We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Palace”
Review of Regina Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Regina Palace
Ranked #6 of 35 Hotels in Stresa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We wandered into Stressa and had no reservations but took a chance on this beautiful hotel. Our room was lovely, our bed so comfortable, and the breakfast included was sumptuous. This is an elegant, delectable hotel with gorgeous appointed sitting areas in true italian style. We loved our one night stay and our host even booked us a dinner on a charming cobbled street - the food and wine were delicious! The next morning we took the boat over to Ilsa Belle to see the castle and village. This is a must do! The shopping and lunch were also fantastic. You can also take a cable car to the top of a nearby mountain and mountain bike down through the villages with a great view of the lake! Stressa, Italy is a jewel and this hotel a gem!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mthighness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,412)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

520 - 526 of 1,412 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2012

An unusual hotel, rather OTT with a lot of old style glamour, maybe just a little faded. In a wonderful position looking over the lake and an easy walk into Stresa with it's good range of shops and restaurants and cafes. An indoor pool in a 'grotto' makes for an interesting and relaxing experience. Service from all but the reception staff was friendly and efficient. Food not wonderful but very acceptable. Breakfast very good with a range of choice, plenty of fruits and gorgeous scrambled eggs.

Room Tip: Have a lake view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

The Regina Palace is all one expects from a 4 Star hotel. Perfectly situated on Lake Maggiore with most rooms overlooking the Lake, many with small balconies and the hotel also has the best indoor swimming pool ( a 'Grotto' with water jets etc.) I have ever encountered ). The rooms are well furnished, the Bar, Reception Hall and Dining Rooms are 'grand' and the Hotel is just minutes walk away from central Stresa with many restaurants and shops.
I only had one dinner in the restaurant, it was good but some strange restrictions were evident. Wanting more wine, but not another bottle, we were told wine could not be served by the glass !. Getting ones own glass from the bar would have taken time and rather interrupted the meal. Even odder, a diner requesting a glass of tap water was informed only mineral water was available. Presumably a single diner,not liking Mineral water and not wanting a bottle of wine would have a rather dry meal.
Breakfast was quite good ; for once I'd found a Hotel where the bacon was well done.
Only other niggles were the bedroom lighting was too low to read in bed, stronger bedside lights are needed. The charge for WiFi, using either the Hotel PC's or ones own Laptop / iPad was €5 for 30 minutes , this must be worthy of Ryanair. All these minor points could easily be addressed.

Room Tip: A lake view room, with or without a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elliven_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This hotel is strait out of a Poiroit film but the service doesn't match up to the splendour of the surroundings. Reception is understaffed & staff not that knowledgeable / helpful in sorting out queries. 3 members of our party (of 4) initially charged wrongly for their rooms, probably more cock up than conspiracy but you get the picture that no-one is quite on the ball. Left luggage room when its available isn't secure.
No tea/coffee facilities in room, no iron available for room. Breakfast room very old world & splendid but food very average.

If you want to experience the charm of this hotel then go to the bar for a drink, but stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

This is my third visit to the hotel. Overall it is very good. My observations would be that when it is raining there is no where to get a snack as the pool bar is closed. The hotel hosts conferences and meetings for groups and this time on occasions we could not get into the bar. The group leaders stand at the bar door making it difficult to get in and then eventually when you do get in they have taken over the area and the groups even had tables booked in the bar making you feel in the way. When we went to leave our luggage in the Mimosa room we we turned away as a cycle group had taken it over and we were told we could not use it after spending eleven nights there. Finally we found as did many other guests as it was discussed, that the reception staff are mainly very unfriendly and have the habit of ignoring you whilst you wait with no acknowledgement . First impressions count and when we arrived the gentleman in reception greeted us with a smile and politeness. After this the ladies who obviously work very hard seem to find customers a nuisance and are quite honestly at times very unfriendly unlike the busy restraurant staff. Another observation is that security is very lapsed. I went swimming in the spa and met a lady not staying at the hotel who said she uses it regularly and nobody stops her. Also non residents just walk in the front door at any time take photos and wander anywhere they like. There is very little front of house in reception at any time.

These are negative comments but I feel need attention. Overall there are many more positive comments that would make you want to return.

The position, food, and housekeeping are really good and it is certainly a lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: The back rooms face the mountains and can get noise from the many coaches coming and going. There is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diana419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

It was like stepping back in time to the era when the rich done the "Grand Tour". The chandeliers were magnificent and the furnishings were splendid. As we walked into the hotel there was a gentleman playing a piano!! The staircase in front of us was wide with plants on both sides and walking down them made you feel like you were about to make a grand entrance. The food was adequate and maybe there could of been more choice but we didn't go hungry.The hotel is just beside lake Maggiore so lovely for an evening stroll. The staff were all very friendly and they done their best to accomodate are requests.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackie1418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The glory of the Regina Palace has dimmed a bit over time. The setting on the lake and location across from the promenade and access to dining and shopping is perfect. But the property has become bus tour central with large groups moving in and out every day. The lobby and bar are out of a movie set from the last century but the rooms are fine with good storage, french doors that open to a small balcony. We didn't pay the extra money to have a lake front view but enjoyed the back side, the hillsides and the trains! Food in the dining room is fair to poor. If you stay here - eat out! Many wonderful restaurants in town. Other shore line hotels worth checking out.

Room Tip: See the review. Get the best view you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 910JAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stresa hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel des Iles Borromees & SPA
0.1 mi away
La Palma Hotel
La Palma Hotel
#3 of 35 in Stresa
1,365 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol
Grand Hotel Bristol
#11 of 35 in Stresa
1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milan Speranza Au Lac
0.0 mi away
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#12 of 35 in Stresa
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regina Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regina Palace

Address: Corso Umberto I | Lago Maggiore, 28838, Stresa, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Stresa
#5 Luxury Hotel in Stresa
Price Range: $169 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Regina Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinctive Turn-of-Century 6-story Hotel in garden setting on shores of Lake Maggiore, facing Borromean Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Regina Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regina Palace Hotel Stresa
Regina Palace Stresa, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing