We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top quality”

Ristorante Piemontese
Reserve with
Save up to 20% when you reserve online *
Ristorante Piemontese is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #37 of 111 Restaurants in Stresa
Price range: $39 - $67
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Top quality”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

If its high-end dining you want then this is the place. When you see the great and the good of Stresa eating there you know its wothwhile. The food is top class and the staff are knowledgeable, efficient and courteous. The wines are to die for. A top class restaurant.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Timothy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    90
    38
    13
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
245 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Classic Piedmont Cuisine in Quintessential Italian Setting”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

I am surprised to see the disparity in reviews of this restaurant. Our meal was classic in style with personal attention from the owner chef and his brother, the sommelier. There was a bit of a wait for the main course but one must understand that dishes are cooked to order
The brothers are reminiscent of the brothers in the movie "Big Night" (Primo and Secundo).
We enjoyed it and will be returning in September.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
103 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Horrible!”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

This restaurant was mentioned in the Rough Guidebook so we thought we would try it. To say that we were disappointed is an understatement.

We were seated and then forgotten about for at least 5 minutes – after which we were given the menus. We placed our orders and asked whether we should be ordering any side dishes with our main meal to which the waitress said that the meals were more than sufficient (there was no language barrier so that cannot be cited as a reason to the response).

A breadbasket containing stale bread was laid before us which we did not eat. I ordered the braised beef as my main – that was all that was on my plate – cuts of beef smothered in a very salty sauce. My partner ordered a pasta dish – how could you possibly go wrong with a pasta dish in Italy?? It was bland with no taste at all – neither of us finished our meals (or even put a dent in it!) and the plates were cleared with not even a mention of whether anything was wrong with the food. This place was not cheap, we had expected much better quality meals – we left feeling as hungry as we did when we arrived! Don’t waste your money here, go somewhere else.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank AwA123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait
Level Contributor
105 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Dont miss this restuarant”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

This must be one of many hidden gems of this part of Italy. I was able to enjoy a dining experience and was more than impressed. The place has a style of its own which is special. The ambience is lovely. It is classic "Italian" The quality of food is exceptional. The size of the serving is perfect and it is presented with pride and a degree of professionalism and artistic flair that is not be found easily. Well priced menue. Good selection of wines. Highly, highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Franzdorette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Elegant, great food, and friendly”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We were unable to get in on a Saturday night because we did not have a reservation so we requested a table for Sunday night and the restaurant had a lot of available tables. The staff and wine steward were very friendly and knowledgeable and the dining room was elegant. I wish I could recall what we ate, but it was memorable and we certainly would return. If you like good food and wine, this is a restaurant not to be missed and do make a reservation in advance, especially on the weekends.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank AMR173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Piemontese also viewed

Stresa, Lake Maggiore
Stresa, Lake Maggiore
 
Stresa, Lake Maggiore
 
Stresa, Lake Maggiore
 

Been to Ristorante Piemontese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing