We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“centrally located nice hotel let down by poor customer service.”
Review of Hotel Eden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Eden
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Baveno
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I recently stayed in hotel eden over 4 nights for a family wedding.Hotel is perfectly located and has a very good buffet breakfast .
Unfortunately the good bits end there,You have to be in before 12.30 at night {which isnt stated on their website}.
After the first night the owner agreed to allowing myself and another resident to ring the bell and he would let us in.
Surely a key would negate this inconvience for both owner and resident.
My room was not made up ,because i wasn't vacating it by 10am.
I was pretty annoyed that the landlady insisted on inspecting my room at checkout before paying,despite the fact i was perfectly behaved and wasnt noisy coming in at night or whilst in residence.
This thankfully was the only down side to my stay in Baveno,of our family gathering we only encountered excellent friendly service in the numerous restaurants,bars and hotels we visited

Room Tip: lake facing rooms have wonderful views but dont leave windows open as road traffic noise is intrusiv...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redline13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luca P, Direttore at Hotel Eden, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Dear Redline,
thank you for your review but your criticism don't help us.

It's important for me to remember you that
your room was not made up because
you sleep until 3 p.m. and you put outside
of the room door "PLEASE, DON’T DISTURB".

You didn't book directly with me but from a web site
where is write that this is a little family hotel
and is write which services are included.

The first night I waited you until 4:15 a.m.
so after I prefered suggest you to ring the bell
when you came back in the night.


Next time if you want your room is clean
on request at the time that you prefer or
you need an hotel with night porter service
because is a problem for you ring a bell,
is better you don’t book a room in a cheapest family hotel.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Eden
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 158 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

My wife and I attempted a week holiday in this hotel, and after our experience would advise that you would do best to avoid it, unless:
- You have no sense of smell
- You can sleep on a rock
- You don't mind catching fungal foot infections/ or having to wear shoes in the shower.
We understand that with a three-star hotel you can't expect to be staying in the height of luxury, but it would have been nice if it was clean, the food be more than basic/minimal, and not to be treated mostly with contempt and disdain by the staff. Upon our arrival we were even told we had already checked in, so therefore our room had been given to someone else. The first alternative room we were shown to stank of cigarette smoke, so we asked to be moved again and were 'upgraded' to a room on the second floor. It had all the ambiance and comfort of a concrete bus shelter, but actually smelt worse. The smell emitting from the dirty drains in the bathroom and toilet floors was eye-wateringly strong, and only faded when the oh-so-lovely aroma of fried food from the kitchens overtook.
My wife began to dissolve into tears at the thought of having to use the 'facilities' in the room, we actually had to cut the holiday short as it became so unbearable. Unfortunately for us the rep with the company we traveled with was as useful as a chocolate teapot, and no-one did anything to help us or rectify the situation in any way. Lets not forget either that upon our premature departure at 7.25 am, the lady laughingly called the host came out to check us out, and simply said 'I must go and finish my breakfast now', without even a 'Goodbye', never mind any offer of food or drink.
It's comforting to know that in this day and age, if customers have any issues with service, their treatment actually gets worse, rather than anyone try and assist them.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luca P, Direttore at Hotel Eden, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear Mr. H.,
we remember your brief stay in our hotel and we remember that we showed you different types of rooms and we offer you a special meals for satisfy your special request.
The day of your departure we asked and asked again if you wanted something to eat or drink and you told us that you didn't want it.
We remember also that following your decision to early departure for supposed health problems, you know also that if you had not received a refund from the travel agency, you would have written a poor review. So the lady at the desk said you "That’s not correct. Any way good bye and good journey back" and she went to prepare a breakfast for the others guests because breakfast time start every day at 7:30 a.m.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed here for a spontaneous short trip to Lago Maggiore. The hotel is not luxurious, but offers good value for moderate prices. It is family run and the staff is very charming, friendly and helpful (e.g. we had to leave early in the morning before reception opening hours; the manager kindly agreed to get up early and let us out in his pyjamas :D). They speak at least English and German (apart from Italian of course).

We had a rear view room (having view to a beautiful church and the mountains) which was overall ok. The furnishing was a tiny bit old, but the room was very clean. The bed was mildly squeaky, the blanket a bit spartan (concerning German standards).

The breakfast was satisfying, offering adequate variety. The food and beverage quality was good. Unfortunately, they only offer filter coffee (which is a pity being so close to the birth place of the espresso, but this is nitpicking).

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flokru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luca P, Responsabile reception at Hotel Eden, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear Flokru,
thank you very much for your review.
We appreciate your compliments and
your criticism that help us improve.
Best regards

Luca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

This family run hotel is located in the centre of Baveno with lovely views of the lake from the front and of the church and mountain from the back. The owners are very friendly and helpful and made us feel very welcome. This is a small hotel, so has a homely feel and was very clean. There was a lovely buffet breakfast, with plenty of choice and there is a good dinner menu.
The Pagani family that run the hotel speak good English and are happy to help with any queries or to recommend places to visit. I will look forward to staying again on future visits!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have lovely views across the lake. The rooms at the back look out at the mountai...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeckyC75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luca P, Responsabile reception at Hotel Eden, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear Becky,
it's a pleasure to meet you again!
Photos that you took here and send us
are so beautiful, wonderful and
for us is a very pleasure to use your photos
in our web site.
Best regards
Luca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We paid a return visit to the Hotel Eden last week. The hotel has been in the ownership of the Pagani family for over one hundred years. We had another thoroughly enjoyable stay. The accommodation was sensibly priced, the welcome very friendly and the food was of a good standard. Visits to Lake Maggiore are always a great pleasure. We would recommend the Hotel Eden to anyone who reads this and prefers to stay in a modest hotel that offers good value. We look forward to returning next year.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back of the hotel which was fine. Rooms at the front face the lake with a wonde...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luca P, Responsabile reception at Hotel Eden, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear Mr Peter,
we are very happy to see you again
and we thank you for your review.
We hope also to see again next year
with your family in our hotel.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

The hotel is not as grand as some of the larger hotels in the area, it is however homely, comfortable, friendly and a lovely place to stay. The food is excellent and the hotel faces the gardens on the lakefront and is right at the centre of Baveno. I would not hesitate to go back again.

Room Tip: Get a lake facing room (although the back looks over the mountain and church, so is still pretty).
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roslyn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luca P, Proprietario at Hotel Eden, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Dear Roslyn,
thanks for your review.
Best regards

Pagani Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Recently returned from a two week holiday in Baveno staying at the Hotel Eden. The owners, (whose family apparently have run it for around a century), were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is small, with only 25 rooms. The small lounge and bar were welcoming and cheerful. The dining room, which also operates as a public restaurant, was pleasant and surprisingly large. Breakfast was buffet style and satisfying. Dinner was traditional and always filling. Restaurant staff obliging and smiling. Our room was, however, a bit of a let down. It seemed tired and in need of a face lift. The bathroom was crying out for new fitments and tiles, or at least a fresh lick of paint. Baveno is a small, but beautiful resort with good connections to other resorts and local towns. The ferry service was excellent and there were trains and buses. The trains, though were a bit few and far between, and the only way to obtain a ticket, at the rather run down railway station, was from a machine which seemed to work only when it wanted to. We would recommend Baveno to anyone who likes a quietish holiday by an Italian lake with the opportunity to explore the area. We would recommend the Hotel Eden for it's friendliness and satisfying, traditional food, and it's position on the lakeside.

Room Tip: We had read on this website that lake view rooms at the front of the hotel experienced traffic noise...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luca P, Proprietario at Hotel Eden, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Dear Patricia,
thank you for your review and we hope see you soon again in our hotel.
Best regards
Pagani family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baveno
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Dino
Grand Hotel Dino
#4 of 15 in Baveno
1,357 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Simplon
Hotel Simplon
#3 of 15 in Baveno
468 reviews
0.1 mi away
Azalea
Azalea
#6 of 15 in Baveno
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#2 of 15 in Baveno
505 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Beau Rivage
Hotel Beau Rivage
#7 of 15 in Baveno
263 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#4 of 35 in Stresa
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eden

Address: Viale della Vittoria 16, 28831, Baveno, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Baveno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Baveno
Price Range: $94 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Eden 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Hotel Baveno
Hotel Eden Baveno, Lake Maggiore, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing