We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect, Perfect, Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lido Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lido Palace Hotel
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Baveno
Sydney
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect, Perfect, Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

One of the most majestic hotels we've ever stayed at, with sweeping views across Lake Maggiore. The room we stayed in was first rate, with a lovely balcony that we spent time on just drinking in the spectacular scenery. Staff were excellent, particularly the dining room staff at breakfast, the breakfast itself was marvellous. Just a few minutes of walking brings you into the beautiful harbour of Braveno with a large variety of shops and restaurants. We really hated leaving here after a wonderful two-night stay and would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Astr0Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    47
    17
    10
    3
See reviews for
33
135
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We spent only 1 night at this lovely Hotel at the end of a week long tour. What a stunning Hotel! We were greeted enthusiastically, and the staff was extremely helpful and accommodatiing. Our room had a balcony in the bedroom, as well as in the bathroom, each with panoramic views of Lake Maggiore and the island of Isola Bella. The dining rooms and Terrace are exquisite, and the elegant wait staff equally outgoing and courteous. I wish we had another day or two here, but the experience was lovely, right down to a warm goodbye from a smiling reception staff at 6AM, when we left for the airport. Perfection! Don't miss a chance to stay here!

Room Tip: I doubt that there IS a bad room here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eurogirl1454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at Lido Palace to be told we'd been upgraded to the "Winston Churchill Suite". It turned out we were the only people there who were not part of a tour group so they were kind enough to spoil us a little. The suite was very spacious and the beds (two doubles, pushed together) were comfortable. There was a spa bath in a separate alcove that was quite luxurious.

We ate in the hotel restaurant the first night and had a lovely four course meal at a very reasonable price. The waiters were excellent - friendly and attentive, and happy to help us practice our Italian.

I had somehow managed to book this hotel without an included breakfast, so since I baulk a little at paying hotel prices for breakfast, we had our breakfasts in town and can't comment on the offering at the Lido Palace.

Staff were friendly and helpful throughout our stay and their English was mostly very good.

The grounds and pool area are lovely.

It is about a ten minute walk into town, mostly on wide paths or in parks, but the initial section is on a narrow path next to a road that can get quite busy.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MHug58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawfordsville, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Although old, this is a lovely hotel with a wonderful staff. Our room looked out over the Lake and was very quiet and comfortable. I would go back in a minute. It was pleasant just walking around the facility and sitting on their large veranda was amazing. Great value compared to other places.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary Sheila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
86 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We visited the Lido Palace Hotel for 4 nights in July 2013.This was our second stay at this hotel. We first visited it 2009 and loved it then.The hotel conveys the feeling of another era with its beautiful dinning room and common areas overlooking Lago Maggiore. We opted for a lake view room this time and our view of Lago Maggiore was spectacular. Lido Palace offers a lake beach and pool. Both are pleasant. The pool area faces the lake and was never crowded. In addition to the amenities available, there is a clear commitment to service. Paolo and Elisa were wonderful and especially helpful throughout our stay. Roberto who handles the food service and Ramona were delightful too. Breakfast at the hotel dining room was reasonably priced and included a wide range of buffet options including breads, pastries, cereals, yogurt, eggs (cooked to order), meets, cheese, various juices and waters and coffee, tea, cappucino, etc. Tables are set up at near open doors and the view of the lake from the dining room alone is worth the price of breakfast. Free convenient parking was a big plus as was easy access to the boat terminal for lake excursions and easy access by car to other lake town, e.g., Stressa, Locarno, Ascona. Baveno is actually a short distance from the Swiss boarder.

Free WIFI was available but we were not able to get our tablets to work. Paolo was extraordinary and even attempted to get a computer specialist to solve the problem. When that option wasn't available, he immediately offered to have us use the hotel computer so we could check email and check-in and get our boarding passes for our flights to the USA. The hotel is very clean. Rooms are equipped with mini bars and satellite TV but the beautiful furniture in the rooms could use a bit of restoring. Nevertheless, this all part of the hotel's charm.

Room Tip: Opt for a lake view with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SLA37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We booked the Lido Palace Hotel for our 25th Wedding Anniversary. We had stayed here previously 23 years ago and loved it so much we thought it would be great to return for this occasion. I was a bit worried returning somewhere that held such special memories in case it wasn't the same but I needn't have worried.
I emailed the hotel before we left to ask if it was possible to make sure we got a room with a good view as we had previously been blown away by the views of the islands. I got a lovely email back from Paulo D'Amico saying that he would make sure we had a nice room. We were warmly welcomed by the girl at reception who said we had a choice of two rooms and we got to look at them and allowed time to choose. We were also given a beautiful bunch of flowers and a bottle of Prosecco was brought to our room.
Throughout our say the staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly and made you feel most welcome. The hotel was a lot quieter than our previous stay but it only added to the relaxed atmosphere.
The breakfasts had sufficient choice and it was lovely to sit at the tables next to the open French doors overlooking the lake. We ate two evening meals which were lovely with plenty of choice.
The hotel makes you feel like you have stepped back in time as does the view which seems like it hasn't changed for hundreds of years. I have been to Lake Garda too but Lago Maggiore beats it hands down. The Lido Palace is the best located hotel for views and access to cafe's and restaurants which are a short walk into Baveno. Baveno is much smaller and more chilled out than Stresa. If we ever return (which I hope we do) I wouldn't chose to stay in any other hotel.
Thanks to all at the Lido Palace for making our anniversary a very memorable and special one.

Room Tip: Rooms above the first floor with a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sooz1903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baveno
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Dino
Grand Hotel Dino
#4 of 15 in Baveno
4.5 of 5 stars 1,104 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#2 of 15 in Baveno
4.5 of 5 stars 433 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Simplon
Hotel Simplon
#3 of 15 in Baveno
4.5 of 5 stars 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol
Grand Hotel Bristol
#9 of 36 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 stars 896 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lido Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lido Palace Hotel

Property: Lido Palace Hotel
Address: Via Nazionale del Sempione 30, 28831, Baveno, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Baveno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Baveno
#7 Family Hotel in Baveno
#8 Romantic Hotel in Baveno
Hotel Class:4 star — Lido Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Lido Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lido Palace
Lido Palace Baveno
Lido Palace Hotel Baveno, Lake Maggiore, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing