We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“NO don't stay here” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Brisino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Brisino
Ranked #23 of 36 Hotels in Stresa
Certificate of Excellence
Assisi, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“NO don't stay here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

The woman at reception was miserable and unable to provide even a toasted sandwich for my invalid father for dinner when he too unwell to go out. The walls paper thin and snoring from next room kept me awake all night. View amazing and the other staff did try to be helpful but were over ridden but very grumpy reception Book in for 4 nights but abandoned after one. Do yourself a favour. Royal hotel in Stresa couldn't do enough

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Help2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    44
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
15
42
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brossard, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
222 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

This is a cosy family run hotel with about a dozen rooms situated on a high ground point overlooking the beautiful lake Major ( Maggiore). We stayed three nights there to have time exploring the splendid Bartholomeo Islands and the surrounding including the town of Stresa. The hotel has two levels, the upper has guest rooms while the first level has a spacious breakfast and a dining rooms, both with an adjoining terrace from which one has breathtaking views over the big lake. Our room, which is situated at the right hand side corner overlooking the lake was very nice with a double bed. The room has two windows each one with its balcony, one looking on the lake and the breakfast terrace, and the other on the side garden. They both offer super views much to our pleasure. Room and bedding were clean and nice. This hotel rate includes an american type breakfast with choices of bread buns jam fruits, orange juice, coffee tea and different types of cheese egg and sausages. But our real pleasure was having breakfast on the beautiful terrace where we took many pictures. This alone worth the detour to the hotel. We had one supper at the hotel for convenience but found out it was very good. We enjoyed our the last evening on the terrace and the nearby church while watching the sun going down on the lake with its many changing colors. What a lovely stay, absolutely no regret at all.

Room Tip: Take a room with view on the lake or the one at the extreme right hand side with 2 different views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishon LeZion, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We were really lucky to find Hotel Brisino this August. It's located in a small village named Brisino, which is municipally part of Stresa but is about 5 minutes drive far from its centre. You just drive up the road all the time from Hotel DuParc (in the centre of Stresa) until you get to the hotel parking. From the other hand, it's about 2 minute drive far from the highway and about 45 minutes drive from the Malpensa airport.

This is a very nice family run hotel, very very clean, with big rooms, with a wonderful breakfast, but what makes this hotel really special - is the location high on the hill which gives you absolutely breathtaking views of Lago Maggiore both from the rooms (most of which have balconies), and especially from the breakfast terrace and the garden. Simona and Vittorio who manage the hotel are extremely eager to help, and so are the rest of the stuff. The price is very reasonable, especially comparing to the out of proportion expensive hotels in Stresa.

In a walking distance from the hotel you can find a wood in which you can walk or hike and enjoy the air and peace of mind.

Keep in mind that if you plan to eat in the hotel in the evening you should order the meal in the morning, you cannot order it "on the fly". I'm not sure about other places to eat in Brisino (which is very small), we were lucky to have some food fair in the village (due to some local holidays) where we could buy food and a bottle of superb wine, the taste of which I will never forget. :) But it was our luck to have it, try to ask Simona or Vittoria about the places to eat nearby, otherwise do it in Stresa or other places.

I happily recommend this hotel for anyone looking for accomodation on Lago Maggiore in the area of Stresa! Simona, Vittorio and all your stuff - thank you so much for the unforgettable stay in the hotel and all your help!

Room Tip: We had rooms 23 and 35, both with balconies, offering views on Lago Maggiore from different angles...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vitalik Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
223 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This is a really pretty guest house (not hotel) in a beautiful location, set on a very windy hilly road above Stresa with fabulous views over Lake Maggiore. The times for breakfast and dinner are extremely restrictive and the staff are not friendly or obliging. There is no one on reception after 10pm-this is why we say this is more guest house than hotel. The rooms are lovely and very clean, it could be so much nicer with a little more effort on the customer service side.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony and lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bea_K186223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Highlights:

* Views! Asked for balcony and view - had both Rm33. Location - so quiet, old church with bells - just wonderful! No fan or air con but left doors open and that was great.
* Breakfast: great - stuffed, fresh, varied (european - ham, cold eggs, cereals, crossiants etc).
* Staff: Stefana just lovely at breakfast - whatever needed! Helpful woman at reception - gave us recommendations for authentic eating places!
* Food nearby: Went to 2 authentic Italian places - traditional, no english spoken, warm and friendly - on up beautiful mountain away from Stresa tourist ville. In one we were trying to work out what 'carciofo' was. Lovely woman bought out a plate with chopped artichokes on!
* Interior: mix of old and more modern decor - all clean and fresh.
Room: Hugge bed so comfortable, great clean decor.Fridge too. Towels don't match and aren't great big fluffy things - but that's cool with us!


Improvements (or anything that could be important to you!)
* Our rm 33 only had hand held shower so showering sitting bath - a simple glass panel and shower clipped to wall would be even greater!
*Bathroom did smell of drains/ musty/ 'uriney' - was clean, may be drains.

Waning about ville nearby! Be aware of small ville nearby 'Binda' - missed turn off and ended up going through here. You need to know exact millimeteres of your car as gap extremely tiny in the extreme - we survived - guy behind left paint on walls!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PennyHAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Really a great hotel. Well run by a nice family. INCREDIBLE views. If we go back to Stresa, we will go here. The only thing you must know is that it is a 5 minute drive to Stresa. For us that is great while Brisino is quiet and quaint. Perfect mix if you have a car. The breakfast is great - more European than Italian so there is more than I expected. Really a great surprise for the price.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GEMRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
235 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Small family run hotel with absolutely gorgeous views on lago maggiore. The plus: great views , excellent breakfast, good homely dinner available, ample parking, free internet, friendly service, rooms with a view to kill (ask for rooms 12, 22, 32 etc.), close to highway and Stresa. The minus: hairpins access road, weak internet signal.
Overall great value, highly recommended!



  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CityEnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stresa hotels
2.3 mi away
Hotel San Giacomo
Hotel San Giacomo
#20 of 36 in Stresa
4.5 of 5 stars 68 reviews
1.1 mi away
Primavera Hotel
Primavera Hotel
#25 of 36 in Stresa
3.5 of 5 stars 194 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel La Locanda
Hotel La Locanda
#13 of 36 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 stars 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Fontana
Hotel Fontana
#10 of 36 in Stresa
4.5 of 5 stars 286 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Saini Meuble
Hotel Saini Meuble
#17 of 36 in Stresa
4.5 of 5 stars 214 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Lido La Perla Nera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brisino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brisino

Property: Hotel Brisino
Address: Via Per Magognino 2, 28838, Stresa, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 36 Hotels in Stresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Brisino 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Otel and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Brisino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Brisino Stresa, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing