We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food - great for local seafood” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ca'Mea

Hotel Ca'Mea
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Ca'Mea
Ranked #22 of 24 Stresa B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Excellent food - great for local seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel next door for two nights and on our second night popped in here for dinner. We chose one appetizer and two mains to share between two of us - we could have stuck with sharing just the entree and main, the portions are very large. The appetizer was of hot and cold seafood, an amazing pot of mussels, pipis and delicious tomato based sauce, along with cold (but not rubbery) calamari, anchovies and other cooked but cold fish. Really delicious. For second we ordered a tagliatelli with scallops and mushrooms, and our final dish (unfinished!) was whitebait fried with a tomato and rocket salad. Really good. The wine is very reasonably priced and your table has the most amazing view across the lake. Highly recommend it to fish lovers. The people on the table beside ours had pizza whih looked good too - crisp and flaky base with plenty of topping.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SparkieSparkler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    6
    8
    2
    7
See reviews for
3
10
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

Supposedly we stayed in a superior room, when we were at Ca`Mea.. welll if that is superior I will eat my hat.
The paint was coming off the Radiator, which was never on. The pillow on the bed was as flat as a pancake, and rock hard. We asked for extra pillows, and in fact they did bring them, but personally I cannot beleive that they presented a room with such awful bedding!

Additionally the door to the bathroom did not open properly, as the door had "dropped" or the tiling on the floor was too high.
The Shower tray filled up as the water did not drain away properly so one could not have a long shower.. well more than 5 minutes at least!!
The noise in the hotel was awful, you could hear everything in our room, from the staff making coffee in the machine downstairs in the bar, to the noise from the bar and restaurant late into the night.. Saturday night only became quiet around 1am!!
When we asked at 6:40 pm if we coudl get a quick snack or bite to eat we were told a firm NO, the restaurant did not open until 7:30, so that was that.
Also, breakfast which cost EUR5 each, although not crazy prices, for what you got was well expensive, a few pieces of biscotte, orange juice that was in fact orange squash, a stale crosissant and a slice of jam tart... not exactly great fare, however the coffee was nice, that was the best bit of the breakfast!
All in all I would only choose this hotel if there was no where else to stay in the area..... I would not go back!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WWtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Stresa hotels

Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

The rooms are small, rather old fashioned. Our bathroom was not exactly in functioning order, the shower had to be hand held as it did not hold up anymore. It was not all that clean! The 3rd bed in the room was impossible to sleep in, very uncomfortable and noisy. We had the view of the parking, they said all the 3 bed-rooms had no view, only the doubles. The food in the restaurant of the hotel was different, not the best. We were a few of us, we had gone there for the downhill, no one was too impressed.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Competa, Spain
Level Contributor
110 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2012

The small hotel is in a beautiful position with wonderful views of the lake.
The staff are extremely helpful and friendly.
We had a lovely dinner in the hotel during our visit but it was disappointing that they didn't have any ice for our drinks!
Great to have free parking too.

Room Tip: I would always ask for a room with a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cindyjones19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

Rooms are small, clean, a little old fashioned. Sleeping quality is not great (mattress), staff mostly very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank authentic55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stresa hotels
0.7 mi away
Mon Toc
Mon Toc
#34 of 35 in Stresa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Elena
Hotel Elena
#15 of 35 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Luina
Hotel Luina
#24 of 35 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Milan Speranza Au Lac
Milan Speranza Au Lac
#4 of 35 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Giardinetto Guesthouse
0.5 mi away
Bed & Breakfast Gli Oleandri
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ca'Mea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ca'Mea

Property: Hotel Ca'Mea
Address: Via Sempione Sud 46/a, 28838, Stresa, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Stresa
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Ca'Mea 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Ca'Mea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ca'Mea Stresa, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing