We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad place to wake up”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Stresa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We didn't expect to stay here, we had reservations at a nearby hotel which informed us upon arrival that they could not honor our reservation and they had booked us at the Grand Hotel. The staff at the Grand took excellent care of us and gave us a lake facing room on an upper floor.

Room was spacious and very well maintained.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,568)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

553 - 559 of 1,568 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2012

My wife and I visited here in August as the first stop on our honeymoon. We wanted a quiet room and were given a room on an upper floor (6) facing the mountain. It was very restful, clean and stylish. The reception was warm and the Maitre'D is a very kindhearted, gentle and knowledgeable man. We made a point to rise early for breakfast. The terrace tables were open air and looked out on the gardens and lake. This was the best breakfast selection we saw in all of Italy. The selection include lox, prosciutto, cold sausages, local cheeses, hot eggs, bacon, hot sausages, breads, pastries, etc.

Other pluses: we are fairly athletic and one day hiked up to the top of Mont Mattarone. The hotel's gym was well appointed and supported some good workouts; and, the pool was clean and large to be able to swim laps. The Village of Stresa is a gem: many shops, restaurants, cafes, gelato shops, a grocery store, banks and other attractions. I was nice to be able to walk the 3 blocks into town. The prices were quite reasonable for both food, clothing, shoes and artwork.

Cons: The only cons are that the bathroom is smallish due to the age of the hotel and it is challenging for two people to get ready together.

We doubt you will be disappointed by a stay at this hotel - - we will always have fond memories of it!!

Room Tip: The rooms on the mountainside, on an upper floor, with a terrace are very nice!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TJBII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We loved the hotel - it is rich in art, cuisine and history. The grounds are exquisite and very well maintained as is the hotel. Very beautiful hotel. The rooms were lovely and comfortable but the airconditioning could have been a little cooler but we were there during unusually high temperatures. The hotel is located across the street from the lake with magnificent views of the islands, mountains and lakeside villages. The landscaping is unbelievable - vibrant flowers, beautiful scupltures and lovely fountains and ponds. We loved this hotel and our only complaint is the service could be a little distant and slow. You definelty want to take a boat ride to visit the estates on the private islands that are open to tour.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a room with a lakeside view. Our room was very quiet and we enjoyed the view ve...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CThrasherUsher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Old, fashionable hotel with style and atmosphere from another century. the hotel is situated close to the lake in a very nice neighbourhood. Wonderful room, with a private terrasse. Exclusive and oozing of richness. A grand wonderful garden.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a privater terrasse
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NenneMor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

As you step into the ornate lobby, you feel transported back to a time of elegance in travel. It was easy to imagine entourages arriving with trunks of fancy clothes for an extended stay at this beautiful hotel in a magical setting. We chose the water view suites for our three night stay. The sunrise views from the balcony were incredible as were the views of the islands, lake, and mountains. Breakfast buffet was excellent and the decor of all the common areas was beautiful. Room was nicely appointed ... Only negative was the bed was very hard and pillows were thin. We woud definitely stay here again. We walked everywhere and never needed our car while in Stresa.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank jmocko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

My partner and I stayed here as the first stop on our Italian trip to Lakes. It was certainly an excellent beginning to a wonderful trip.The garden is charming and rooms are beautiful.
Cant wait to come back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Moniatrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I spent a wonderful few days in Stresa last November and we stayed at the Hotel Des Iles Borromees. What a wonderful hotel. Everyone treated us like royalty, from the chamber people to the concierge to the manager. The room was a beautiful suite, with a large terrace facing the lake and the well kept boulevard. The hotel has an amazing garden and we took advantage of the sunny days to enjoy walking there.
Overall, I would recommend this hotel to everyone. Not cheap, but worth every penny!

Room Tip: Get one facing the lake.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nedo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stresa hotels
0.2 mi away
Regina Palace
Regina Palace
#5 of 35 in Stresa
1,392 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta
0.1 mi away
La Palma Hotel
La Palma Hotel
#3 of 35 in Stresa
1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol
Grand Hotel Bristol
#11 of 35 in Stresa
1,060 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Milan Speranza Au Lac
0.2 mi away
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#10 of 35 in Stresa
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees

Address: Corso Umberto I, 67, 28838, Stresa, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Stresa
#1 Spa Hotel in Stresa
#4 Family Hotel in Stresa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Stresa
Price Range: $211 - $440 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxe and tradition; since 1863 the Grand Hotel des Iles Borromees is the place to stay while visiting the Maggiore Lake area. The builing, the public areas and the rooms feature all modern conforts while still keeping the same belle epoque atmosphere. The park is decorated with statues, fountains and rare plants and the view from the rooms and the restaurant is spectacular. The Medical SPA of the Grand Hotel des Iles Borromees is one of the first in Italy and can offer aesthetic treatments combined with a personalized diet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Stresa
Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees Stresa, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing