We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“a real ripper” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel La Ripa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel La Ripa
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Baveno
Certificate of Excellence
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“a real ripper”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

this hotel is an absolute gem..unparalleled location,beautiful rooms (try and get one of the
three with either a Juliette balcony or full balcony) and a wonderful breakfast is served on
the terrace on the shores of the lake..we also had a great evening meal in their restaurant
again on a terrace overlooking the lake followed by very nice house wine sitting by the lake.
The owner is wonderful and all the staff SO helpful...Would we return YOU BET

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colin t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    29
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
26
73
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We have been coming her for years and the hotel is absolutely fantastic if you like real character in stead of a 'run off the mill' hotel.
Breakfast and diner are served in the garden which offers stupendous views of the Lake Maggiore with its's beautiful Borromeo Islands.
Rooms have been redone recently and the hotel now offers en suite bathrooms to most rooms. Staff is very friendly and they do their best to suit your every needs. English is spoken, as is French and a little German. It is a small hotel and location is right next to a busy road so noice can be an issue in some rooms. But if you ask for a room overlooking the garden/Lake you'll be fine. We surely recommend it if you are the kind of laid back traveller who appreciates authenticity.

Room Tip: ask for a 'quiet' room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WeZoozExpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paolacardini, Proprietario at Hotel La Ripa, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for your review! Paola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

We have just returned from a 5 night stay at La Ripa, Wonderful location on the lake shore. We had corner rooms on the first & second floors. The terrace was a lovely setting for meals. We ate at the hotel twice and the food was good. Paola & the staff were very helpful & Alina was a lovely young woman who was always so cheerful and looked after us so well. Highly recommended.
Visitors from Scotland & Shropshire.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shropshire21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paolacardini, Proprietario at Hotel La Ripa, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Dear Family, we thank you for your appreciation. It was very lovely to have a guest so gentle like you. We hope to see you again in "La Ripa". We wish you all the best. All La Ripa's staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2011

The hotel has only about 10 rooms. We stayed in a one with a lake view. The room was renovated, clean and nicely decorated. I believe no room is the same but all look very charming. The service was excellent if not perfect. I definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pivoine5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paolacardini, Proprietario at Hotel La Ripa, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
Thanks for your lovely review!!! Is a honour to have a guest like you!! Best regards! Paola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2011

We stayed at Hotel La Ripa on Lake Maggiore in October 2010, and it couldn't have been lovelier. Our freshly decorated room had tall windows with sheer white curtains looking out at the gardens and the lake, with balconies big enough for a chair or two. In addition to a traditional European breakfast, dinner is also served in the antiques-filled dining room. The pastas we had were great, and the berry panna cotta was to die for! Best of all was the hostess, Paola, who was the kindest and most pleasant of hoteliers. We were having some trouble with trains and a reservation for Venice and she bent over backwards to help us, even calling a friend to drive us to our next destination at a discounted rate. We would have loved to have seen Baveno in the summer, particularly the Borromeo Islands. One word of advice: if you're visiting small towns in Italy by train, make sure you have your itinerary down pat. And be ready to get out immediately when your stop comes!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LandlockedinKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy,Bedfordshire.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2010

For a great loction only 10 minutes from the centre of Baveno, Yet on the Lake side of the
main road & with a real Italian atmosphere, go to the Hotel La Ripa in Baveno.
The owner Paolo Cardini will make you welcome & endever to make your stay as comfortable as possible. This really is a gem & worth serious consideration when in the
Italion Lakes Area. By the way the hotel has the best view of the Borrowmio Islands that you could get from any Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterR_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gouda, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2010

La Ripa is a beautiful small hotel. Authentic Italian family run cosy place to stay. In the line of its long tradition the hotel management is renewing the facilities. The rooms have a stunning view on the lake and the old ilands. The owner is very welcomming and hospittable. It is authenticic and perfect for the one who is looking for the real Italian atmosfhere and relaxation.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hermans219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baveno
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Dino
Grand Hotel Dino
#4 of 15 in Baveno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#2 of 15 in Baveno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Beau Rivage
Hotel Beau Rivage
#6 of 15 in Baveno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
1.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees
0.6 mi away
Hotel Simplon
Hotel Simplon
#3 of 15 in Baveno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Ripa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Ripa

Property: Hotel La Ripa
Address: Via Sempione 11 | Lago Maggiore, 28831, Baveno, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Baveno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Baveno
#5 Family Hotel in Baveno
#7 Romantic Hotel in Baveno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Ripa 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is build near the lake, all rooms have a beautiful view on the Borromeo Islands. Private Beach - Garden and Parking Restaurant open for lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel La Ripa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Ripa Hotel
Hotel La Ripa Baveno, Lake Maggiore, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing