We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pleasant evening, with excellent food.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Vicoletto

Il Vicoletto
Ranked #1 of 108 Restaurants in Stresa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
97 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“A pleasant evening, with excellent food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

We are the owners of La Casa Del Giardiniere Bed and Breakfast near Stresa, and are constantly being asked by guests where to dine. We never recommend a place without personally visiting an establishment.
Tonight we finally visited the much acclaimed IL Vicoletto.
Our reception was warm and inviting, and professional.
The menu whilst small, was not too limiting, and all the dishes where beautifully presented, and very tasty. All very positive.
Our only criticism, would be the time from ordering to being served which was a little bit lengthy, particularly as we where eating early, and the restaurant was very quiet. The general atmosphere was good and improved later as the place got busy.
We would recommend this establishment, as we believe the food to be of a consistently high standard.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    585
    294
    48
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
96 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem in Stresa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

We had a wonderful dinner here on our last night in Stresa. Il Vicoletto serves great, well-prepared food. We enjoyed our dinners and were delighted by the service and ambiance. We were fortunate to find this small restaurant (on a side street) as Stresa seems to be full of many uninteresting restaurants which are geared toward groups of older travelers. From the appetizers to the dessert we had a great meal!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank turtlez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Friendly and attractive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

On Saturday night, when we were unable to get into Ristorante Piementese, the owner recommended we try Il Vicoletto. The restaurant was full, but the lovely lady at the desk said we could eat on the porch which had heat lamps. The neighborhood is quiet, and we had a delicious meal. I can't remember what I ate, but my husband enjoyed his lamb shank very much. Also, the selections of wines were very good. I was surprised that people at the other tables outside smoked which did not particularly bother me, but it could be a negative for others. We had a most pleasant dinner with very friendly help and I would highly recommend getting a reservation on a weekend night.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AMR173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“faultless....absolutely superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

as i have described, we could not fault this place, the place is clean, good ambience, superb service, michelin star standard food, reasonable price for the standard i guess, plus you are eating out in italy which is not cheap. the menu is full on non 'normal' dishes, which is fabulous. so broaden your horizons and try the sauted octopus on bed of potato starter...wow. wine list is very comprehensive, i can recommend the extra dry prosecco.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ralph O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Fabulous little gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stumbled across this fabulous little restaurant while exploring the little streets of Stresa. The lady who ran the restaurant was extremely pleasant and her service was impeccable. We had one of the most delicious Italian meals we've yet had. A meal here is a must when visiting Stresa.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank JaneBR09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Vicoletto also viewed

 
Stresa, Lake Maggiore
 
Stresa, Lake Maggiore
Isola Pescatori, Stresa
 

Been to Il Vicoletto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing