We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shocking service and lying chef - do not go”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of La Botte

La Botte
Ranked #8 of 109 Restaurants in Stresa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Mediterranean, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: From the room you can see the chefs who prepare your dishes. Typical restaurant and kitchen. Selection of meats, fresh fish from the Lake, homemade desserts, wine paper always looking for small producers, draught beer. In addition to the daily paper also proposed.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Shocking service and lying chef - do not go”
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Arrived 8.30 and told table would be 45 mins so left name and went for a drink. Arrived back to find a dozen or so people waiting outside on the street. Despite several conversations there was no sign of a table by 9.45 so we gave up. Absolutely shocking attitude and ruined the evening

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pcroberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    495
    443
    108
    43
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
212 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Great affordable food”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

This tiny restaurant in small lane way just off the main square in Stresa is open all year round. It is very popular and in the summer you may have trouble getting in right away but the wait is worth it. The food is very good, and you always get large portions for a very reasonable price. It is probably one of the best value Tratorias around the area.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank jbarton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great pasta dishes in cozy setting”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Cozy, family-owned restaurant with reasonably priced delicious fare. Watch out: the portions are generous and the dishes are very hardy! It seemed all the tables around me ordered the pasta with shrimp -- very popular and smelled amazing. The decor is casual with Alpine paraphernalia and lots of family photos on the walls. I was lucky and was able to walk in for lunch, but soon after I was seated there was a line of about five groups. Make a reservation if you want to go for dinner.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KayCeeNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food, bad service”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We booked a table for 8.30pm Sunday, we arrived on time and was told we would have a table in 5 mins, after 15 mins an apology and a glass of wine were given and a promise of a table in 5 mins. All was good. 15 mins later I complained about fact there was an empty table and we were still waiting, but it was for four. At 9:10 we were given a table a menu and totally ignored. After a further 10 mins I grabbed a waiter and our order was taken but still we weren't given any bread or water (cover and service are included) a further 5 mins passed and I asked for bread and it was brought, and a while later our first course arrived. The food was fine but the service was the worst I have had for years and I go to restaurants a lot. The reason I reckon is the the lead cook emerges from the kitchen and runs reception with result none of his staff take responsibility for customers. Three different people served us but no-one took responsibility including the lead cook who after my complaint ignored us until we left when he shouted goodbye.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fabulous food”
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

This is authentic Italian food at its best. Don't forget to book. They were turning people away and it's quite a small restaurant.
All dishes are freshly prepared which can be viewed through the window to the kitchens. Very good value for money.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank RJH1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Botte also viewed

Stresa, Lake Maggiore
 
Stresa, Lake Maggiore
Stresa, Lake Maggiore
 

Been to La Botte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing