We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice views, pity about the manger/owner” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Azalea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Azalea
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Baveno
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice views, pity about the manger/owner”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

We arrived at Malpensa airport in torential rain and after a lentghy easyjet flight delay. It took us more than an hour to sort out our pre-booked car through Avis (read do not use). After finally hitting the road at 10pm we had a puncture in our VW golf on the side of the autostrada. All of this delayed us and we only arrived at the hotel at 12.40. We let the maneger know that we would be late. We arrived at the hotel to the most unfriendly annoyed unsympathetic welcome ever received. The hotel closes at midnight and we were only 40 minutes late after a string of unfortunate events. The owner/maneger had a big moan about he had to get up at 6am...not sure for what as the breakfast is pretty simple.
I think you should not be in the hospitality business if you do not like being hospitable. We asked to borrow an iron to what we got a 'no'. Everything was just too much effort for this place. A real shame as the venue was really nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view, but I don't think they will accomodate you as it will be too much effort fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank voigty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    70
    27
    5
    2
See reviews for
37
61
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2011

Centrally located hotel, just a few minutes away from the pier where boats leave for the nearby islands. The room was clean and spacious. Not too fancy but a decent hotel with a decent price.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nidri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2011

I met friends from Australia in Bavena to begin a 3 week trip through Italy. My friends had made arrangements for our stay in Lake Maggiore. I had checked out the hotel's website before leaving home and wasn't particulary impressed. As a result, I was very pleasantly surprised when I arrived. This is a small, family run hotel located on a hill above Lake Maggiore. My room had a small balcony with a beautiful view of the lake. The hotel is well maintained, simple and comfortable. I just loved it. Great price too.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NancyinMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2011

The hotel was in a good location only a short walk from the lake our room was clean and yes u can hear the trains but they do not run all night and it is not that bad... the breakfast wasn't amazing but was acceptable and again the staff were mostly friendly would we stay here again yes it's good value for money and a comfortable hotel to use as a base for the lake

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurswilf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2011

Staying here was unexpected as there was mix up with our original booking at another hotel and they were not able to accommodate us. They found a booking for us at the Azalea as we needed somewhere that would be convenient with a car and Azalea certainly fitted the bill and was right in the centre of town. Was easy to find with good directions
Lovely updated rooms, fantastic bathroom flatscreen tv with a choice of English channels. Great bed, and free wifi and a nice breakfast. Balcony and lakeview was a great spot to sip our wine and watch the sun go down.Owner was very nice and helpful to us.
Our original hotel was not in a town but this really suited us better. We found Baveno a lovely peaceful little town with plenty of choice in restaurants,and with the boat dock a few minutes away, was perfect. There was even a laundromat on the seafront.
The hotel was just down the road from the train station so staying here without a car would not be a problem.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hugo64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

This hotel is very conveniently located in the heart of the old town. The lakefront, a selection of restaurants and the boats to the islands are less than a five minute walk away. Our room was spotlessly clean and equipped with a state-of-the-art shower, hair dryer, air conditioning and flat screen TV. Wi-Fi and parking were available at no extra cost. We had a very nice little balcony with a lake view which we enjoyed in the evening. Although we paid a few Euros extra for one of the "superior" rooms, we still felt the place was a bargain, especially since a nice breakfast was included.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LTE02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level Contributor
164 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2010

This is a simple but comfortable hotel. It serves a basic breakfast, has a small pool area and a small bar as well as quite comfortable rooms. Do not choose this hotel if you are staying for more than a couple of nights. It is better suited for a short stay (as is Baveno itself in my opinion...). The location between train station and the lake is very good. Although our room faced the rail road, we were never disturbed by the trains. Even the air-condition was quiet enough to let us sleep, which is quite unusual in hotels like this.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobetrottersSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baveno
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Dino
Grand Hotel Dino
#3 of 15 in Baveno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Beau Rivage
Hotel Beau Rivage
#6 of 15 in Baveno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#1 of 15 in Baveno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#11 of 15 in Baveno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Ruscello
Hotel Villa Ruscello
#10 of 15 in Baveno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
2.2 mi away
La Palma Hotel
La Palma Hotel
#2 of 35 in Stresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azalea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azalea

Property: Azalea
Address: Via Domo 6, 28831, Baveno, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Baveno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Baveno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Azalea 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Azalea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azalea Hotel Baveno
Azalea Baveno, Lake Maggiore, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing