We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Great view

What a fantastic view after going up the cable car and then the chair lift. You can see for miles... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
12817travelers
,
Marlboro, New Jersey
Amazing Views!

The cable car travels up to the heights in about 20 minutes. You stand. On ours there were four men... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Stuart A
,
Lydbrook, United Kingdom
Read all 1,125 reviews
  
Reviews (1,125)
Filter reviews
725 results
Traveler rating
306
251
88
21
59
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
306
251
88
21
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chair lift cable car ski lift half way alpine garden fantastic views well worth the trip included in the price mountain top first stop toboggan ride at lunchtime lake maggiore great ride sunny day botanical gardens great fun
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 725 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago

What a fantastic view after going up the cable car and then the chair lift. You can see for miles and miles as you look over the lake on one side and over the ski areas on the other side.

Thank 12817travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The cable car ride was a special treat, no waiting, easy access and the views were spectacular. We also took the chair lift for even more spectacular scenery. Nice little café to sit and enjoy the mountains and lake views.

Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We went there with our 3YO baby. She loved the cable car, the view was fantastic while the cable car was going to the top o Mottarone.
The chair as well is fantastic, we enjoyed each moment there and the view as well.

Thank Sara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Well worth a visit to the top of the mountain for fantastic views, a nice cafe serving coffee but not all of the restaurants were open, alpine garden was closed until April 2019 so don’t get off half way up to see this

Thank jules16_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This was a great cable car. The views were spectacular. Don’t forget to take the chair lift. It was included in the price. We had taken two other funiculars while on our trip, one in Lugano Switzerland and the other in Como. This was the best one!

1  Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were the first on the cable car on a cold September morning. We went all the way to the top and the temperature felt about 3 degrees. There wasn't anything to do at the top. No cafe open and the views were not great as it was so misty. We decided to walk back down to Stresa. Not really a great walk. It was very woody, there were many people with baskets collecting mushrooms in the woods. As we walked down the mountain the weather cleared but there were so many trees that there were hardly any places where you could get a good view. A lot of the track is cobblestones so not great unless you are wearing proper walking shoes (which we were), and some of the paths were not well marked. Overall it took us around three and a half hours at a reasonable pace to walk down but I wouldn't really recommend it.

Thank TB2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The cable car travels up to the heights in about 20 minutes. You stand. On ours there were four men with mountain bikes, which actually made the ride a little less crowded. We took the ride up and then walked back down. Warning: if you decide to do this, ensure you have good walking shoes and plenty of water. The journey is steep, sometimes challenging and tkaes at least four hours, But it's worth it. The views on the way down are great and the forest through which you travel is a wonderful natural santuary. There's a tratoria at the top for those who want refreshment. And you can get aboard a chair lift to take you to the very top, if you don't want to walk those last few hundred yards. Mind you, the walk is definitley worth it.

1  Thank Stuart A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Loved the journey on cable car it had stunning views of the Islands and stresa didn’t take long great experience.

Thank nipsWrexham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2018 via mobile

Highly recommend this. Had fantastic views over the mountainous area of stresa. Glorious sunny day gave us an awesome views. Complete the chair lift up to the top as stunning views.

1  Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2018

very friendly staff and helpful, want you to enjoy the ride and panaroma views from the top. Cheild friendly also - encouraging kids to observe - the look on my wifes face when going over the edge decending the chair lift was priceless

Thank Mikepd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews