal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    533
    443
    194
    71
    41
See reviews for
178
660
26
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nemi, Italy
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I just had my quarterly team meeting with my European 40 person team at Regina Palace. And what a team meeting!!! It is like a time travel back in time to the rococo time with gold chairs, heaven beds, and, and, and...

The food was excellent, the service was excellent, the panorama over Lago Maggiore is excellent - it is just an EXCELLENT experience.

I will come back here again!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AntonellaBjarne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

This hotel is Edwardian in style - elegant and pretentious. The decor is all a bit jaded but still very nice. We were part of an organised tour and our meals were served in a separate part of the restaurant. The quality of the food was excellent and the waiters were very friendly. Stresa town centre is within 5 minutes walk and has the usual selection of boutiques and outdoor restaurants.
Eating out is not expensive and the general qualty is very good.
The one annoying feature is that the circular swimming pool is 2m deep all round. There is a 1m deep attached extension but, overall it is not ideal for poor swimmers.
We identified some fluff in a well-exposed corner of our room and we used that as a measure of the cleaning efficiency. It remained throught our one week stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RadioAmateur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We spent 4 nights at the Regina Palace in September. Our room was small but adequate as was the bathroom and everything was clean. The breakfast was excellent with many choices. The hotel's lobby area shows much German influence in the contents of the china cabinets. The main floor reception rooms are ornate with colorful lighting fixtures. It has an old world feeling that was intriguing. Our small balcony overlooked a beautiful setting at the back of the hotel facing the mountains. The front of the hotel overlooks Lago Maggiore. The location is excellent for walking to the town of Stresa as well as to the cable car to Mottorone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lbellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yanbu, Saudi Arabia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

the hotel is so comfortable like home, and the service is super fantastic,,i recommend this hotel for anyone..the room size is adequate ,,the breakfast is just charming as the place ;) definitely coming back next june

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Algethami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I had checked into the hotel as part of a group attending a conference. I had opted for a single occupancy room. It was a business trip which means I also wanted to worl with my laptop. The room was very dimly lit and no table kamp was available. They did get me a table lamp after I complained. But tge height was so low tgat I was just not comfortable at work. There was just one electrical outlet and with the lamp connected I had to again complain against which I was promptly supplied a spike. There were double occupancy roms too where my friends stayed with a small difference. Normally difference is to include breakfast. But these double occupancy rooms were more spacious and well lit too. Mybroom was cramped snd I wonder how other single ovcupancy delegates reacted. While all other aspects of the hotel like service, breakfast, friendly and helpful staff was very good, I left with a bad note only on this account.

Room Tip: Ensure tgat you are aloted tge double ocvupancy rooms st single room rates - not sure how it works.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krajan99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin,Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Regina Palace In October 2012.The hotel is well located overlooking Lake Stresa. Common areas are attractive,bedroom comfortable,though air-conditioning controls were not functioning. I brought this to attention of reception on more than one occasion but it was not resolved. Indoor swimming pool is delightful(grotto setting).This is indeed a four star hotel in most respects. Shame about the dining room! In such a fine hotel we expected good if not excellent food.Without going into detail,suffice to say that we dined elsewhere for the last three evenings,this despite having paid for dinner at the Regina Palace.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kyah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stresa hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees
0.1 mi away
La Palma Hotel
La Palma Hotel
#2 of 35 in Stresa
1,253 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milan Speranza Au Lac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol
Grand Hotel Bristol
#8 of 35 in Stresa
966 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta
0.0 mi away
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#9 of 35 in Stresa
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regina Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regina Palace

Property: Regina Palace
Address: Corso Umberto I | Lago Maggiore, 28838, Stresa, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Stresa
#5 Luxury Hotel in Stresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Regina Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinctive Turn-of-Century 6-story Hotel in garden setting on shores of Lake Maggiore, facing Borromean Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Regina Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regina Palace Hotel Stresa
Regina Palace Stresa, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing