We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eden not quite a paradise”
Review of Hotel Eden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Eden
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Baveno
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights after 7 in Lake Como. The hotel was a curate's egg; the family running it were very welcoming and helpful (accommodating some Italian relatives for dinner with us an hour after we arrived). Buffet breakfast wasn't bad, and the evening meal a good experience of Italian home cooking - we liked that you could help yourself to antipasti and dessert, either side of a pasta and main course, which you chose in advance. However, as stated in another review, the word 'tired' could have been invented for our room, and frankly we anticipated better. Overlooking the lake was nice, but the street outside is very noisy till early hours, and we had 2 nights of air con not working so had to have window open. This was, to say the least, annoying.

Room Tip: Choose between lake view, or quiet night!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank awb_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luca P, Proprietario at Hotel Eden, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Dear AWB,
thank you for your review.
Best regards.
Pagani Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (162)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 162 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2012

Recently back from a 10 day holiday in Hotel Eden, Baveno. The rooms are very basic, no frills but very clean and the staff are very attentive. We went half board which included a cold buffet breakfast and fixed menu evening meal. The hotel is a great base for exploring the lake. It's worth paying extra for a lake view as the view of the lake and Barromean Islands is stunning. The bus for Stressa stops right near the hotel and the boat station is very close. Must visit Barromean Islands, Villa Taranta, Stressa and Pallanza which are all accessible by boat. Baveno is a small town, not much to keep you amused unless you want to use as a base for exploring. A small promenade and plenty of seats but because of the busy road it's not an easy walk to Stressa. Use it as a base to explore the lovely Lake Maggoire and you won't be disappointed. Just a word of warning, the area does have more than the average rainfall (we had two days of really heavy rain) so be prepared.

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luca P, Proprietario at Hotel Eden, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Dear Joan,
thank you very much for your review.
Best regards

Pagani family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Older building in need of renovation but clean and superb location. Great service, especially considering that I booked the wrong date and arrived a day early. That might not have worked out during the busier summer season. Advertised free wifi did not work in the room so we had to use the lobby. Breakfast was good and fresh. Parking can be a problem if you arrive by car. You use the street or a small lot a block away, both of which can be already well used by other cars. For more than a day, you may want to consider paying a little more for better quality. As mentioned by others, a street side room can be noisy as there is no AC so you may need open windows.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PoPTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luca P, Proprietario at Hotel Eden, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Dear PopTraveller,
thank you for your review.
Our hotel have a little internal courtyard and sometimes is possible to park 2 cars but nearby there is a lot of free pubblic parking. We think that in a small town like Baveno is really a rarity that there are so many free parking space. About our hotel, every winter when the hotel closed we continue to invest to renovate it to offer you a pleasant stay here.
Best regards
Pagani Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

We had an evening meal at the hotel - pretty standard service but their ravioli was excellent. Spinach could have been cooked more and the vegatable soup was fair. House wine just fine. 2star meal in 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harrietbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luca P, Direttore at Hotel Eden, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Dear Mrs Brown,
thank you for your review and for your 2 stars.
We think you have given us 2 stars because in our restaurant the kitchen is run by the owners and offers italian traditional cuisine with selection of local products: polenta, cold cuts of our Valley, cheeses made in Mottarone mountain and Gorgonzola from Novara and wines of our region...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

For the cost this hotel was excellent value. Fab location, spacious well equipped room, clean with comfy bed. We attended at wedding at Hotel Dino and checked in very drunk at 2am, staff were absolutely cool with this. Breakfast was of a high quality and varied. Coffee was particularly good. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Uldis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luca P, Proprietario at Hotel Eden, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Dear Uldis,
we remember your funny stay in our hotel and we thank you for your review.
We hope see you soon.
Best regards
Pagani Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

The Hotel Eden is in the centre of the beautiful town of Baveno, on the lake front near the historic church and convenient for the railway station, boat station and bus stop. The staff are friendly and very helpful.

We had a large room at the front of the hotel with a fantastic view of the lake. The bed was comfortable, but the room only had two plastic chairs. More comfortable seating would have been welcome (especially with the US Open on TV). Opening the window was an invitation for lake flies to come in. At first, I thought these were mosquitoes, but they didn't bite and tended to stay on the ceiling - and they were also immune to my mosquito killer. They seemed harmless so we ignored each other. The alternative would have been to keep the windows shut and use the air conditioning, but this had a noisy fan - even in "silent" mode. On Friday, Saturday and Sunday nights, there was music at the bar down the road, and traffic on the main road past the hotel was rather noisy. I live on a main road and didn't find this disturbing, but lighter sleepers may prefer a quieter room at the back of the hotel.

We travelled independently, but most of our fellow guests had come with Inghams. In the restaurant, there were an Italian couple and a German couple, but the rest of the guests were English. The dinner provided for half-board guests was very much geared to English tastes. The food was good, but not very Italian. If you would like authentic Italian cooking, I suggest having breakfast at the hotel and dinner at the trattoria around the corner.

The hotel has wi-fi in the reception and bar areas, although the only thing to tell you about this is a small notice on the door. You have to buy time in advance and ask reception to switch on the router. Wi-fi and internet points are not common in the Borromean Gulf so there's not much alternative.

Overall, I enjoyed my stay and I'd certainly consider coming here again. There are some negative points in my review, but these are intended to help fellow travellers choose a room and meal package to suit their tastes.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a fantastic lake view, but are noisy especially at weekends. Rooms at the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luca P, Proprietario at Hotel Eden, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Dear Jim,
thank you very much for your review.
Best regards
Pagani Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2011

If all hotel owners and staff were as friendly as those at the Eden the traveller's world would be a much happier place.

The hotel occupies a lovely position, with just a road between it and the glorious Lake Maggiore, and is very close to the small centre of Baveno. Perhaps more importantly it is yards from the Bus and Boat stops and five minutes from the railway station.

Our room was basic, with a small ensuite shower room, TV, small safe and hairdryer. The owner has compiled a folder of local attractions, and there should be a copy in each room - worth a look if you've not been before.

The room featured adequate cupboard space and modern windows (with shutters) which killed most of the traffic noise quite effectively - though the "singer" who was torturing some popular tunes to an unsurprisingly small audience in the open-air bar across the road did manage to keep some people awake, until he was presumably thrown into the lake when they could take no more.

There is a small terrace, accessed from the second floor, which faces inland towards the church - you can pay extra for a lake view if you wish.

We stayed on a half-board basis - there is a cold buffet breakfast whilst the evening meal is two courses from a fixed menu (preceded by hors d'oeuvres as required and concluded with various desserts, also as required). All of this is perfectly adequate, if perhaps a little simpler than one might have expected. The restaurant is on the ground floor so while you consider your culinary options there is a lovely view of the lake from most of the tables - you are allocated a table when you arrive and keep to this arrangement for the duration of your stay.

Baveno has a nice waterfront to stroll along, but it is not a good idea to walk along the main road either towards Stresa, or the other way towards Feriolo, as pavements tend to disappear at awkward moments. Excellent buses will take you in either direction for a couple of Euros at most - the boats are more expensive so (unless you get a weekly pass) save these for the island trips - which are essential.

Milan or Locarno are feasible by train from Baveno, and a trip to Lake Orta (by bus from Stresa) makes a very pleasant diversion. Boats also go as far as Locarno, though this is a 2-3 hour trip.

The hotel is clean and the staff are always around to practice their English and help your Italian. The restaurant is open to non-residents in the evening and there is an a-la-carte menu. There is a small bar off the foyer, though I did not see this used during our stay. The hotel also features an extremely small lift - if you have a lot of luggage you may have to make more than one trip, or use the stairs and meet your luggage when you reach the correct floor.

There does not appear to be a 'safe' room for luggage should you need to stay around for a few hours after you have checked out - the owner actually gave us use of an empty room for the necessary period which was much appreciated, but it may be worth checking on this, especially if all rooms are occupied.

We had a pleasant stay at the Eden - there are other hotels in and around Baveno -and it is a no-frills option. But if you want a small, friendly establishment in a convenient setting, with a lovely view over the lake, this may be for you.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CatchUsIfYouCan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luca P, Proprietario at Hotel Eden, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Good morning dears,
thank you very much for your detailed review, we think is very useful.
Thank you also for your compliments that give us enthusiasm.
About your opinion that interest us, we have tried to limit the problem of night music from the open-air bar across the road: they changed singer and definitely lowered the volume and they making music rarely because now there is a music lounge bar in another place, away from our hotel.
About baggage, we have created on the second floor a little luggage room where customers can deposit their luggage.
We hope see you again in our hotel.
Best regards

Pagani Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baveno
0.1 mi away
Azalea
Azalea
#7 of 15 in Baveno
183 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Simplon
Hotel Simplon
#3 of 15 in Baveno
481 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Ruscello
Hotel Villa Ruscello
#9 of 15 in Baveno
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Dino
Grand Hotel Dino
#4 of 15 in Baveno
1,403 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Beau Rivage
Hotel Beau Rivage
#6 of 15 in Baveno
275 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#2 of 35 in Stresa
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eden

Address: Viale della Vittoria 16, 28831, Baveno, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Baveno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Baveno
Price Range: $101 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Eden 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Hotel Baveno
Hotel Eden Baveno, Lake Maggiore, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing