We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Stresa
Certificate of Excellence
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
391 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

If you are willing to spend time in an old-fashioned 'grand dame' hotel and you do not object to magnificent views over the Lake or to outstanding attention for detail in furnishing, upkeep, food and amanities ... then this hotel is precisely what you should be looking for. I can only regret having spent only 2 days (1 night).

Room Tip: Obviously lake-view is preferable to the mountain side, but a side view on the lake is fine also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Jan95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    138
    56
    29
    28
See reviews for
97
370
9
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Our five-night break at Villa Aminta was selected after extensive reviews of Trip-Advisor reports on holidays at the Italian Lakes. We booked directly with the hotel, saving about 10% on the best internet prices, and while it was still expensive, it was good value for money. All was ready for us when we arrived mid-afternoon, we were warmly welcomed and shown around the hotel, the concierge found a secure place for our car, and we gratefully opened our complimentary bottle of prosecco. The decoration of our room was exceptional, with hand-painted walls and ceiling, and the view over the lake and islands from our bedroom was something that we really enjoyed. The quality of the food, the menu selection, and its presentation in the table d'hote restaurant was excellent, and our one night in the a la carte restaurant was well worth the cost. However, perfection is only for the gods and so a few minor issues here and there were inevitable, I suppose. A broken shirt button and a bottle cork found under the bed was a bit surprising when we were doing our final inspection before checking out, and a considerable delay over bringing down the bags was a bit irritating when we wanted to get underway quickly. But one of the best hotels we have stayed in, anywhere. On the downside, transport is needed to get into Stresa, using either your own car or the hotel bus. It is not safe to attempt to walk the mile or so into town, as there are no walkways or pavements.

Room Tip: We had room 207, which had excellent views of the lake. Rooms on floor one have small terraces, ins...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jgrahamd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathgate, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Spent a week at the Villa from 11th Aug 2012 on HB basis. This was our 2nd stay here and it's much much more than we could have imagined. Nobody does it quite like the Aminta. On our arrival, we were upgraded without cost to a Junior Suite. It was simply palatial. All the staff from Roberto (the boss) to the waiters are always on hand to look after you. Special thanks to Guiliano for his guidance on the wine list, Pietro for his attentiveness and Walter in the A La Carte restaurant. Massi in reception was just delightful. The food was fabulous, you must try the A Mori A La Carte ....... worth every penny. Given the high standard and quality of the Aminta, the price is very very good. PLEASE VISIT THE AMINTA!!!! Liz and John O'Hara from Bathgate, Scotland

Room Tip: Rooms are small, but so are most rooms in Italy. The rooms will not disappoint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

This property is incredibly overrated and I am at a loss understanding all the positive reviews.

I can get that honeymooners are in awe of the view and the general atmosphere around the Italian lakes but still....

My experience for, I repeat, EUR 1,700 a night has been as follows:

Arrival: nobody to greet us at the front door so we had to carry our luggage to the reception
Reception: mildly friendly like, you are undoubtedly honored to be granted this privilege of staying with us.... this being said, the entrance hall with polished marble floors, etc is in line with what the property advertizes
Room: two tiny rooms united into a "suite", cheaply decorated with floral watercolor drawings allegedly hinting at the Italian renaissance (at least, in Vegas, they have the same lack of taste but money has been spent), cheaply equipped (TV from the last century that, btw, did not work, no work area to put a computer) and NOT soundproofed. Thanks to the hollow door, you share conversations with people in the stairs and, less luckily, you also share more intimate moments when guests in upper floors relieve themselves. Nice balcony overlooking the borromean islands but basic see through only separation from other rooms on the same balcony, so, NO privacy. I will not comment the terribly uncomfortable chairs put there. Bed? Reminded me, with all these springs claiming for freedom of my grandmother's countryside house.
Internet: since we are living in the past, internet is a spare resource that is billed for EACH computer (do not bring you laptop and Ipad, you will pay twice!)
Restaurant: they have a restaurant but with a set menu. When you ask the "concierge" about outdoor dining by the lake, the answer is that they do not know of any. Of course, we found by ourselves plenty and had excellent lunches and dinners.
Sport: good equipment but forget if you want to train before 8.00 am

I stop here because I could rant for hours. I have no problem paying steep prices per night but there must be other rewards than arrogance. Through our wanderings, we have found a fantastic place that is exactly 3 times cheaper and ten times better.

so, should you pay so much money just for a view on the islands. Clearly, the answer is no. Would the price have been EUR 900 per night, I would have not been particularly happy but would have not bothered with a review. It says all, I guess.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Andyougo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We have just returned from a fabulous week’s holiday at Hotel Villa e Palazzo Aminta, staying in a front balcony room with full lake view. The views across the lake of the two islands were outstanding both from our room and the dining areas.
The public areas of the hotel and our room were luxuriously appointed and were kept clean and immaculate at all times. We liked the personal touch and attention to detail given by the owner and all his staff, they were very hospitable and friendly and did their upmost to make us feel welcome for the whole of our stay.
We were pleased that we had chosen half board as all the meals, breakfast included, were excellent.
The outside swimming pool and spaces around were very well maintained and the pool was lovely to swim in. We particularly enjoyed being able to access the large private lakeside area belonging to the hotel, where they have their own landing stage and sun loungers, chairs and tables for guests to use.
The hotel grounds were very attractive with beautiful flowers everywhere. The distance to Stressa was not a problem as the hotel had a good reliable free shuttle service to and from the town.
We had a most enjoyable holiday and would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We would recommend a front lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UKSugden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We cannot rate this hotel highly enough. The friendliness of the staff and the food was excellent. Candle-lit dinners taken on the terrace every night looking over the lake was so romantic. The only downside was the road into Stresa for about 300 yards was quite dangerous to walk on and there is no proper pavement. The hotel does provides a courtesy car about six times a day into Stresa. Even so, this was a dream holiday and would have no trouble in recommending this hotel. The wine list was a bit pricey though.

Room Tip: If possible choose a lakeside room, but the side lakeside rooms are equally as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brenda e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaenavon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We have just returned from the Hotel Villa e Palazzo Aminta. We highly recommend the hotel with regard to the friendly and courteous way we were treated by all the staff who made our stay so memorable. The hotel has fantastic views overlooking the lake and one of our many pleasurable experiences was to enjoy a glass of wine on the terrace at dusk looking at the twinkling lights of the Borromean Islands. We highly recommend you stay at this hotel if you plan on a visit to this area.

Room Tip: A lake view is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Draw725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stresa
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees
1.0 mi away
La Palma Hotel
La Palma Hotel
#2 of 35 in Stresa
1,253 reviews
1.1 mi away
Regina Palace
Regina Palace
#5 of 35 in Stresa
1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Milan Speranza Au Lac
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol
Grand Hotel Bristol
#8 of 35 in Stresa
966 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#2 of 15 in Baveno
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta

Property: Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta
Address: Via Sempione Nord 123, 28838, Stresa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Stresa
#3 Spa Hotel in Stresa
#7 Romantic Hotel in Stresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the shores of the Lake Maggiore, Villa & Palazzo Aminta is the luxury Resort where you can regenerate your body and soul by revealing authentic emotions in one of the most exclusive places of the world. The resort is located in the town of Stresa in the area with the luxuriant vegetation, overlooking the enchanting Borromean Gulf, is a refined jewel member of the Leading Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel e Palazzo Aminta
e Palazzo Aminta Stresa
Villa Aminta
Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta Stresa, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing