We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel, Old-world Charm!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Stresa
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, Old-world Charm!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

From the moment of check-in, we knew we would love our stay at the Grand Hotel Des Illes Borromees. The front desk staff were more than charming, taking us on a tour of the impressively decorated hotel, our standard room had a stunning balcony overlooking the fountain & our restaurant dining experience was excellent!

Ernest Hemingway stayed here, and loved it so much he included it in his book Farewell to Arms, we also couldn't help but fall in love with the charm & romance of this beautiful hotel.

Room Tip: Request the garden view room with balcony overlooking the fountain, we stayed on the lower level and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elle_B_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    850
    313
    113
    39
    18
See reviews for
188
759
37
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Level Contributor
121 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Great hotel. Stayed 8nights in September. Second stay at this hotel. Will return next May. Staff well trained and always helpfull. Buffet breakfast on the terrace is a great way to start the day. Town is only a short walk.





Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bergen, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed at this beautiful hotel as part of our Perillo tour. I had to pinch myself when we pulled up to this hotel. Everything about this hotel is perfect. Our room which faced Lake Maggiore had a small balcony with a table and two chairs. The view of the lake, islands and Alps was breathtaking! The room, bathroom and closet was perfectly appointed. A bit over the top in decor but it goes with the design of the hotel. Very clean room and hotel.
The food was delicious and the staff was helpful and professional.
I cannot wait to come back to Stresa for a longer visit! Nice walk to a wonderful town with good restaurants and shopping. Picture perfect!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Ok, this place is "over the top" with decor, but the service is fantastic. We brought a large group to the hotel for a business trip (63 people). Everyone raved about the hotel, service, location. Couldn't have been handled better. Only wish we had more time in Stresa and at the hotel.

Room Tip: Pay for the lake view or request one of the non-lake view "end" rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 12TimesPlus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Such a beautiful hotel overlooking the lake! The service is very kind and friendly and the view from the rooms is stunning. So much to see and visit around the hotel and the food is delicious. Thanks to Egoistevents concierge for recommending. Definitely will be coming back next summer!

Room Tip: Lake view rooms have a stunning view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liliana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

A Grand Hotel with an attentive staff. The Hotel is well appointed with grounds that are attractive and well attended. Easy walking distance to shopping area with a wide selection of small shops. The view from our room was that of Lake Majoire and several small islands, very nice and very relaxing. Breakfast was served buffet style with a varied selection of cereal, pastries, scrambled egss and bacon that was actually cooked. The evening meal at this location was very good with service to match. Of the various hotels on this trip Grand Hotel Del Iles Borromees stood head and shoulders above the others.

Room Tip: Some balconies are large enough to have a table and two chairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WoodytheHawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldwick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
105 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in early September. We had a waterfront room. If you are going to the lakes, a luxury hotel and waterfront room are a big part of the overall experience.

The room was very nice. The view was great. Look over the lake and Isobella. Breakfast was very good and relaxing.

The hotel is full of antiques and artifacts...on every wall. Very nice to tour and see.

The hotel is a ten minute walk from the ferry and start of town. Walk down a lovely promenade.
Easy to get to the ferry to the local sights quickly. Don't forget to ask for the senior citizen rate weekdays. Need proof but seldom checked.

Only complaint: free wifi only in the lobby right next to reception. For the price of the room, cover the whole lobby....at least.....and the rooms as in other Grand Hotels we stayed in.

Stresa ia a charming town with many good restautants. Best...Il Vocelleto, then Pizza Nonna. Aviod La Botte tourist trap.

Room Tip: Water front.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben There S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stresa hotels
0.2 mi away
La Palma Hotel
La Palma Hotel
#2 of 35 in Stresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
0.3 mi away
Regina Palace
Regina Palace
#5 of 35 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Milan Speranza Au Lac
Milan Speranza Au Lac
#4 of 35 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Fontana
Hotel Fontana
#13 of 35 in Stresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol
Grand Hotel Bristol
#8 of 35 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees

Property: Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees
Address: Corso Umberto I, 67, 28838, Stresa, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Stresa
#1 Spa Hotel in Stresa
#4 Family Hotel in Stresa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Stresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxe and tradition; since 1863 the Grand Hotel des Iles Borromees is the place to stay while visiting the Maggiore Lake area. The builing, the public areas and the rooms feature all modern conforts while still keeping the same belle epoque atmosphere. The park is decorated with statues, fountains and rare plants and the view from the rooms and the restaurant is spectacular. The Medical SPA of the Grand Hotel des Iles Borromees is one of the first in Italy and can offer aesthetic treatments combined with a personalized diet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Stresa
Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees Stresa, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing