We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Albergo Sempione

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Albergo Sempione
Ranked #30 of 35 Hotels in Stresa
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
Reviewed August 30, 2014

We spent two nights here in August. The hotel in the center of Stresa two minutes from the boats, and the restaurants. Free public parking along the lake at the front. The rooms are dated, but very clean, quite large with comfortable beds, and the view from the balcony is fantastic. Breakfast is good enough to start a busy day. The staff is very nice and helpful. The maid must have noticed the towel my wife had put under her pillow, and added an extra pillow without being asked. Nice attention for a two star hotel. Overall very good budget hotel in a great location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a lake view from the 2nd floor up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Titou2510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    59
    48
    19
    11
See reviews for
39
68
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

I wanted a budget room with a view and that's what I got. The view from room is stunning. Room was dated but ok. First time I've seen material on walls as wallpaper. Bed was comfy and ceiling fan was much needed. Guy on reception was helpful. There is no parking facilities here and we were on motorbikes which we parked on pathway facing hotel. Breakfast wasn't worth having . Basic breads and cold coffee. Loved the experience of Strasa. Very good restaurant nxt door.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nzy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

Spent two nights here in June. Yes, the rooms are dated, but our room was clean and the view more than made up for the old decor. It was quite warm when we were there, and there is no air conditioning, but the ceiling fan made it bearable. And I came to Lake Maggiore for the views which this room certainly had!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vaughngirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014

The hotel in the center of Stresa right on the beach. We were lucky so view on the lake beach from room was wonderful! But these all good stuff. The room is small and bad decorated also it's old and dirty. Breakfast is nothing special. Bed is uncomfortable. And one terrible thing that in the morning a woman from cleaning service opened a door by her keys. She should check or bell before coming!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Svetlana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karratha, Australia
Level Contributor
192 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

The best part about this hotel is the view over the promenade to Lake Maggiore. The room was extremely small and very dated in furnishings. The bathroom was tiny, not clean and in extreme need of refurbishment. However it is conveniently located in the centre of Stresa (on the main street) and in walking distance to all shops as well as the ferries to the Borromeo Islands. Continental breakfast was included in the price, however the selection was not great.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the building are small but afford great views over the lake. The rooms at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Very welcoming staff, helpful and genuinely nice.

The view was perfect. The room is a bit small but that didnt bother us one bit. The bathroom could use a little refurbishment but was clean and quite functional. The only downside was that you have to wait 10 mins with the shower on for it to get hot.

Good breakfast, good location, good people, good rooms. Great for its price and good value for money !

Room Tip: Try to get a lake facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnvayDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
180 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

This was a great place to enjoy the beauty of Lake Maggiore, conveniently located within the lively town of Stresa and close to the ferries to the Borromeo Islands and Verbania.It is older, a bit "shabby chic," but an excellent value in a resort city. Our room was spacious, the sparkling-clean bathroom almost as large, and our little balcony over the lakefront was the perfect place to watch the sun rise in the morning and to sip a glass of Piedmont wine at night. The breakfast was better than average and the staff was the best part: very friendly, multilingual,and always eager to do anything possible to make our stay fun and memorable. We wish our 6 days could have been 12!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patandmaryjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stresa hotels
0.2 mi away
Primavera Hotel
Primavera Hotel
#27 of 35 in Stresa
226 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Elena
Hotel Elena
#15 of 35 in Stresa
234 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Luina
Hotel Luina
#25 of 35 in Stresa
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Locanda
Hotel La Locanda
#13 of 35 in Stresa
219 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Saini Meuble
Hotel Saini Meuble
#16 of 35 in Stresa
231 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ristorante "da Cesare"
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Sempione? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Sempione

Property: Albergo Sempione
Address: Corso Italia 46, 28838, Stresa, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 35 Hotels in Stresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Albergo Sempione 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the shores of Lake Maggiore, 'Albergo Sempione is an excellent solution for those who want to spend their holidays in this great town. Located a few meters from the center of Stresa is directly connected with the embarkation of the Borromeo Islands. The hotel have a classic design, has a junior suite, double / twin rooms overlooking the lake view rooms and family rooms solarium. The hotel also provides a wi-fi throughout the hotel, a varied breakfast buffet, served in our dining room or on the veranda, where the predominant view of the lake with the respective islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Albergo Sempione reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Sempione Stresa, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing