We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stop in and enjoy” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of AL Buscion

AL Buscion
Ranked #15 of 108 Restaurants in Stresa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $22
Cuisines: Italian, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Drinks, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Stop in and enjoy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Stopped in for after dinner drinks and desserts… charming manager, excellent service, good bevs and ice cream. Menu of plates mostly starters looked very good… would recommend and revisit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank espritcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    125
    29
    12
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Any reason to not give this place 5 stars / some Stresa advice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

We came across this wine bar 6 months ago, liked it a lot and decided to spend plenty of time at Massimo's this weekend. As some of us enjoy good beers, we mailed them in advance and asked for a specific beer. In spite of being wine people they made us very happy granting our wish!
Looking at the reviews here, they provide a good description of the place. Thinking about it, I can't find any reason to not give them 5 out of 5 points. As cigar smokers we enjoy the outdoor area of course.
Thanks again for another lovely stay!

While not staying at Al Buscion, consider spending three hours at Isola Bella with a lunch at Ristorante Elvezia after the 13 Euro castle visit. The Grand Hotel Iles des Borromees is a true 5-star hotel while the 2 star Michelin restaurant Piccolo Lago does not deserve its 2 stars.
We highly recommend Il Viccolo, however they are very popular so order in advance. For a quick decent meal, you do ok at Ristorante Centrale. That is, if you are tired of the excellent ham and cheese and Barolos at Massimos...

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Olecigar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Most welcoming place in Stresa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

We arrived in Stresa on a dull October day,found most restaurants closed or closing. Chanced upon the wine bar. We were greeting with a wonderful welcome from. Mossimo who advised us which was the best wine to cheer us up on a dismal evening.
Returned a couple of times afterwards and sampled the freshly served platters of meat and cheese. Barbara was really informative about the wines on offer. Probably the most welcoming place in Stresa.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 305barbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best bar in Stresa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

This wine bar is open all year round and sells itself as a 'wine shop and tasting'. Wine by the glass is inexpensive and the owner has a real passion for it. They also make the best cup of tea in town. Food is only really snacks, but they do a mean cheese board. This place is a must for any visitor.

Helpful?
2 Thank pdgsomkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Park, NY
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“The "Cheers" of Stresa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Great wine and good prices. it was so enjoyable to come here in the evening and enjoy a glass of wine. We had panini's too one night and they were very good. We made sure we stopped here every night during our visit to Stresa. The servers were very good at making suggestions. A must for any Stresa visitor!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bellaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed AL Buscion also viewed

Stresa, Lake Maggiore
Stresa, Lake Maggiore
 
Stresa, Lake Maggiore
 

Been to AL Buscion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing