We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place”
Review of Lido Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lido Palace Hotel
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Baveno
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful place”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Lido palace was an excellent choice for us. Family reunion from Australia and England. The palace rooms are magnificent and the staff were most helpful. We had no complaints at all and were disappointed we couldn't stay longer. We will be back. Recommended for a luxurious break and it's not the usual hotel living, far superior. We had breakfast and dinner at the hotel and both were excellent, waiter Roberto made our trip with his humor and the view is the best.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dandjredlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    48
    17
    11
    3
See reviews for
33
138
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

My girlfriend and I spent a few days at Lido Palace Hotel. We had the best time ever. The hotel is beautiful and clean, and the location is absolutely perfect, with a stunning view on lake Maggiore and its islands. You can spend your day sunbathing by the swimming pool or reading a book on the wonderful terrace. The hotel also has a quiet beach and a tennis court, along with gym, pool table, chess, etc. If you need some relaxing days, this is the place for you. The surroundings are stunning and staff at reception are always ready to help you arrange all sorts of trips, hobbies, etc. Staff are incredibly welcoming and friendly. Dinners are romantic and constantly amused by very friendly chef de rang Roberto. The place is warm but also incredibly elegant. We had the most pleasant, relaxing and romantic weekend ever. Would certainly recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank federica_sbaffo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

the hotel staff greeted us like family at the start of our holiday.on the sunday we celebrated our 40th wedding anniversary and were given a bottle of sparkling wine with our meal.to anyone visiting this hotel will be delighted with the service and food at this fantastic hotel. nothing was to much trouble for the staff to help you have a great holiday. many,many thanks to roberto and staff for a memorable holiday. ged and eileen bostock.
p.s. ROBERTO KEEP UP THE SING LESSONS.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manchestermcguire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

As a family we have visited this hotel for several years, we are going back again in August. It is a family run hotel and Paolo and Roberto cant do enough for you, superb hotel, fantastic views, food to die for, what else do you want.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are a must for fantastic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 3Mildred123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gurgaon
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2012

This hotel is right on the beach and the rooms are tastefully designed.the food is fantastic.specially do not miss the morning breakfast spread.the staff is great and there is a small cozy bar loaded with drinks.if you are in baveno then this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: The lake view rooms are just great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank planmytour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
55 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Stayed here for the August bank holiday. There are lots of fantastics reviews for this hotel which is why I booked it but I'm afraid to say I don't really get it. I could only book a standard room and maybe that was the problem. Room had a new bathroom (very good) and a view of the lake which was outstanding. Unfortunately, the room itself was in dire need of an upgrade with heavy old dark furniture, a bed like a slab of concrete and a continual musty / damp smell. The air conditioning didn't work, when we went to the desk before we could even say what the issue was they said ' is your room too hot'. Despite repeated assurances this was never resolved so I think they know they have an issue but no means to fix it. I also object to hotel corridors that are dark / gloomy and have saggy 1970's sofas everywhere - this place is shabby but not terribly chic (main rooms e.g. dining are slightly better). The pool (unheated) is next to the lake road so not terribly relaxing with cars whizzing past all day although they also have some loungers on the grass on the lakefront (again could do with being managed properly). The breakfast was fine (cereals / eggs / pastries etc) and the staff were friendly. Sandwiches in the hotel are a bit hit and miss at lunchtime in terms of quality / value (trying to find someone to take drink / food orders can also be a trial). We had dinner in the hotel one eveing and it was fine but I would suggest you are better off walking into Baveno (10-15 minute walk). Would not stay here again unless they undertake a full refurbishment program.

Room Tip: Ask for deluxe room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Katkin1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We stayed at the Lido Palace in July this year for our wedding which was in Pallanza and our reception on Lake Pescatori. Ourselves and our guests had the most wonderful time at the Lido Palace and we cannot wait to return there. Paolo, Roberto and their staff were wonderful attending to whatever was thrown at them like pre-reception drinks on the terrace at one hours notice.
Whilst staying there they upgraded our room to the Winston Churchill suite which is where Winston stayed for his honeymoon in 1908. The room was delightful with a balcony view to die for! The hotel is full of charm and grandeur from a bygone era and the perfect place for a special holiday.
The food was outstanding, and the service impeccable. I cannot rave enough about our experience there. It was our perfect destination!

Room Tip: Ask for a lake room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baveno
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Dino
Grand Hotel Dino
#3 of 15 in Baveno
1,246 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#2 of 15 in Baveno
472 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Simplon
Hotel Simplon
#4 of 15 in Baveno
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta
0.4 mi away
Hotel Beau Rivage
Hotel Beau Rivage
#6 of 15 in Baveno
240 reviews
1.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lido Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lido Palace Hotel

Property: Lido Palace Hotel
Address: Via Nazionale del Sempione 30, 28831, Baveno, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Baveno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Baveno
#7 Family Hotel in Baveno
#8 Romantic Hotel in Baveno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lido Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lido Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lido Palace
Lido Palace Baveno
Lido Palace Hotel Baveno, Lake Maggiore, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing