We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very beautiful place and hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Locanda

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel La Locanda
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Stresa
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Very beautiful place and hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Fine arrangement of hotel - close to the elevator on the mountain, the lake, station, mooring. Very purely, comfortably. The owner of hotel personally meets you, is always ready to help. Good breakfast coffee, juice, fruit, rolls, oil, honey, jam. And also the freshest croissants! Once in a week was a fruitcake.
Room clean every day. New pure towels, soap, shampoo. In our room there were 2 cute balconies overlooking mountains. There is also room with a big verandah.
It's so super hotel for family holidays!
We sure will arrive again!

Tatiana from Moscow

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Татьяна В
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Locanda19, Proprietario at Hotel La Locanda, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Thank you very much! is a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed our hotel. All of our staff thanks you for your kindness and courtesy. Hoping to have you back as our guests, perhaps for the "expo del mobile" in next year! :)
I send to you and your family our warmest greetings!
Daniele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    100
    21
    4
    0
See reviews for
42
102
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed already 5 times at Hotel La Locanda in Stresa.
Excellent value for money, coupled with a favorable position relative to the city center, ascending to the Mottarone top, boarding to Isole Borromee or to train station. Mr. Daniele is a very nice host and amazingly discreet. Always we return in Stresa with pleasure, being impressed by the hospitality of the family. Recommended to all who want harmony and relaxation in a family environment.

Room Tip: My recommendation: rooms facing the Mottarone mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Valentinn_69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Locanda19, Proprietario at Hotel La Locanda, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Google Translation
Gent. Sig. P. V. , è sempre un piacere riavere lei e sua moglie come nostri ospiti. Vi aspettiamo per il prossimo soggiorno per passare qualche giorno in vostra compagnia e rendere la vostra vacanza piacevole e rilassante come ogni anno. Grazie mille da tutti noi. Carissimi saluti.
A presto. Daniele e Paola.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nowra, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Enjoyed our recent stay here, especially location, easy 10 min walk from Train Station, 5 minutes to Lido for ferry & Gondola up Mottorone (must do) & 15 minute lakefront promenade route to town centre. Our Host Danielle was helpful and attentive and the rooms larger than Italy standard. The room we had was at the back of hotel with a spacious balcony with view over residential homes which to me gave an authentic feel. Breakfast was quite good in a charming dining room. Would definitely stay again...Thank you Danielle.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristinaCor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Rooms are very clean and large : a 4-people room for our couple. No air conditionning, but the owner gave us a blower and it was very good! Breakfast is OK (yoghurt, fruits, bread, jams) and the people working there is very nice. The parking is more than interesting and the hotel is not far from Stresa center (1.5 Km, 20 mn walking) and very close to the funicular for Monte Mottarone. The hotel is quiet, just a few trains during the night.

Room Tip: If you mind heat, maybe not take a room just under the roof (2nd floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helena L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Locanda19, Proprietario at Hotel La Locanda, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you Dear Mrs H., it was a pleasure having you as our guest.
Thank you for your beautiful words.
Just a clarification the hotel is far from the city center just 1 km away and can be reached in 13 minutes on foot. (Verified by google map!)
Thanks ! Best regards. Daniele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newfoundland, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Clean and comfortable hotel in a quiet area, about 15 minutes walk to the town centre, along the lakefront. Staff friendly and helpful. Rooms not large but adequate. Ours had a small balcony. Breakfast the usual - yogurt, fruit, breads, good coffee.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpanishCaptain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Locanda19, Proprietario at Hotel La Locanda, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear guest,I really thank you for coming to stay with us.
We are pleased that you appreciated the rooms and the breakfast good. thank you very much.
see you soon .. greetings! Daniele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Stayed three nights at La Locanda. The hotel was small but cute and the staff were welcoming and attentive. For the three of us, the room was spacious, clean and the surroundings of the hotel are very quiet. It's only a five minute walk from the beautiful lake Maggiore where there are nice bars and restaurants nearby. Also, would recommend a boat trip to the nearby Isola Bella, absolutely stunning! So if you just want a clean bed and breakfast, La Locanda is just the ticket, great value!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DLSicily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I stayed here for 5 nights this week and the reviews were spot on. Daniele was fantastic and helped me with train information and without asking, took my case up to the room and showed me where to find an extra blanket. The heating came on when the temperature dipped too. Breakfast was adequate and my room was
fine. Great to have such a hot shower. Location is perfect for the train station and so quiet too. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend or return.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leoline54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Locanda19, Proprietario at Hotel La Locanda, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you Dear Mrs L., it was a pleasure having you as our guest. we are glad that you have spent some happy days. a warm greeting! Daniele.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stresa hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Fontana
Hotel Fontana
#11 of 36 in Stresa
4.5 of 5 stars 278 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees
0.4 mi away
La Palma Hotel
La Palma Hotel
#2 of 36 in Stresa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#4 of 36 in Stresa
4.5 of 5 stars 321 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel du Parc
Hotel du Parc
#10 of 36 in Stresa
4.5 of 5 stars 278 reviews
0.6 mi away
Milan Speranza Au Lac
Milan Speranza Au Lac
#7 of 36 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 stars 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Locanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Locanda

Property: Hotel La Locanda
Address: Via Leopardi, 19, Stresa, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Stresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Locanda is a small and quiet hotel, recently restoredand runned by the host family welcoming you in this placesituated by the Lido of Stresa. Close to the hotel, in the Lido area, you may find the cableway to the Mottarone mountain (1500mt.) and public or private boats to Borromée isles. The train station is 200mt. far whereas the village centre is reachable by walking by the lake-side in a few minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel La Locanda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Locanda Stresa, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing