We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Taste of the Divine!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Stresa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Nothing short of divine! My husband David and I are luxury travel planners with a true passion for extraordinary hotels that offer the ultimate vacation experience. The Villa & Palazzo Aminta offers a tranquil haven facing Lake Maggiore overlooking the Borromeo Gulf and islands. Adding to the exterior’s visual aesthetic, the entire property is lavishly decorated with antique furniture, stuccos, frescoes, precious wallpapers, and arabesques. If further relaxation is desired, the luxurious Palazzo Aminta Beauty & Spa offers exclusive services to balance the body and soul. The crowning gem of the hotel is the Ristoranti I Mori while known for its impeccable wine list, is graced by the culinary passion and talent of executive chef Giuseppe Vigna. Chef Vigna prepares his families traditional recipes that convey his passion and love of cooking, leaving each guest inspired and gratified. A true sojourn for the soul!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrandmrsitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmintaStresa, Direttore at Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

Dear guests, thank you for your review and your appreciation. I will take the opportunity to speak about our restaurants, as this year there is the news! We have two restaurants: Le Isole, where we serve gourmet cuisine indoor or on our beautiful sunny terrace in front of the Borromean Islands (it replaces restaurant I Mori) and Il Calamondino, Wellness restaurant where we serve light lunch and show cooking in the evening. They both worth trying! Thank you and we hope to welcome you again soon!
Alessandro Sapia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (701)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

170 - 176 of 701 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2014

The photos online don't do this lovely hotel justice. It is situated on Lake Maggiore a few minutes from Stresa. The service and friendliness at this hotel are top notch. The staff seemed like they genuinely want to please you. The food and the staff in the restaurant were also excellent. Although our room was beautiful, it was very tiny but this shouldn't deflect from choosing to stay there. Also, take advantage of their service to arrange a dinner on one of the islands in the lake where a boat from the restaurant picks you up at the hotel dock. We had a great time!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Southernmell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmintaStresa, Direttore at Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Dear Guest, thank you for your review. Indeed, our rooms are not huge: our deluxe rooms are 20/25 m2, our junior suite are 30/34 m2 and the suites are 40/50 m2. The balconies of the deluxe rooms are 5/8 m2 and the terraces of the junior suites and suites are 10/20 m2. We are happy to read that you appreciated the beauty of our rooms, our welcome and the quality of our cuisine. We wait for you with a novelty: from the 6th of June we will inaugurate our new Wellness Restaurant Calamondino: to combine with a relaxing day in our swimming pool and Spa! See you soon!
Alessandro Sapia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

The views are beautiful, but every hotel in the area has the same views. The room was nice but wifi didn't work in our room. We complained and they said we could move to a room that it worked in but would be charged the upgrade. We had to go downstairs every night to skype with my son. The staff, especially the restaurant were very stuck up. We had much better service at the 4 star Monaco Hotel we stayed at in Venice then at this 5 star. Also you can't walk anywhere from the hotel, which has a shuttle until 6:30 which if you go to Stresa for dinner you will have to pay 14 Euro each way for the hotel to take you (no taxis in that area). The spa was also disappointing. The "hot tub" was cold and not enjoyable and no one was there to help us turn it on. I suggest staying at a hotel closer to town with better service and the same view.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Twist257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmintaStresa, Direttore at Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Dear customer, we are sorry to read that your stay was not as pleasant as we would have wanted it to be. For us, this is the only thing that matters. By choice we never use reviews to respond to the opinions of our guests. Fortunately, we have those who loved our services, our attention and we leave for them to speak well of our work and of our hotel. We sincerely regret that you didn’t have the same agreement. We hope to have you back with us to live through a wonderful experience that we wish to all our guests.
Alessandro Sapia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

The staff was very polite and nice, the view on the lake breathtaking and the breakfast great. There is a small spa to relax and a car service to the city. In addition, the hotel style, a bit old fashioned, is charming.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandrine239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmintaStresa, Direttore at Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Dear Sandrine, thank you for your review. We read with pleasure that more and more our guests appreciate our staff and our services. We are happy that you notices it as well. We look forward to a new breathtaking breakfast on our terrace!
Alessandro Sapia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

The best view of the 3 islands, very romantic setting with friendly and helpfull staff. Beautifully decorated hotel and extemely well kept garden. Having breakfast outside is like sitting in a postcard.
Close to Stresa which is 20 minutes walk along the lake and public gardens.
Nice quiet location much preferred to busier Stresa.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Ewatje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmintaStresa, Direttore at Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Dear guests, thank you for your review. We have been reading with pleasure that each of you appreciated your travel experience. I guess you looked in particular for nature, landscapes, sun and the green. I'm glad that you found all of that and enjoyed gazing it from our terrace, in front of the Islands, and in our beautiful Stresa. These scenes amaze us every day too! See you soon and thank you again.
Alessandro Sapia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

everything here was good at all. from room to restaurant to people. all of them are great. withh beautiful gardens of hotel, nice view of Maggiore Lake from our room, it was just an awesome trip. I was attracted by beauty of views here. staff in the hotel is nice and they helped us a lot for the first time being here. stranger but feel life good friend. in a word, nice stay with Aminta

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hanahlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmintaStresa, Direttore at Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you for this review full of appreciations.
We are delighted that your holiday on Lake Maggiore was awsome and live up to yours expectations!
We are pleased to have contributed, with our staff and our kitchen.
Did you enjoyed our gardens? You should know that our gardeners are already working to prepare the bloom early in the season, for the first days of April!
We look forward to welcome you soon again on Lake Maggiore!
Alessandro Sapia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We booked a “junior suite front lake view balcony” room for 7 nights, with dinner each evening, for August 2013, at the Hotel Villa e Palazzo Aminta. This was booked through a UK travel agent, and paid for in advance. On arrival at the Hotel Aminta we were informed that no junior suite was available. The manager told us that we would have to take room 410. This was a very small room with no lake view at the back of the hotel, measuring 3.0 metres by 2.9 metres (excluding the bathroom, which had a sloping roof making it impossible to stand up-right in the shower). After 3 nights in 410 we were moved to room 407 which did have a lake view, although it was still not a junior suite.

The hotel manager offered us 2 glasses of wine and a complimentary dinner in their “I Mori” restaurant (although we had already paid for dinner in their “Le Isole” restaurant). The Aminta Hotel manager took the view that this fully compensated us for their failure to provide the junior suite accommodation for 7 nights for which we had paid.

On returning home we contacted the travel agent to claim a refund, which was considerable. However, we were utterly astounded to hear that the travel agent had been informed by the Aminta that although the junior suite we had booked was not available, we had been allocated a room which was far superior to a junior suite; and therefore we were not entitled to a refund. This was totally untrue. The Aminta were clearly unaware that we had taken photographs of rooms 410 and 407 including the hotel’s own floor plan, which proved they were simply standard rooms and not superior rooms.

Because of the Aminta’s refusal to accept responsibility we had no choice but to start legal action in the UK against the travel agent to reclaim the difference between the money we paid for a junior suite and the lower standard rooms the hotel provided. We won our claim; but it left us aggrieved and very disappointed with the way the Aminta management treats customers. The attitude of the management seems to be accept what we have provided, and be grateful.

The food is good, although on a couple of occasions the waiters did not bring what we ordered. One day our room had not been serviced when we returned at 6 pm in the evening. The hotel is situated on the very busy road (without pavements) and is not safely accessed by walking.

We would not return to this hotel; and would not recommend it. We have stayed in many of the “Leading Hotels of the World” and the Aminta Hotel did not meet our expectations.

Room Tip: avoid room 410 !!!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank Ken W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmintaStresa, Direttore at Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear Mr . Ken ,
Reading your comments, we are very sorry to note that you didn’t value our intervention as adequately. Although it should never happen, but the room that was offered on your arrival was not the one you booked because unfortunately we had a serious plumbing problem. It would be our pleasure to provide you a higher room category but it was not available because the hotel was fully-booked . We did it as soon as it was possible , offering you a very nice Suite overlooking the Lake Maggiore and the Borromeo Islands, which is a room category higher than the Junior Suite you’ve booked. The economical solution doesn’t pay for accommodation below expectations. For this we agreed with you a better accommodation for 4 of your 7 nights stay. Believe me, the dinner at our gourmet restaurant, it was not offered to repair economically, but as a courtesy for any inconvenience. The financial compensation has been made with the room upgrade from a Junior Suite to a Suite. As per our conversation in the Hotel, we believed that you agreed with this solution . We realize only now that it was not like this . We are sorry mainly because your holiday was stained by this misunderstanding . If we knew immediately in the Hotel about your disappointing, we will immediately find the better solution for you. Thank you anyway because in this assessment you still wanted to reward the hotel for cleanliness and quality of sleep. We hope to welcome you again as one of our precious Guests in order to offer you a satisfying experience .
Alessandro Sapia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stresa
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees
1.1 mi away
Regina Palace
Regina Palace
#5 of 35 in Stresa
1,391 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Palma Hotel
La Palma Hotel
#3 of 35 in Stresa
1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol
Grand Hotel Bristol
#11 of 35 in Stresa
1,060 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Milan Speranza Au Lac
1.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Dino
Grand Hotel Dino
#4 of 15 in Baveno
1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta

Address: Via Sempione Nord 123, 28838, Stresa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Stresa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stresa
#7 Romantic Hotel in Stresa
Price Range: $317 - $861 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the shores of the Lake Maggiore, Villa & Palazzo Aminta is the luxury Resort where you can regenerate your body and soul by revealing authentic emotions in one of the most exclusive places of the world. The resort is located in the town of Stresa in the area with the luxuriant vegetation, overlooking the enchanting Borromean Gulf, is a refined jewel member of the Leading Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel e Palazzo Aminta
e Palazzo Aminta Stresa
Villa Aminta
Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta Stresa, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing