We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a view ! And great, great staff”
Review of Albergo Sempione

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Albergo Sempione
Ranked #31 of 35 Hotels in Stresa
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Very welcoming staff, helpful and genuinely nice.

The view was perfect. The room is a bit small but that didnt bother us one bit. The bathroom could use a little refurbishment but was clean and quite functional. The only downside was that you have to wait 10 mins with the shower on for it to get hot.

Good breakfast, good location, good people, good rooms. Great for its price and good value for money !

Room Tip: Try to get a lake facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnvayDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 178 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2013

This was a great place to enjoy the beauty of Lake Maggiore, conveniently located within the lively town of Stresa and close to the ferries to the Borromeo Islands and Verbania.It is older, a bit "shabby chic," but an excellent value in a resort city. Our room was spacious, the sparkling-clean bathroom almost as large, and our little balcony over the lakefront was the perfect place to watch the sun rise in the morning and to sip a glass of Piedmont wine at night. The breakfast was better than average and the staff was the best part: very friendly, multilingual,and always eager to do anything possible to make our stay fun and memorable. We wish our 6 days could have been 12!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patandmaryjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

First the positives the staff were very friendly and welcoming and the position of the hotel is excellent being right by the lake.
We had a room at the back of the hotel so our view was disappointing and the room was a little on the cramped side and a little tired to say the least!
The rooms are very hot in the height of the summer and would benefit from A/C, the carpets and general decoration in the hall ways have seen better days and it reminded me of bedsits.
Hate to be negative but you have to be honest.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alikitrypiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

It must be said that the staff were nice and very helpful, & that it was clean. However the rooms with a view of the lake overlook a busy road & so it's very noisy. The beds aren't comfortable (very soft matress which sags in the middle) & the breakfast was unacceptable (no toaster & instant coffee was served to us!!). Definitely doesn't deserve 2 stars.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shnucs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

This is a very dated hotel and it feels like you are going back in time 15 years ago. However, for the price and location we wouldn't have done it any different. You are on the water with lake views, steps away from the center of town and the rooms are clean enough. It does come with a basic breakfast which is nice. The hotel staff can't help much with making plans and asking questions but the tourist office is down the street. We stayed with our 2 young children and it was fine. Quiet, comfortable, and convenient.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Meredith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Was quite skeptical on our 2 nights of sleep in this hotel in Stresa (judging by the mediocre reviews) but to our pleasant surprise, it was a great stay!

Yes the furnishings and interior looks dated but I thought it looked charming as a traditional Italian hotel room. Bathroom was spotless though we had to figure out the water heater - takes at least 10 mins till there's adequately warm water to shower.

Location was great - it's just short 2 min walk to the jetty to catch the ferry to the various islands by the lake. Stresa train station is just a leisurely 15 - 20 min walk away.

Breakfast - wowed by splendid freshly baked croissants we ever had in our whole Italy trip. Buffet spread is sufficiently atypical of an Italian breakfast - bread, jams, slices of ham and cheese and good coffee.

Other than being stuck in the hotel elevator for 30 mins (haha), I must comment that its a pretty decent hotel for its great rates.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bloodflowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Just returned from holiday in Stresa, staying at this hotel. Welcome was very nice but found my room at the back of hotel really grotty. Furniture bad, walls and paintwork bad, french windows opening on to public sitting out area wouldn't lock I was not happy. Much happier when moved to a room at the front with a balcony and overlooking the lake. The furniture was still bad but the bed was comfortable. The hotel was very clean, staff were very helpful and pleasant. Breakfast was very good with plenty to set you up for the day.

Room Tip: choose a room at front of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dorothy90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stresa hotels
0.2 mi away
Primavera Hotel
Primavera Hotel
#29 of 35 in Stresa
251 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Luina
Hotel Luina
#24 of 35 in Stresa
80 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Italie et Suisse
Hotel Italie et Suisse
#22 of 35 in Stresa
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Elena
Hotel Elena
#17 of 35 in Stresa
259 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ristorante "da Cesare"
0.5 mi away
Mon Toc
Mon Toc
#30 of 35 in Stresa
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Sempione? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Sempione

Address: Corso Italia 46, 28838, Stresa, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 35 Hotels in Stresa
Price Range: $73 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Albergo Sempione 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the shores of Lake Maggiore, 'Albergo Sempione is an excellent solution for those who want to spend their holidays in this great town. Located a few meters from the center of Stresa is directly connected with the embarkation of the Borromeo Islands. The hotel have a classic design, has a junior suite, double / twin rooms overlooking the lake view rooms and family rooms solarium. The hotel also provides a wi-fi throughout the hotel, a varied breakfast buffet, served in our dining room or on the veranda, where the predominant view of the lake with the respective islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Albergo Sempione reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Sempione Stresa, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing