We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Stresa
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Luxury stay”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Lovely relaxing time. Dinners were awesome in the main restaurant! Drinks were awesome both in the pool and in the after dinner bar. Staff super nice. Only drawback it's a hike from the city, but walkable distance anyway! Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AgaGVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmintaStresa, Direttore at Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear guest,
thank you for your quick and sharp review. We've appreciated your compliments very much.
It 's true the hotel is 1km and a half away from the center of Stresa. Who is a good hiker, like you, usually walk to town. For all the others, there is our complimentary shuttle service 6 times a day.
Alessandro Sapia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    138
    56
    29
    28
See reviews for
97
370
9
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We spent 7 nights half board at this gorgeous hotel, the staff were excellent very professional and very friendly, the service l felt was also excellent, at breakfast you had plenty of choice hot and cold, the waiters even offering to take your plate to your table, pull your chair out etc. Evening meal was really tasty.The view from our room amazing l just couldn't stop looking out at the Islands they were truly beautiful.
The swimming pool was also great with a life guard on hand for safety and to move your umbrella to shield you from the sun. Ice cream in the afternoon or a lovely chilled drink. What more can you want. Cross the road and you practically have the lake to yourself really quite and tranquil, loungers table chairs just perfect.Hotel also provided a courtesy bus to take you to town or would pick you up if you could not get a taxi (charged but same as a taxi) Beautiful toiletries clean towels day and night if you wanted them. I cant praise the hotel and the staff enough l had a fabulous time there and would definitely hope to return again.

Room Tip: Definitely Lake veiw
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 543maria543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmintaStresa, Direttore at Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Ms. Maria,
Thank you for your kindly review, full of appreciations to all our staff. We're happy to have offered you the hospitality you wished for:
friendly and excellent. We're also glad to read that you're satisfied with our culinary offer.
You should know that even after many years, when we get out to our terrace we are still charmed by the beauty of the Islands, the Borromeo Palace, specially in the evening, when it's lit by the sunset. Remember that? I hope you'll come back soon to enjoy this view with us.
Thank you
Alessandro Sapia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

My wife and I spent 5 days at this hotel in August.
The hotel almost certainly has the best view of Borrowman Islands and across the lake – it really is magnificent.
The building and the décor is sumptuous and my wife enjoyed a really a massage and manicure in the spa.
On the down side the hotel pool is right next to the main road that runs around the lake and the constant noise from the traffic is a real nuisance.
The other more disappointing thing about the hotel was the service. The staff are very helpful but somehow they just don’t get it right. In my opinion really good service just happens without it being noticed whereas at this hotel the service is very much to the forefront and I just didn’t feel that it was as good as it could have been. For example, when a waiter takes your order for evening meal he writes it out on an old style multi copy pad. The bottom copy goes to the kitchen and the top copy is left on your table. What then happens is that every time any waiter passes your table he stops to check your order. I lost track of how many times our meal was disturbed by the waiters checking the order.
In summary – great views, fabulous décor but I wouldn’t go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmintaStresa, Direttore at Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Mr. Foster,
thank you for reviewing us on Tripadvisor. Thank you for the appreciations to the hotel, to the position in front of the Borromean Islands, to the Spa and ITS treatments. I read with regret that our service wasn’t up to your expectations it seems clear that we haven’t been able to get with you the good feeling that is often recognised us by our guests in many reviews.. It’s a real shame because this is the heart of the hospitality. I think that your judgment is affected more by this lack than by the service sheets on the restaurant table. I would like to have you here with us again because this isn’t this the memory I'd like you to have of the Villa & Palazzo Aminta.
Alessandro Sapia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We spent 7 nights on B&B basis in August 2013, in a Lake View Room.

Positives: The views from the Hotel overlooking the Borromeo Islands. The staff, without exception, are professional and helpful, their local knowledge and restaurant recommendations good. Exterior, public rooms and main restaurant beautifully designed. Our bedroom was well appointed, large and with a big balcony. Housekeeping good. We would have preferred a separate shower, rather than the bath/shower combo. Aqua di Parma toiletries a nice touch, as is the afternoon complimentary ice cream/cocktail by the pool. Breakfast is plentiful and nicely presented. Shuttle service to/from Stresa (free at certain times, 12 euros for private runs) is a must.

Negatives: The beds much too hard and make sleep uncomfortable. Pool area gets over crowed on busy days. Pool views of the lake are obscured by a high hedge and there is much noise from the road. Limited choice of dinner options; the set 3 course menu at 60Euros or a la carte restaurant which is very formal (we didn't see anyone in this restaurant during our stay). Pool/Snack (lunch menu) is limited and only available until 7pm. The hotel loses evening custom to restaurants in Stresa or the Borromeo Islands as a result. Drinks expensive and only 1 bottle of complimentary water per room per stay - given the high cost of rooms, bottled water should be free of charge and available by the swimming pool and in the bedrooms on a daily basis.

Overall this is a very nice hotel and we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Pack a travel iron as these are not provided and its 13euros per item for pressing/laundry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hampshire_UKSjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmintaStresa, Direttore at Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for your review, the details, the appreciations and suggestions. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the welcoming and professionalism of our staff along with the beauty and the design of our hotel. Good that you appreciated the stunning panorama of the Borromean Islands from your room balcony, the breakfast on the terrace and Stresa. Our mattresses were chosen for the good quality of sleep of our guests, but we know that the comfort of a mattress is subjective. We regret to read that it wasn't suitable for you.
About our restaurant we wanted to make a challenging and important quality choice for Stresa. We think that it’s essential for an international destination to have a high quality offer of food and service. We are sure that it’s a value also for our guests to have this kind of choice available, along with the other offers in the city.
Thanks again for choosing us and for deciding to recommend our hotel to the Tripadvisor community. We hope to welcome you very soon.
Alessandro Sapia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This was our fourth visit to Villa Aminta because the location, views, ambience and staff are worth any minor issues such as nearby traffic. A room at the front with a balcony ensures you can appreciate the Borromean Islands to the full. With a choice of restaurants to dine in, a relaxing pool and friendly staff mean when you've explored Lake Maggiore you can return to relax with wine or cocktails on the terrace all served with olives, parmesan cheese and appetizers. Breakfasts are a delight and its very easy to over eat. Many of the staff have been there for the last 4 years and are friendly, knew we were repeat guests and have our name and room number to hand. It's important to get the room right to ensure you have space, it's worth upgrading and with a hotel of this stature nothing comes cheap but it is worth it to have memories to savour.

Room Tip: Upgrade to have a great view and larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmintaStresa, Direttore at Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Mr Eric, thank you for your review.
We appreciate very much to see that an affectionate guest of ours rewarded us, apart from returning to our premises, with the recommendation of our hotel to the Tripadvisor community. Thank you for the appreciation to our staff. It’s true we have been working with a consolidated group from many years, and it’s true that it’s a value to rely on experienced staff.
We are delighted that all this made your stays memorable, over the years. I look forward to welcoming you as soon as possible to personally thank you.
Alessandro Sapia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We booked 3 lakeview rooms with balcony and the hot tub and arrived to the hotel for last two night in Italy. When we arrived we discovered that the booking we made, is only partially fulfilled and the third room we get is without balcony without bathtub and without lakeview - in general tiniest room I have ever seen with a view to the parking lot(and the railroad) and no way to make a bath to my baby boy(1.5 years old).Needless to say that despite all the protests, nothing helped - fully booked hotel and certain staff attitude made us give up and just to manage with what we got.
The hotel situated on the very busy road(without pavements) therefore no way to walk to or from it and the only way to get around is only by car.
The hotel looks and feels as expected from the hotel of the "Leading hotels of the World" guide but lacks with little details as making guest feeling welcome.
The bed is too hard for our taste and the gap in the middle is too large.
The hotel management tried to compensate us for the inconvenience by offering us a complimentary lunch but charged us the full price of the room we booked (and didn't get) and to charged us another 100 EURO for the baby crib.

Room Tip: Avoid the room 101 or any other room without balcony/terrace. The rooms on the side of the hotel are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StevenLz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmintaStresa, Direttore at Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Mrs Steven,
I regret to admit that your review is right about the booking mistake we made. Because of that you didn't get the room you wanted. As you report we tried to solve the problem, but the alternatives we offered you weren't appreciated.

What we did was not to charge you the lunch and the cradle.
It was our responsability not to commit that mistake, and I'm deeply sorry about what happened.
Please accept my sincere apologies.
Alessandro Sapia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

With a fabulous view over the lake from our beautiful balcony, the staff and service at this hotel could not be faulted. The room was a little small and there was not enough storage but very comfortable bed and good furnishings. Lovely toiletries in the bathroom. A railway runs behind the hotel and there is a busy road in front of it, both of which meant it wasn't really a peaceful location but this didn't really detract from our enjoyment of our stay. Just too far to walk into Stresa which didn't matter as we had a car but the hotel does provide a complimentary shuttle at certain times throughout the day. Breakfast was excellent with eggs and waffles cooked to order. Beautiful pool with attendant who set up sun bed/parasol for you.

Room Tip: Worth paying extra to have lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbear241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmintaStresa, Direttore at Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for the wonderful title that you gave to the review. Offering a special place to stay is what we try to do every day. We seek to offer excellent service, the best toiletries in the rooms and the highest quality of breakfast products. We are delighted that you enjoyed relaxation in the pool and the view from the rooms. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Alessandro Sapia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stresa
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees
1.0 mi away
La Palma Hotel
La Palma Hotel
#2 of 35 in Stresa
1,251 reviews
1.1 mi away
Regina Palace
Regina Palace
#5 of 35 in Stresa
1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Milan Speranza Au Lac
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol
Grand Hotel Bristol
#8 of 35 in Stresa
966 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#2 of 15 in Baveno
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta

Property: Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta
Address: Via Sempione Nord 123, 28838, Stresa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Stresa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Stresa
#7 Romantic Hotel in Stresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the shores of the Lake Maggiore, Villa & Palazzo Aminta is the luxury Resort where you can regenerate your body and soul by revealing authentic emotions in one of the most exclusive places of the world. The resort is located in the town of Stresa in the area with the luxuriant vegetation, overlooking the enchanting Borromean Gulf, is a refined jewel member of the Leading Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel e Palazzo Aminta
e Palazzo Aminta Stresa
Villa Aminta
Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta Stresa, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing