We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, bad service”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of La Botte

La Botte
Ranked #8 of 109 Restaurants in Stresa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Mediterranean, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: From the room you can see the chefs who prepare your dishes. Typical restaurant and kitchen. Selection of meats, fresh fish from the Lake, homemade desserts, wine paper always looking for small producers, draught beer. In addition to the daily paper also proposed.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food, bad service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

We booked a table for 8.30pm Sunday, we arrived on time and was told we would have a table in 5 mins, after 15 mins an apology and a glass of wine were given and a promise of a table in 5 mins. All was good. 15 mins later I complained about fact there was an empty table and we were still waiting, but it was for four. At 9:10 we were given a table a menu and totally ignored. After a further 10 mins I grabbed a waiter and our order was taken but still we weren't given any bread or water (cover and service are included) a further 5 mins passed and I asked for bread and it was brought, and a while later our first course arrived. The food was fine but the service was the worst I have had for years and I go to restaurants a lot. The reason I reckon is the the lead cook emerges from the kitchen and runs reception with result none of his staff take responsibility for customers. Three different people served us but no-one took responsibility including the lead cook who after my complaint ignored us until we left when he shouted goodbye.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    497
    445
    108
    43
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fabulous food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

This is authentic Italian food at its best. Don't forget to book. They were turning people away and it's quite a small restaurant.
All dishes are freshly prepared which can be viewed through the window to the kitchens. Very good value for money.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank RJH1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An average meal and experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

We booked this after seeing all the good reviews on here. The service and the atmosphere was ok but nothing special. The same goes for the food, it tasted okey but was not that interesting and nothing special.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Saffiec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food made with Love”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

It was almost 11pm so we thought we had no chance getting in anywhere in Stresa. Our hotel called La Botte and we were told if we made it down in 10mins we would be able to get a table. Sure enough as we ran through the door the Owner/Head Chef was waiting for us.
La Botte is a place with true and authentic character. It feels like you have just been welcomed into a strangers warm and cosy front room. You know you are going to leave as great mates.
The Owner/Head Chef took his time to chat to all the regulars adding to the cosy feel.
I had the Lamb Ravioli with Thyme and ricotta from the local menu. Best Ravioli I have had. Husband had Milanese, which was also up there with the best tasted.
A true gem of a place to be enjoyed with lots of Red and an intimate group of your nearest and dearest.
p.s If you are from Yorkshire there is something on the wall for you.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CandBTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a find!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

We ate here twice during our week in Stresa. We booked both times, and I would recommend you either book or turn up at 7pm when they open otherwise you are unlikely to get a table. It's small, and all inside - no air conditioning, but there are ceiling fans. Service is friendly and good, food is lovely, local and obviously individually prepared. Wine is sold by the carafe and at a very good price. Try it - you won't regret it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank struth10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Botte also viewed

Stresa, Lake Maggiore
 
Stresa, Lake Maggiore
Stresa, Lake Maggiore
 

Been to La Botte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing