We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, Excellent, Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel des Iles Borromees & SPA
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Stresa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Just Check-Out today after 3 Nights in this Hotel and Just want to Check-In again. This Hotel is a Real 5 Star and their Staff can be Rated as well. The View, The Excellent Condition of this Property, Restaurant etc. are simply out if this World. Its location right in Front of Lake Maggiore and the 3 Islands, plus the Snow Covered Mountains makes a Breathtaking View. Congratulations and keep the Excellent Job!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
3  Thank Reinaldo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,626)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

490 - 496 of 1,626 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2014

Very very good hotel!!! But unfortunately its best times have gone. Cannot say excellent as for the hotel 5*lusso (luxuary) ther were some details which have spoiled the overall impression.
1) During three nights stay I could not manage them to leave the ash tree on the table on the balcony instead of bringing it inside.
2) very difficult to turn on TV and choose canal wanted to look.
3) Dirty water when we first etnetered as there were almost no other guests.
4) No free internet in rooms and very bad and difficultly connected one in lobby
5) During the dinner I had to give back pasta and fish dish, as they were not eatable: pasta cherry sauce was too fluid and was not tasty, fish was without any grain of salt, but vegetables and the sauce were great.
6) My spoon was spoiled with a stain and was not shining as others on the table.
7) Along with experienced service stuff there were some which were starting and had to be studied before being allowed to serve in such a hotel and restaurant. Once we were asked twice
what coffee we prefer at the breakfast another time they brought coffee right at the beginning of the breakfast.
8) furniture needed to be repaired, lights in the room were not working correctly.

I would like to mention once more: all these are details which are to be correct in a 5* hotel and just make the hotel very very good instead of making it perfetto!!!

All the rest was excellent and I would like to come back especially with hope to see all those bad details recovered!
Great hotel, helpful staff, great location and park, real old fashioned atmosphere!
Unfortunately has it best times in past............

Room Tip: Take anly lake wiev rooms! It is ucomparable with those to gasrden wiev.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank armtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We loved our week here, although we've never been photographed by so many tourists while sitting on a hotel balcony - this place is seriously photogenic. If your taste runs to marble, stained glass, potted palms and marquetry doors, this is the place for you. It's a truly beautiful environment, with slick, professional, friendly staff, and the housekeeping of our third-floor, lake-view room was exceptional. Breakfast, with its whole leg of parma ham and side of smoked salmon to help yourself to, was outstanding, with an excellent selection of gluten-free items on request. We only ate dinner once in the restaurant, which we felt was rather overpriced, but breakfast alone kept us going for most of the rest of the day. Our only gripes concerned the lack of WiFi in the rooms; an iron and some sort of tea/coffee making equipment would also have been welcome. But we enjoyed using such a beautiful place as our base to explore Stresa: it was a privilege to stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Serlianna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Our stay at this hotel was very enjoyable. Our room was very comfortable and the decor felt like old European. I loved the location of our room which was on the third floor overlooking the lake. We were on a walking trip and did not spend a lot of time at the hotel but found it to be enjoyable while we were there. My main complaint is that they charge for internet access. For the prices they charge, it should be included. You can sit near the reception desk and get free wifi but nowhere else. The meals in the dining room were delicious.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

This hotel is amazing expensive but worth it the views were amazing staff were very hostile people kept taking pictures of the hotel witch was kool. I would defo go again. Great things to do pool quite cold though gardens good not a lot of kids but they love them amazing view of the island. Oh and this really kool kinda water show happens every hour with lights going up representing each country and a little song. Gardens good. Quite a lot of famouse people stayed there
.george collney
.queens sister
Etc

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Summer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

The building is extremely grand, living up to its name, with wonderful interiors and our room was very well appointed. Staff were generally very helpful. We only had breakfasts, the dinners appeared to be a bit pricey, and these were ok, nothing special. One gripe, wifi was not free and at €7 for a reasonable speed, not cheap. A hotel of this stature should be offering free wifi in my opinion.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Robin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

My favorite hotels are kind of old-fashioned. But this place was a little bit past it's prime in a not-good way. Both the hotel and the surrounding area. It obviously used to be really happening, but it's not now. My companion compared the area to the Catskills. Now that air travel is cheap, why would you go to nearby mountains in the summer if you can fly from Milan to a beach? We were there off-season, but we knew that and my comments are taking this into consideration.

That said, it was still very nice. The grounds are very nice and the location was good. The room was nice, but not spectacular. We had bad luck with the weather and I would definitely return to explore the area a little more if given the opportunity. And I would probably choose to stay here.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janedoe2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stresa hotels
0.2 mi away
Regina Palace
Regina Palace
#6 of 35 in Stresa
1,444 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Palma Hotel
La Palma Hotel
#3 of 35 in Stresa
1,379 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Fontana
Hotel Fontana
#11 of 35 in Stresa
359 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#4 of 35 in Stresa
401 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol
Grand Hotel Bristol
#10 of 35 in Stresa
1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel des Iles Borromees & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel des Iles Borromees & SPA

Address: Corso Umberto I, 67, 28838, Stresa, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Stresa
#1 Spa Hotel in Stresa
#3 Family Hotel in Stresa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Stresa
Price Range: $204 - $446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel des Iles Borromees & SPA 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxe and tradition; since 1863 the Grand Hotel des Iles Borromees is the place to stay while visiting the Maggiore Lake area. The builing, the public areas and the rooms feature all modern conforts while still keeping the same belle epoque atmosphere. The park is decorated with statues, fountains and rare plants and the view from the rooms and the restaurant is spectacular. The Medical SPA of the Grand Hotel des Iles Borromees is one of the first in Italy and can offer aesthetic treatments combined with a personalized diet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Hotel des Iles Borromees & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Stresa
Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees & SPA Stresa, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing