We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Book direct with the owner”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Isole

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Isole
Ranked #9 of 24 Stresa B&B and Inns
Saratoga Springs,Ny
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Book direct with the owner”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Make sure you don’t get “The Expedia Room”. This is what happens if you don’t book direct with the owners, and use a booking service e.g. Expedia,Booking.com,etc..
If we had booked direct, we would have paid 70 Euro and received breakfast, rather than 99 and no breakfast. Also, we were a bit surprised when we were shown our room. It was not the same as had been pictured on the website. (Interesting feature- the bathroom shower stall included the toilet and bidet –handy, I guess!) The room was called “the apartment” and was reserved for non-direct bookings. The owners explained that this was due to the high cost charged to them for listing with Expedia. It was, however, clean and reasonably comfortable. We did have a view of the lake, although it was blocked by cars parked in front of our window. It was a bit cold and we received an extra blanket, which resolved that problem. The other rooms upstairs looked lovely, and had spectacular views.
Because of the location, we weren’t able to walk into Stresa, which would have been convenient. If you don’t have a car, or you don’t like to drive on scary mountain roads at night, try someplace closer to the heart of Stresa or Baveno.
That being said, the proprietors, Ermano and Lucy were very nice, and tried very hard to make our stay pleasant. Ermano arranged for discounted boat transportation and lunch reservations for us at a quaint restaurant on Isola dei Pescatori (Chez Manuel) which was charming. We also ate at a great restaurant “La Rampolina”- quite possibly the best meal of our vacation, which was a short walk from the B+B.

Room Tip: ask for the front facing room -spectacular view of Lake Maggiore
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    22
    2
    10
    5
See reviews for
22
43
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Clemmons, NC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Okay,,,maybe I am a spoiled American and I'm okay with that! We stayed in apartments and local inn throughout our stay in italy and nothing disappointed us more that this B&B. We paid 100 euro per room for our stay and yes the view were AMAZING!!! However, the B&B lacks coziness and quite frankly its just not comfortable. My husband and I were put down in the lower level "luxury apartment" which was blocked off d/t the off season. Our room was freezing and there was no way to adjust your temperature. I suppose only if the owners felt it was cold could you have heat. Our bathroom had a huge amazing whirlpool tub but the side of it was littered with cleaning supplies and brooms. The water that morning in the shower was not even close to hot and had I not already committed I just would not have showered at all. The staircases housed a vaccuum cleaner and more cleaning supplies. Our bed was literally a springy very uncomfortable mattress on a fold out spring frame. My mom and by brothers room was slightly better. It was a tad warmer which enabled us to steal their extra blankets from their room. They did however have a garden room which did house the best views. The breakfast was okay just prepackaged stuff including the coffee. The owner did not speak much english but his wife did which was nice. They did however suggest a local restaurant to us which was the best meal we had all trip! So great views and food suggestions...everything else....not so much.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank hawksa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bebleisole, Proprietario at Le Isole, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Google Translation
Salve siamo molto dispiaciuti quando un cliente si trova male ma devo dire che le lamentele sono a nostro avviso molto esagerate l'appartamento luxury è fantastico sia come finiture che come arredamento potete verificarlo nel nostro sito la camera garden dove era l'altra coppia di clienti ha uno stupendo terrazzo vista lago arredato un bagno grande e tutti i confort anche qui verificabile sul nostro sito. Per quanto riguarda le colazioni è una scelta di garanzia usare prodotti di alta qualità ma confezionati a tutela degli stessi clienti anche le colazioni sono complete e anche queste visibili nel nostro sito.Le temperature in questo periodo sono di 20 25 gradi tra notte e giorno quindi come spiegato ai clienti il riscaldamento non parte certo che se si vuole fare la sauna non è incluso nei servizi offerti.RingraziandoVi comunque per aver dato il vostro giudizio speriamo in altra occasione di farvi cambiare idea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffern, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

A wonderful location. Great hosts. We will return! All the comforts of home!
Rooms are spacious with great views of the lake.
Convenient to Stezza. Great restaurant La Rammpollina within walking distance.
Great recommendation made by owners. We were treated like family!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eleanor7771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We were impressed with the way Ermano and Lucy made us feel at home. They even helped us get reservations at a quaint restaurant in Isole Pescatori . The room and breakfast was pretty standard. But the view of the lake was phenomenal. I would suggest asking them for a room with the same breathtaking view. All in all a very cosy experience

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHange188113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This was the first time in ten years my wife and I took a vacations sence having kids when we got there the host Lucy was fantastic very nice and spoke English very well wich was very helpfull for us we stayed in the romantic room the view was amazing so beautiful my wife was breathless the room was great so clean and neat very comfortable felt like I was at home in the morning the bbreakfest was great and espresso was very good Lucy help us find restraints very close to the b&b wich had amazing food the hole trip was great we are planning to go back very soon maybe stay longer

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jjones51981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We've traveled the world and stayed in many B&Bs over the years. Lucy and Ermanno, the hosts and owners of Le Isole, will forever stay in our minds as the most gracious, friendliest and warmest people. Saying that they had made us feel like at home is not saying enough. Yes, their accommodations are great, with unsurpassed views. Yes, their communications before and during the stay is excellent. Yes, the place is spotless. Yes, sleep quality is good - all the things one would expect from a good establishment. But it's the personal touch, the caring and genuine interest in you, the guest, which makes this B&B a paradigm.
Thank you Lucy and Ermanno for your kindness and generosity. We love you.

Sofia and Abraham Koren

Seattle, U.S.A.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krasivo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed April 1, 2011

The owners were very helpful at communicating with us in English about staying there. They even agreed to pick us up at the train station. We ended up finding a closer hotel to a train station, however and didn't get a chance to try out this charming looking place.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sundiego2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stresa hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel La Locanda
Hotel La Locanda
#13 of 35 in Stresa
219 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#9 of 35 in Stresa
264 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Milan Speranza Au Lac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Primavera Hotel
Primavera Hotel
#27 of 35 in Stresa
226 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Lido La Perla Nera
1.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Isole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Isole

Property: Le Isole
Address: Via Per Campino 8 | 500mt Prima Del Paese Di Campino, 28838, Stresa, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Stresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Isole 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The B & B "ISLANDS", immersed in an enchanting atmosphere, away from the stress and maximum tranquility of our gardens, is pleased to welcome you for a fabulous stay. We have two cozy studio apartments equipped with all the necessary amenities for a relaxing stay and two bedroom "suite" and "garden" with breakfast service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. and Booking.com so you can book your Le Isole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Isole Stresa, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing