We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Beau Rivage
Nearby Hotels
$238
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$193
$171
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Alpi(Baveno)
$149
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Azalea(Baveno)(Great Value!)
$102
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Eden(Baveno)
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$100
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (283)
Filter reviews
283 results
Traveler rating
93
131
46
4
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
93
131
46
4
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming poolnice promenadeshearings holidaylake maggioreevening meallifeguard on dutytwin bedssoup or pastaremote controlbring teabathroom upstairsegg boilerclean towels every daydefinitely stay here againcoach driverfire escapejust returned from a lovely week
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 283 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Our last experience at the Hotel Beau Rivage was our best! We have stayed there on several occasions for several years, but this year was exceptional. The service is outstanding, the rooms impeccably clean and very modern with wifi and wonderful amenities (heated towel bars, mini bar, air conditioning), the front desk very friendly and informative, the lobby newly renovated. The food is delicious and the wait staff very accommodating.
This year unfortunately we were too late (late October) to swim in the very inviting swimming pool.
But we will be sure to go to Lago Maggiore a little earlier next year to take advantage of the pool"s beautiful setting.
If I were rating hotels I would give the Beau Rivage at Lago Maggiore five stars !!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the lake are just lovely. There is also a duplex room that is a treasure.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank 320annamariar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a week with Crystal and yes I can say that the comments about the hotel being in need of updating is correct however what you could not take away from the hotel is 1. The rooms are clean and tidy, the towels changed every day and our bed linen was changed midway through the week.
2. The food although you do not of choice at the evening meal, I can honestly say that we enjoyed every single meal, and although the portions do not look huge it is perfectly adequate and we never came away hungry, what's more its a silver service which adds to the whole meal time experience. The breakfasts again were more than adequate with choice of fruits, Danish, breads and cakes. There was a good choice of yogurts as well, Although there was not a cooked breakfast there was the facility to have boiled eggs.
3. All the staff were friendly and helpful - nothing was to much trouble.

The hotel fronts on to a busy road, and our room was at the front however we did not find this excessively noisy.

Baveno is what I call an old Italian town enough commercialism for the visitors but enough to still have the old charm, If you want a more buzzy town the perhaps you would prefer Strasa (but with the added price tag)

The area is lovely, and well worth a visit. If you go on any tours I hope you get Barbara as your tour guide she is so knowledgeable about the area. Lake Orta is also worth a visit.

Being a Lake Garda fans we were worried that we would be disappointed but we enjoyed every minute of our holiday and would like to return one day.

Room Tip: We found the view from the Lake side view rooms outweighed any noise issues.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nooshkacats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

The reviews of this hotel vary considerably but bear in mind it is a 3 star hotel! It can be classed as a bit dated, even a bit quirky....but that somehow lends to its charm. We also stayed with Travelsphere and can also confirm just how excellent our rep Debbie was (see other reviews). We couldn't really find fault with either the food or the service. OK it wasn't cordon bleu....but it was certainly presented fresh and hot and tasty. You're not in England so accept the idiosyncrasies (like not being able to take a drink through to the dining room). It's no big deal and obviously works for the hotel. The Italians aren't really big on desserts but, come on, their ice cream is to die for! Have enough of that during the day and who needs desserts? We loved the breakfasts. Surely, when you are in a European country you should accept that you don't get fry ups as at home. We enjoy the continental breakfasts for a change....much healthier. Our room overlooked the gardens at the back,had a balcony and was quiet. We heard that the front rooms (although overlooking the lake), did suffer from traffic noise. The room itself was small and a bit tired, but it was clean and well serviced everyday. It's a hotel room...it's for sleeping and washing in....not for holding parties! If you don't go with grand expectations then you should have no problem with this hotel. We certainly didn't.

Room Tip: No carpets in rooms so no noise from above on 3rd floor. Rooms at the back are quieter although no view over the lake. However, rooms at the front which do overlook the lake are also much closer to a very busy road.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Russmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We were very disappointed with the hotel having seen pictures on their web site. The room we had on the first floor was shabby and in need of a make-over. The bathroom was also very tatty, and needed replacing. The breakfast and the starters at dinner were ok but the fruit and the veggies seem to have come from tins, not what we expected in a country that boasts of it's fine produce.
On the plus side the hotel is situated near to the bus stops and to the ferry terminals. We had a room at the front of the hotel and wern't troubled with any noise.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We used this hotel as an overnight stay, which was exactly enough. Hotel looks good from the outside, reception areas gives a false idea of some luxury, but once you go up to the rooms, scenes change rapidly. Although everything is well kept, it all dates back to the 50's or 60's. We had one room in the corner with lake view and a balcony on the side with lateral lake view. Room was decent size, clean, air-conditioning worked flawless. Bathroom had a curtain which I don't like but was clean and everything worked ok. Children were in a room in the back, which was quiet. Breakfast was poor, with a lot of fresh strawberries. Staff was overall friendly, but hotel is overpriced due to location.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LTGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews