We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Amazing views and a pleasant place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Villa Ruscello

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Villa Ruscello
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Baveno
Certificate of Excellence
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing views and a pleasant place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed at Villa Ruscello for 2 night in October 2013 and over all it was very good, first impressions were not great as we didn't realize there was a road between the car park and the hotel, also a lot of steps leading to the hotel ( I have to say we had been driving quiet a lot so we were tired, it was also wet). We made our way to the main house where we were welcomed and shown to our room, this was in another building, unfortunately more stairs to go up, once in the room it was basic but ok the bathroom however was very small, so if you are of larger build you will find it very snug. There is a train which run close by but didn't cause us to much disturbance.
There is no restaurant but breakfast is serve, the owners have plenty of recommendations for restaurants and the one we went to was excellent.
To sum it up, nice place to stay, owners very pleasant, Amazing views and lovely location.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    50
    15
    3
    0
See reviews for
39
44
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

If you scored this hotel on location alone it would be a five. It sits right up against Lake Maggiore with its own mini beach and sun lounging area. The brothers who own the property (the business was started by their grandfather) are delightful. It is located half way between Baveno and Stressa with the most stunning views of the Borromean islands. Isola Bella has to be one of the most stunningly beautiful views in Europe.
Rooms in the annexe, where we stayed, were somewhat utilitarian with marble tiled floors that left the rooms feeling a little clinical and institutionalised. Being owned by two men probably explains the lack of feminine touches in the décor. However, the rooms are spacious with good serviceable bathrooms (except on days when the water is cut off as it was on our second morning) and comfortable beds.
The issue with this hotel and I'm surprised it has not been mentioned by other reviewers, is that it is incredibly close to the railway line. There was a point on the first night that I did go and check that they weren't actually running through the bathroom! The other downside is that the road that runs in front of the hotel is very busy and there is no footpath, so walking into Balveno or Stressa is a terrifying experience.
The hotel does not serve dinner (breakfasts are ok) so one has to go out to eat. Without one's own transport that would be difficult and if you do drive the then have the issue of someone not drinking.
Ruscello is not alone in having these issues. All of the hotels along this road suffer them same problems. It is only that Ruscello does not offer a dinner service that might present an issue for some visitors.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WingcoNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed a night here on our way from Lausanne to Milan airport, not realising it was such a wonderful location. Right on Lake Maggiore and in a lovely old family home we were made very welcome by the hosts who spoke good English which was great for us. They directed us to a lovely restaurant for dinner where they have a deal with the owners to give their guests a good deal. It was lovely.
The room was comfortable, clean and with a super little balcony. Bathroom was small but absolutely fine for the two of us. The room was a bit warm overnight but Italy is having a heat wave at the moment, no air conditioning but we were able to leave the door open.
The location is superb and I would recommend Baveno to anyone needing to place themselves within an hours drive from Malpensa Airport. Stay a day or two.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room at the front of the hotel where you will get a great view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gillian r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

The Location is unique , the hotel is like a Castle, the rooms are good average, the parking is the place where you can take the better pictures of the lago Maggiore....Remember tis Tip, The waterfall from the mountains cross the hotel and the noise was for us ......a plus
Price is perfect, breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gabriel b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
83 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

The 2 double rooms we occupied had both a balcony overlooking the hotel garden and Lago Maggiore with its "Borromeo Islands" of Isla Bella and Isla Madre. The ferry to these islands is just 1 km from the hotel which exists of 2 parts - the old, original house of the parents of the 2 owners (2 brothers) and a new part in which the bedrooms can be found. A little stream thunders from the mountain onto the property and soon afterwards into the lake. The sound is soothing as are the beautiful flowers, Azalea bushes and trees in the well-laid out garden with its different statues.
Breakfast was wonderful with a coffee made expressly the way we wanted to, choice of different teas, cheeses, cold cuts and sweets. The bedrooms have good bedding and are nice and clean as are the bathrooms. Thanks to the high quality windows no noise came from the street below us. It was quiet and peaceful.

Room Tip: Gulio (one of the owners) advised us to go and see some villages among which Orta de Giulio on the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jansje S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

beautiful view from balcony to lake, islands, other cities. balconies so cosy - liked to spend early mornings and late evenings there, watching the sunrise, rain and fireworks in the evening. rooms are clean and size is ok. a private beach to swim and place for cars. a lot of space to spend time outside the room. cosy atmosphere, because this is a small hotel and you can get close with other visitors. nice service - there are some things owners did for us and allowed us for free and it was ar nice surprise. these are things why I would choose this hotel once again.
BUT - this is a good place for those, travelling with car. the road both directions to Stresa and Baveno is without pavement (about 5 min walk) and it's a bit challenge to reach these cities by foot, because the traffic on this road is intensive. And the night sleep is being interrupted by noise from trains passing by very close to the hotel and also from waterfall. breakfest menu could be more creative. If you stay for one night, than it's ok, but if you are staying 3 and more days, it is boring every morning to have the same little selection of food.

Room Tip: Take only rooms with lake view, better if they are located on highest floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inga S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2011

Little and charming family-run hotel, facing the Borromee Isles, the rooms have direct view from the balcony.
The hotel has nice gardens, one around the villa and the other giving private access to the lake.
The room is simple, but comfortable and with renovated bathroom.
The owners are very courteous and helpful concerning information about events and attractions throughout the region.
Big free parking, which is quite rare in the surroundings.

Really good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jacovacci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baveno
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Dino
Grand Hotel Dino
#4 of 15 in Baveno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#2 of 15 in Baveno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.9 mi away
Azalea
Azalea
#7 of 15 in Baveno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#5 of 36 in Stresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Ruscello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Ruscello

Property: Hotel Villa Ruscello
Address: via Sempione, 64, 28831, Baveno, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Baveno
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Baveno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Villa Ruscello 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is a typical villa with a large Italian garden, balconies, terraces and a direct access to the Lake through our little private beach. For over 40 years our family-run hotel has offered our guests tranquillity and unique views of the Borromean Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Villa Ruscello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villa Ruscello Baveno, Lake Maggiore, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing