We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“"Ornate hotel in breathtaking setting"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Stresa
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“"Ornate hotel in breathtaking setting"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

This is a beautiful old hotel with wonderful furnishings. It is within walking distance of the shopping area in Stresa. It is on the Lake front with beautiful views over Lake Maggiore. The Reception staff were exellent and we had a most enjoyable stay. No wifi or coffee in the rooms though. Quiet at night and within walking distance of the ferry or boats to Isola Bella, Madré and Pescatori. Good restaurants in the town.

Room Tip: An upstairs room with a balcony gives access to the views of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannetjie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    821
    306
    113
    39
    18
See reviews for
184
740
37
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

This is a beautiful and elegant old world hotel. The rooms are good size for European standards, and are up to date. The bed could be better (a little too soft). Service is excellent. Right in front of the Lake and the Isola Bella.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobalTravelMan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
251 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

We booked the hotel sometime ago based on the reviews from trip advisor and the fact the hotel is located over the road from Lake Maggiore.
Our check in was efficient and then we were told that we had been upgraded to a Royal suite which has views across the lake, we were shown to our suite which comprised of a good sized bathroom with shower over bath and double washbasins. The bed king sized very comfortable and beautiful white sheets, the bedroom was a very good size , the entry to the suite has as storage room and change area this also houses the safe and hanging space for clothes. off the bedroom was a very good sized lounge with very comfortable lounge suite, the is a writing desk and also a second TV the first one is located in the bedroom.
Breakfast is served in a beautiful dining room on the ground floor and the choices for breakfast are excellent in terms of hot and cold foods, yoghurt fruits etc.
how could I forget to mention? Off the suite is a balcony with two French doors and the view across the lake and mountains is amazing, we both love photography so the balcony was good to capture the images of the lake and the mountains which were snow capped!
The gardens in which the hotel is located is superb and beautiful given its spring is full of colour the gardens are perfectly maintained and it is worth spending time having a relaxing walk along the paths in the gardens.
Importantly the hotel is quiet though on a amazing road traffic nose is minimal mainly due to double glazing! We ate in the hotel restaurant as it was Easter we opted for the Easter lunch a set menus which was superb, the service was excellent!
Isola Bella is seen from the hotel and is accessed by a short 5 to 7 minute ferry ride from the jetty in front of the hotel, the ferries run about every 10 minutes to various islands on the lake.
There are excellent walks that can be taken along the lake on very good paths and shops are located a short walk from the hotel.
What can I say this hotel has the wow factor the interior of the hotel is beautiful and chandeliers adorn many of the areas of the hotel, we had two in our suite!!
Highly recommend the hotel if you are planning a stay in Stresa!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank tasannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

Have just returned from a week at the hotel. There was a quite reasonable deal on Expedia for a garden view room so decided to go for this 5 star option. Good location a short stroll from Stresa along the promenade. We were upgraded to a lake view room which was a nice surprise as the views across the lake to the alps are really something. The hotel is extremely clean and comfortable and breakfast was excellent - we were very lucky with the weather so enjoyed eating it out on the terrace several mornings. The staff can't do enough to help you. The only shame is the quite busy road that separates the hotel from the lake but the same applies to all the hotels along this stretch. A shame the town planners didn't take the road round the back of town by the railway. Still, we slept like babies so no fault of the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CharlesAt2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

Just Check-Out today after 3 Nights in this Hotel and Just want to Check-In again. This Hotel is a Real 5 Star and their Staff can be Rated as well. The View, The Excellent Condition of this Property, Restaurant etc. are simply out if this World. Its location right in Front of Lake Maggiore and the 3 Islands, plus the Snow Covered Mountains makes a Breathtaking View. Congratulations and keep the Excellent Job!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Reinaldo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yerevan
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

Very very good hotel!!! But unfortunately its best times have gone. Cannot say excellent as for the hotel 5*lusso (luxuary) ther were some details which have spoiled the overall impression.
1) During three nights stay I could not manage them to leave the ash tree on the table on the balcony instead of bringing it inside.
2) very difficult to turn on TV and choose canal wanted to look.
3) Dirty water when we first etnetered as there were almost no other guests.
4) No free internet in rooms and very bad and difficultly connected one in lobby
5) During the dinner I had to give back pasta and fish dish, as they were not eatable: pasta cherry sauce was too fluid and was not tasty, fish was without any grain of salt, but vegetables and the sauce were great.
6) My spoon was spoiled with a stain and was not shining as others on the table.
7) Along with experienced service stuff there were some which were starting and had to be studied before being allowed to serve in such a hotel and restaurant. Once we were asked twice
what coffee we prefer at the breakfast another time they brought coffee right at the beginning of the breakfast.
8) furniture needed to be repaired, lights in the room were not working correctly.

I would like to mention once more: all these are details which are to be correct in a 5* hotel and just make the hotel very very good instead of making it perfetto!!!

All the rest was excellent and I would like to come back especially with hope to see all those bad details recovered!
Great hotel, helpful staff, great location and park, real old fashioned atmosphere!
Unfortunately has it best times in past............

Room Tip: Take anly lake wiev rooms! It is ucomparable with those to gasrden wiev.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank armtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

We loved our week here, although we've never been photographed by so many tourists while sitting on a hotel balcony - this place is seriously photogenic. If your taste runs to marble, stained glass, potted palms and marquetry doors, this is the place for you. It's a truly beautiful environment, with slick, professional, friendly staff, and the housekeeping of our third-floor, lake-view room was exceptional. Breakfast, with its whole leg of parma ham and side of smoked salmon to help yourself to, was outstanding, with an excellent selection of gluten-free items on request. We only ate dinner once in the restaurant, which we felt was rather overpriced, but breakfast alone kept us going for most of the rest of the day. Our only gripes concerned the lack of WiFi in the rooms; an iron and some sort of tea/coffee making equipment would also have been welcome. But we enjoyed using such a beautiful place as our base to explore Stresa: it was a privilege to stay here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Serlianna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stresa
0.2 mi away
La Palma Hotel
La Palma Hotel
#2 of 36 in Stresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,174 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta
0.3 mi away
Regina Palace
Regina Palace
#7 of 36 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol
Grand Hotel Bristol
#9 of 36 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
0.4 mi away
Milan Speranza Au Lac
Milan Speranza Au Lac
#6 of 36 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#2 of 15 in Baveno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees

Property: Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees
Address: Corso Umberto I, 67, 28838, Stresa, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Stresa
#1 Spa Hotel in Stresa
#4 Family Hotel in Stresa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Stresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxe and tradition; since 1863 the Grand Hotel des Iles Borromees is the place to stay while visiting the Maggiore Lake area. The builing, the public areas and the rooms feature all modern conforts while still keeping the same belle epoque atmosphere. The park is decorated with statues, fountains and rare plants and the view from the rooms and the restaurant is spectacular. The Medical SPA of the Grand Hotel des Iles Borromees is one of the first in Italy and can offer aesthetic treatments combined with a personalized diet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Stresa
Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees Stresa, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing