We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Albergo Ristorante Verbano
Ranked #14 of 35 Hotels in Stresa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Gorgeous place to have lunch- food was fantastic! We booked a table, so were sitting facing the Isola Bella, under a canopy of wisteria. The service was excellent and we had a fabulous Soave white wine, with our meal. One comment regarding the food was that the Carpaccio di Manzo used a smoked meat, and may not be to everyone's taste. We also booked a room at the Osteria upstairs. The room was fairly basic, but had everything one would need, and a very nice bathroom. We watched the sun set over Lago Maggiore and Isola Bella from the bed! The only downside of this restaurant is the need to pay for a boat to get there, if you're going at lunch. They have a shuttle boat put on for the dinner service. Call ahead to book, to ensure great view!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RMDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (291)
There are newer reviews for Albergo Ristorante Verbano
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 291 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2011

I stayed here last weekend with a friend it was lovely. A very friendly hotel that felt like someone's home, beautifully and thoughtfully furnished. Our room opened out onto a large terrace shared with 2 other rooms, but it was so large you still had privacy and the view was stunning. Breakfast was good, eaten on the lake view terrace. The only improvement would be air conditioning or a fan in the room as it was very very hot - that part of europe was in the grip of a heatwave. Isola Pescatori was lovely and peaceful especially after the day trippers had gone. We found a lovely bar and there were about 3 palces to choose from to eat in. If you stay in the area don't miss Villa Taranto - the dahlia walk was fabulous.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jbb24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

We were staying in Baveno and were recommended this restaurant by the Hotel Splendid staff. We were picked up by boat from Baveno dock and taken to the beautiful restaurant on Isola Pescatori, which overlooks either Isola Madre or Isola Bella depending on where you are seated.

The staff are very welcoming and the attention to detail is recommendable, with first class service. The menu and wine list are extensive, and the food is divine. My steak melted in my mouth and my wife love her fish too. 3 courses and wine cost 135 euros, not cheap but well worth the price for a special meal. The boat returned us to Baveno at 10.30pm, and is included in the meal price. A very romantic evening.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
Thank We_Love_Sun_Days
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2011

We spent some of our honeymoon at the Verbano, and it really is a very special place. Situated on the beautiful Isola Dei Pescatori, it is unlike anywhere else we've stayed before. We debated whether to stay in a five star hotel in Stresa or at the lower-rated Verbano, and definitely feel we made the right choice.

The rooms are perhaps a little on the basic side but ours was a reasonable size and comfortable enough. The bathroom too was not the best - we would have liked a shower in addition to the bath - but the balcony overlooking the lake and the Isola Bella more than made up for any inadequacies. The views were simply stunning.

Ideally we would have liked a swimming pool, but then you can't have everything. We made up for this by swimming around the island; not the best, but if you must swim it's not bad!

Perhaps the highlight of our stay at the Verbano, however, was the restaurant. We had planned to eat at the hotel our first night but then to eat elsewhere on subsequent nights. We actually ate every night bar one at the Verbano, since the food was simply brilliant. It was also just wonderful sitting out in the garden, surrounded on three sides by the lake.

The staff were cheerful, pleasant and helpful, and could not have done anymore to make us feel welcome.

Simply wonderful and highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank simonlucas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2010

We had the best lunch of our trip to Maggiore at this restaurant . The food was lovely and the service excellent. Would recommend it to anyone touring the Islands on Lake Maggiore.
Wonderful food eaten in a perfect setting.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank orfjara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2010

while in Stresa for my birthday party we came to Albergo Verbano for lunch 2 days excellent idealic setting

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carol j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2010

I have been to the Verbano 6 times and never before reviewed as I kept it to myself! However it goes from strength to strength and the food is better than ever, so I decided to share - they deserve it!

This is basically a (very good ) restaurant with rooms. Some rooms are definitely better than others, but all are comfortable, clean and basically furnished. It is not a luxury hotel but it is a very good restaurant. As always when something is very good for a long time it becomes well known and, busy. The location is also very busy, and touristy in the day ,but a quiet delight in the evening when it is residents and hotel guests only. The last tripper boats are away by 19.00.
The menu is quite expensive, but portions are a good size, presentation wonderful, service excellent (even when busy) and the views spectacular. The staff are multilingual and most helpful
If you are staying on the mainland they provide free evening boat connections, just ask when booking.
I shall go back, whenever I can.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GentlemanTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stresa hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#4 of 35 in Stresa
389 reviews
1.3 mi away
Regina Palace
Regina Palace
#5 of 35 in Stresa
1,391 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
La Palma Hotel
La Palma Hotel
#3 of 35 in Stresa
1,359 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta
1.4 mi away
Hotel Milan Speranza Au Lac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Ristorante Verbano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Ristorante Verbano

Address: Via Ugo Ara 2 | Isola Dei Pescatori, 28838, Stresa, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Stresa
Price Range: $121 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Ristorante Verbano 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Albergo Ristorante Verbano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Ristorante Verbano Stresa, Italy - Lake Maggiore
Albergo Ristorante Verbano Hotel Stresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing