We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suits well for a short visit to Baveno”
Review of Azalea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Azalea
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Baveno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2010

This is a simple but comfortable hotel. It serves a basic breakfast, has a small pool area and a small bar as well as quite comfortable rooms. Do not choose this hotel if you are staying for more than a couple of nights. It is better suited for a short stay (as is Baveno itself in my opinion...). The location between train station and the lake is very good. Although our room faced the rail road, we were never disturbed by the trains. Even the air-condition was quiet enough to let us sleep, which is quite unusual in hotels like this.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobetrottersSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (173)
There are newer reviews for Azalea
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 173 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2009

I have to agree with Basil - the staff at this hotel are definitely in the wrong business. It is a shame as with some tender loving care - and a complete change of staff this hotel could improve considerably. The other problem is the sound of the trains and the constant barking of the dogs who live close by. Unfortunately this hotel had the potential to actually put a dampener on the holiday - BUT we did not let that happen, the whole of the party stuck together and made the best of a bad job. Somebody needs to do something about this hotel. The breakfast is just about passable and again spoilt by the staff "supervising" the coffee machine etc. Apparently we ate too many croissants on day 2 - so they were reduced in number on day 3 - how customer friendly is that!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank archcos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2009

If you like pleasant helpful staff, a good dining experience, easy access and a freindly welcome do NOT go anywhere near this nightmare of a hotel.
On the other hand if you are a fan of Basil (Fawlty) this is THE hotel for you

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Basil9Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2008

I actually was slightly disappointed after reading previous previews. The room I had was quite bare and did not have any atmosphere apart from the little balcony (overlooking the car park and the railway tracks). However, the room was clean and all the essentials were in there but considering the price (52 Euros) I somehow wished I had picked a cheaper place offering the same standard.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2008

The hotel was a little difficult to find, and our initial welcome was rather luke warm (although it did improve during our stay). Considering the hotel was almost entirely full of english-speaking clients, it was surprising how little English was spoken by reception staff. The hotel is very clean and well-situated between the station and the lake (train noise is not a problem - but Baveno is small and is served by a railway!). It also has a large, free car park. The room was a good size, with a comfortable bed and lovely views of the lake and hills from the balcony. The only problem was the toilet, which was uncomfortably squeezed in between the sink and a large radiator. Breakfast was good, although coffee from the machine was poor by Italian standards. A good place to stay for two or three days, but not for a week or more.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JohnandMags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2008

we have just returned from Italy after staying in Baveno for 8 nights. The hotel was comfortable and clean but the staff were not very pleasant to deal with. The pool is small and there is not much to do if the weather is not good. The bar is not conducive to sitting and having a quiet drink in. The cleaning staff were very pleasant to deal with and some staff were polite in the desk. the breakfast is nothing to write home about tinned fruit, horrible coffee from a machine and a limited choice of cold meats. My advice is to skip the hotel breakfast and eat in one of the local restaurants for better value.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Niamh O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2007

This was an OK hotel with a minimally friendly staff. Good location with a short walk to the lake, but the so-called lake view was not so great- a tiny balcony (useless) from which you could see a portion of the lake. The breakfast looked horrible, so we skipped it and ate out. The trains kept us up all night, as the tracks are very close to the hotel, and the neighbors had several dogs who barked all day. I would not recommend this hotel unless you love noise.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank daisyranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baveno
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Dino
Grand Hotel Dino
#4 of 15 in Baveno
1,364 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Simplon
Hotel Simplon
#3 of 15 in Baveno
468 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Beau Rivage
Hotel Beau Rivage
#7 of 15 in Baveno
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#11 of 15 in Baveno
159 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#2 of 15 in Baveno
508 reviews
2.2 mi away
Regina Palace
Regina Palace
#5 of 35 in Stresa
1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azalea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azalea

Address: Via Domo 6, 28831, Baveno, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Baveno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Baveno
Price Range: $88 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Azalea 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Azalea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azalea Hotel Baveno
Azalea Baveno, Lake Maggiore, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing